No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently located, friendly and excellent value for money
Good sized room, clean and well-decorated. Friendly and very helpful proprietor.

Reviewed by
M Gordon

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient and good value
Stayed one night when collecting my son and his worldly goods at the end of his first year at the University. I booked at the last minute, and was able to park in the last of the parking spaces at the back of the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean with good en-suite facilities. Staff very friendly. My room faced onto Osbourne Road, but I was not disturbed by any noise (Tues night)

Reviewed by
Iain N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Nights away
We arrived at the Hotel early parked in their car park and was met by a pleasant young man who gladly let us book in early, we were shown to our room which was over the bar (Even though we asked for a quiet room)
The room was large clean and well equipt, the ensuite had a shower basin and toilet, this looked a little tired (cracked hand basin, split flooring) but was functional and had plenty of space (you could shut the door when bending to clean you teeth!!)
The Bar down stairs stopped its music at 11.30pm so had no concern about being over the bar after all but the Bar next door was noisy and music continued till much later ( I know the hotel can not do anything about this)
The hotel had a number of young single sex parties staying; on the first night there was a lot of noise at approx. 3pm but the secound night after they had checked out it was nice and quiet.
The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and service with a smile.
I would be happy to stay here again and have already recomended it to a friend, I would say £5 a night cheaper would be appropriate but I am always looking for the best deal!!!!!

ManagementResponse

We are delighted that this guest enjoyed his stay and thank him for the recommendation. The bathroom issues have been resolved with new flooring and a new washbasin and vanity unit in the ensuite. The room he stayed in was recently soundproofed to avoid disturbance from the bar which can be lively on Friday and Saturday nights during university term time. We look forward to welcoming all guests back to The Kenilworth.

Reviewed by
ANDREW C

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great web site
Review should read; a great location with access to the university and town centre. Friendly staff, basic accomodation suffering from fatigue, above a bar, busy with students at weekends. Hearty breakfast included.
Excellent web site manages to oversell the accomodation on offer
If you want to avoid the morning city traffic and have work nearby then it could be a good choice on a fixed budget

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we have noted your comments. We are a budget hotel but believe that we offer good value with added extra such as complimentary toiletries and biscuits often not found within our price bracket. Our rooms are constantly maintained and virtually all bathrooms have been replaced this year. Added to this, as a family run hotel, we offer an excellent service to all guests. Our website reflects this, if anything rooms have been upgraded since the last set of photographs!

Reviewed by
david w

From ecouen, France
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value budget hotel
Just required one night stay , location was good so we walked and used bus to and from city centre.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Coffee, tea and biscuits in room.
Very comfortable bed a good night's sleep with no noise from the surrounding area.
We both had full English breakfast which was well cooked and plenty of it.
For value I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
S Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, clean, friendly hotel. Would defo stay again. Good location with lots of bars close by and the city centre a two minute taxi ride away.

Reviewed by
kerry l

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owner is a really nice guy could not be more accommodating.

Reviewed by
Christian Smith

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle two day trip
Very dark on entry !! Friendly staff could not be more helpfully. The room was comfortable but hole in bathroom floor sink had big crack and ceiling mouldy but bed comfortable . Would go back but different room would complain if paid full price .

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found your room comfortable. We have noted your comments and would like to assure guests that these complaints have been remedied. We have replaced the sink and flooring in the bathroom which unfortunately had been cracked by a previous guest. In relation to the ceiling- this had already been repaired by our roofer externally as we had a couple of slates blown off-and has now been repainted internally: the marks were not mould but water marks caused by the missing slates. We have also had the downstairs areas redecorated in a lighter colour scheme as we also felt that it was too dark and hope that should the Walker family return to the hotel, they will be impressed by recent improvements as part of our ongoing programme to ensure customer comfort and satisfaction.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality but not costly
Have stayed here a few times now. Rooms have plenty of space for me, though it is hard to watch tv at night on the edge of a four poster bed. Shower was great, plenty of hot water.
Had a cracking hand made burger at the bar, well recommended.
Breakfast is cooked to order and worth the money.
I will be back.

Reviewed by
N Coneybear

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy
Slept well and food good

Reviewed by
Graham Kilbey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next