No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hedgefield House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Hedgefield House, Stella Road Ryton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE21 4LR
Welcome to Hedgefield House, a stunning Georgian mansion set in four acres of beautiful award- winning gardens, on the edge of the Northumbrian countryside. The house has a colourful history, prior to being converted into guest accommodation. Dating back to 1804, we have documented evidence that Hedgefield House was the first home in Britain to have a telephone installed. In 1877, the inventor of the telephone, Alexander Graham Bell, made the first experimental phone call from the drawing room to the local coal mine. We are ideally situated only 10 minutes from the city centre and Gateshead Metro shopping complex and 10 minutes walk to historic Ryton village, with its numerous cafes and restaurants. We are also only a short distance from the River Tyne and the Hadrian’s Wall walk. Its location makes it perfect for hikers, bikers and city visitors. All en-suite rooms are decorated and furnished in lavish French Louis style and are well equipped, maintaining many original features. A continental breakfast is also included. We have great leisure facilities for our guests to use, including a sauna, gym and relaxation area. Free parking is available for guests.
Picture of Hedgefield House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very clean hotel the room was lovely just one problem, it was joined to a private house and the resident liked very loud music

Reviewed by
Maria P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem for those walking Hadrian's Wall
We stayed here while walking along Hadrian's Wall from Newcastle to Carlisle. It was worth the extra mile along a main road to stay here. The room was very comfortable and staff were polite. Excellent facilities. Very close to a nearby Italian restaurant with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
O Caddy

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Money
The hotel was lovely and the gardens were beautiful. The only down side is they don't serve alcohol and I don't recall seeing this on any of the information. I am a huge fan of Four in a Bed and only have minor comments which are quick wins:
1. Glasses needed in the room for water.
2. A holder of some sorts for your toothbrush
3. Some sort of shelf in the bath room.
4. The plugs were really close to the floor/carped which made it diffcult to plug anything in.
Otherwise it was a lovely stay.
Regards
Catherine

Reviewed by
Catherine P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little nugget of a hotel
Excellent accommodation and extremely friendly staff in a beautiful setting.

Reviewed by
Katherine S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, quiet haven in an industrial area. Plenty of parking spaces, clean and excellent value. Shared bathroom was large and well equipped. Continental breakfast stated so expected just juice, coffee and croissants but there was a wide range of cereals,yoghurts, toast, fruit and cheeses etc.aswell. This hotel is a good as many twice the price.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Hedgefield House
We had a woderful stay at Hedgefield House.The room was lovely,food although just continental was ok for us.The House stands in beautiful grounds.
We would certainly stay here again if we go to the area.

Reviewed by
peter hart

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stunning room with great shower room.

Reviewed by
Jane D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my favourite place
this is my favourite place to stay.
I have no complaints.
If they had food in the evening it would be the very best

Reviewed by
P Speers

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
The only negative was that the wall between rooms was for appearance only ... the snoring from the next room was so audible, it might as well have been in the same room!!

Reviewed by
Ian C

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building and room but could have been welcomed

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next