No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy
Slept well and food good

Reviewed by
Graham Kilbey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite the hotel I expected
The hotel was very noisy - there were people walking around in the rooms above me most of the night and the floorboards were very creaky!
I had booked 2 x double rooms for myself and my colleague but his room did not have a double but two twin beds pushed together which meant he had a gap down the middle and at 6'2 this was uncomfortable. He also had blinds rather than curtains which were a few inches away from the window so the light from the car park shone into his room all night meaning he did not get much sleep. In the morning his shower would only provide hot water if it was at a low level on the shower rail ie if he had it at the height he needed for the shower it was cold!

ManagementResponse

We are aware of the problem with the shower in this room and have now rectified it. The room has recently been totally refurbished and we apologise if this guest experienced teething problems with the new plumbing. The bed in this room is a king size zip and link bed, custom made for hotels and not simply 2 beds pushed together. We have these beds in some of our larger rooms to allow flexibility for guests requesting separate beds in family size rooms and they are covered by extra thick mattress protectors which add an extra layer of comfort The roman blinds are blackout blinds and made to measure. In relation to the noise,our building is a Victorian conversion, not a purpose built chain, which we believe gives it character but, we accept that some of the floorboards may be a little creaky. All rooms have very thick carpets to combat this and we do not generally receive negative feedback regarding this.

Reviewed by
G Gray

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room

Reviewed by
P Johnson

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough place to stay in Jesmond, easy walk from metro
The hotel is above Ru Bar on Osborne Road, which is nice but has the feel of a local's pub and was very quiet on the night I arrived, so a little daunting. The room itself was nice and quiet and out of the way, and easy to access from the bar or the side door - although up lots of steps so perhaps not suitable for everyone. The bed was super comfy - softer than I'm used to but very cosy, and the shower was great once I got the hang of which way the temperature went (part of the dial cover was missing). The ensuite was actually lovely in general. The worst thing for me was that I was unable to get on to the wifi but as I was only staying one night I didn't chase it up so it may have been fixable. The only other thing I would change is making more time for a cooked breakfast as it sounded great - also with a veggie alternative - but I left in a bit of a rush. The couple who run the place were lovely, and I would stay there again. Jesmond is a nice area with a choice of bars around and easy access to the city centre.

Reviewed by
K Shah

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel
Nice basic hotel with free parking, well furnished rooms, polite and welcoming staff, menu is limited but they are very good.

Reviewed by
C Boddy

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Small family run hotel, staff all seem very nice and helpful. I had a double room which was very well decorated and a great size. En suite bathroom very clean and everything working perfectly. The bed was very comfy! Wifi was a bit temperamental in terms of speed but always worked. The breakfast buffet is pretty basic since there are only 11 rooms but the cooked breakfast was very nice. There are lots of bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. One word of warning is that the area is very studenty so the bars are always busy but the hotel itself was always quiet I was never disturbed at all.

Reviewed by
L Burrows

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were most friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much effort. the room was very clean, neat and comfortable.

Reviewed by
G Pennie

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived the man on desk was busy taking a complaint over the phone as he handed us our form to fill in which from the get go seemed very unprofessional and not a great start to the stay. The room was fine, clean enough but few holes in the bedding, also there was only cream in the tea and coffee facilities and believe me cream does not go well in a cup of tea! Vile. The next morning we woke a little later then planned but when booking a 'late room' I'm sure it's expected from the hotel that the guests are planning a night out. Anyways we rushed to get ready to make it down for breakfast, once seated a girl came out and placed a full English to the lad next to us...when we asked we were told the breakfast finished a 10am and everything had been turned off...which was clearly a load of crock as the lad had just received a breakfast. We looked at the time and it was literally 3 minutes past 10. To be honest I think that's totally ridiculous seen as we paid 65 pound for a bo standard room on 'late rooms.com' 'breakfast included' and they wouldn't serve us for the sake of three mins. Ridiculous. We did try and complain at the time, we stood at bar for 15 mins but no one was around and the girls had locked themselves in the kitchen, probably knowing we weren't impressed. Wouldn't bother, there's a hundred more hotels in Jesmond where I'm sure the service would be much better!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. In relation to breakfast, we do have to have a cut off point for serving as we need to clear up the kitchen and dining room within a certain timescale. However, it is very unusual for guests not to be served if they are only a few minutes late and, if this is the case, we apologise. Booking through Laterooms doesn't mean that guests are going out late- this is a misinterpretation by the guest. Our staff are not in the habit of locking themselves in the kitchen- this is a very strange comment! In respect of the other points, laundry comes from a professional laundry service and it is of the best quality; in relation to the lack of milk, this must have been an oversight but we would have delivered milk to the room on request if the guest had only made us aware. As a small hotel, we pride ourselves on service and don't agree that there is better to be found in Jesmond.

Reviewed by
A Wallace

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recent stay at The Kenilworth Hotel
This hotel is convenient for the city centre. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all of them made sure we were OK.
I can't complain as it was excellent value for the money as there's a full English breakfast included in the price quoted.
The room was basic but provided what we needed. Couldn't open the window and the bathroom door was difficult to open. Light switch needed sorting into the room. We managed though.
Petty as this may sound I cannot stand having the television on (& there were two) with no sound and music playing in the background. One or the other please.
All in all stay here if you want something inexpensive with friendly staff and easy access to the city, the bus stop is a couple of yards away and there's a taxi free phone at the bar. What more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
Ruth Keating

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed results
Public rooms, dirty with strange furniture and decoration- a basic student pub.
Room clean and comfortable, breakfast good. Stay ok as only one night, But would not recommend as could find better for money.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that the guest found their room to be clean and comfortable but are disappointed about their comments with regard to the in house bar/lounge. The style of the bar was clearly not this guest's liking but we feel that this is more of a matter of personal taste. All public areas are cleaned twice daily; we cater for as mixed clientele, not exclusively students, and we feel that we offer a good selection of meals, snacks and drinks to hotel guests in pleasant surroundings. In relation to value for money, prices start from £54 per double room per night including a freshly cooked breakfast which we believe constitutes excellent value for money!

Reviewed by
J Medley

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next