No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nesfield Cottage B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Nesfield Cottage B&B, Nesfield, Barlow, Dronfield, S18 7TB
Located in the pretty village of Barlow amid the fields of a deer farm near Chesterfield, the cottage enjoys a tranquil location on the edge of the Peak District. Ideal for visiting Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Hardwick Hall and Bolsover Castle, with Sheffield, Bakewell, Matlock and Castleton nearby. The area has walking for everyone, either from the door of the cottage (leave your car and explore the local area) or in the Peak District nearby. Advice as to the best local walks, maps and weather info. also available. Our excellent 3 course, a la carte breakfast offers a wide variety of carefully selected locally-sourced produce, which includes delicious bacon and sausage (which has to be tasted to be believed!) from a local traditional pork butchers. We only use free range eggs, make our own bread and home-made Granola - full of healthy nuts, seeds and fruit and sweetened with maple syrup! Our teas and coffee are also carefully selected, the Indian coffee is especially smooth. Rooms are well designed and very spacious with every comfort provided; superking sized Sealy beds, large en-suites with double-sized showers, All the rooms have well-stocked refreshment trays with tea /coffee/snacks, complimentary bottled water, plus magazines, hairdryer, games, free wi-fi throughout and we pride ourselves on our excellent service. The cottage stands at the end of a quiet lane and is very peaceful, yet we're only a few minutes from the centre of Chesterfield and within easy reach of the Peak District. There is a secure, free car park at the side of the B&B, lockable bike storage, a drying room for wet gear, garden and patio for guests to enjoy, a friendly, local pub nearby offering 10%discount to our guests and home-made cake or biscuits to welcome you on arrival! Come soon.
Picture of Nesfield Cottage B&B, Dronfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derbyshire
Jane and Tom are very welcoming hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.
Accommodation is spotless. Thoughtful touches available in the bathroom (ladies products), hand cream and tissues.
You really can breakfast like a King here! Fruit, cereals, toast, full english, and they even have time to make their own bread!
I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and peacefull idylic location. Lovely host. Great homemade bread and cake. Breakfast A1+
Typed into late rooms.com Derbyshire. I thought I knew Derbyshire well but this was my first time in this area and found the B&B very welcoming and extremely clean with lovely host. Pub a short walk up the road which had a big choice on the menu and overlooked a valley of farm land crops. Bedroom looked over a small well kept garden where a young woodpecker ate nuts that had been left out. No noise could be heard through the night or day and slept well on a large comfy bed. Clean room with excellent shower and bathroom. Tea and cake on arrival freshly baked bread with a delicious breakfast all baked by our host . Would definitely recommend staying here. Easy access from M1 or great drive through Derbyshire

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet and gentle
The house is at the end of a country lane off the main road. The bedrooms overlook a backdrop of trees and gentle views. A good night's rest. Rooms are well appointed, breakfast superb and hosts accommodating.

Reviewed by
carolyn m

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful retreat
Great location, lovely people, nice and quiet. Rooms very large and clean. Couldn't fault it at all. Good pub up the road for food.

ManagementResponse

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review, glad you had a great stay, hope you'll come back soon. Best regards, Jane and Tom

Reviewed by
Anne K

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wow
Having stayed at numerous B&Bs over the years, this was by far the best, it was spacious clean and welcoming and totally value for money, 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
Trevor Hewitt

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best b&b we have stayed in one down side there wifi wasent working and i did book this b&b for the wifi

Reviewed by
mags byrne-fraser

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Peaceful location at the end of country lane. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. My single / twin was a large room on ground floor. The hosts had thought of everything in the room including fresh milk. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Great location for touring the Peak District. Highly recommended.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. It's good for us to find out what people thought and it's good for potential bookers who like to know what it's like to stay here. So again, thanks for taking the time to do that and hope to see you again at some point. Best regards, Jane and Tom

Reviewed by
L Aspley

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accomodation
This is one of the best B&B s I have stayed in for a long time.

Reviewed by
Adrian Chant

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Found the proprietors to be very welcoming, but not intrusive. Would recommend this Bed & Breakfast for anyone looking for an out of town peaceful location. Breakfast was a delightful array of choices nicely presented. Loved the fresh milk flask provided in the guests fridge :) and the selection of in-room drinks. Niced sized room (Robin) on the ground floor with comfortable bed and pillows, with a nice amply spaced en-suite. Definately a place I would stay at again when in the area. All in all a very pleasant stay and have to say I found my room at Nesfields to far outshine some single rooms i have stayed in at the 5***** Hiltons in Birmingham.

Reviewed by
Tina Fallon

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b and b - the best we have ever stayed at in UK Proprietors Jane and Tom were fantastic and catered for every need The food was excellent and the cleanliness of the room and bathroom were exceptional with a lovely ambience to the room. Bed extremely comfortable. We will definitely return when we visit Derbyshire next.

Reviewed by
LINDA MILLER

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next