No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Falstone Barns

5Visit England Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
Falstone Farm Falstone, Hexham, NE48 1AA
Falstone Barns is a 5 Star luxury Barn conversion, offering 4 themed apartments in a courtyard setting. Falstone farm is a private estate of 38 acres, in the heart of Northumberland National Park. Designated an area of 'Outstanding beauty', Falstone Barns offers the height of luxury in the countryside.

If country pursuits are your choice, Falstone Barns can offer Private fishing from the North Tyne, the best Salmon fishing in England, Clay Pigeon shooting, outdoor pursuits, cycling, walking, horse riding, falconery adventure, watersports from nearby Kielder Water (just 5 mins).

Set in the heart of Northumberland National Park, Falstone Barns is just 30 mins from Hadrian's wall, 1 hour from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, 1 and a half hours from the stunning Northumberland coast, featuring Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island to name but a few sites of interest. We are 1 hour from Newcastle city centre, Airport and Central Station. Edinburgh is only 1hr and 30 minutes away, so a day across the border to Scotland is very achievable. If your planning to have a 2 centre break in Northumberland and Scotland, Falstone Barns is your ideal venue in Northumberland.

Fly/Drive is a great option if your planning to access us from London. Although if you plan to come to us by car, you will be enchanted by the drive along our meandering roads with the natural beauty of stunning countryside as a backdrop.

If just relaxing is your forte, try our pamper service, with full beauty and complimentary treatments available. Our beauticians come to your apartment, so there is no disturbance to your pamper experience.

We can provide a fine dining service (Subject to availability), from our apartments or alternatively can book you a table at a recommed local inn.

Each of our apartments offer chic boutique living with roll top baths, separate designer showers, body jets, granite tiling. Kitchen and living areas are designed to the highest specification, fitted with grantite surfaces, modern appliances and wine fridge.

Falstone Barns has already been featured in a National Journal (SHE) magazine for most Luxurious self catering breaks, by the Reading Post as a fabulous romantic break, by the Observer newspaper as 'The place to stay' in the area venue and various others.

Ideally suited for special celebrations and Weddings, and set in a courtyard; the Barns provide complete privacy and tranquility. We can cater for 14 maximum in the apartments, but can provide a marqee and catering for larger celebrations. Falstone Barns is therefore an ideal venue for a bridal/groom party, aniversary or other special event. Since Falstone Barns has a church just behind the farm, if your planning on getting married, a short walk to your 'Country Wedding' Breakfast and Marquee is all that is required.

Choose from Classic opulent (2 Doubles or 2 twins), French bourgeois (2 doubles or a double and a twin),Versace glamour (2 doubles),and Romantic Medieval ( A mezzanine double featuring a TREE in the kitchen/living area), and book your place in the country!

Picture of Falstone Barns, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
5 star accommodation with amazing attention to detail.

Reviewed by
S Bain

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace, Quiet and Luxury
Our second time staying in the Bourgeous Apartment at Falstone Barns, this time with our little boy who was a bump the last time. Loved the place as much as before and felt so at home there I didn't want to leave. The owners are so friendly and Nickey even picked us up a bottle of wine from the nearest town Bellingham when we had run out. Near to Kielder and some lovely walks and countryside.

Reviewed by
Louise S

From gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely retreat
Booked falstone barns as I wanted a relaxing weekend with peace and quire for my boyfriends birthday and the Romantic medieval did not disappoint
Stunning decor and felt very cosy so was just what we were looking for. The tree centrepiece is lovely and lots of little touches add to how special this place is
We stayed in and made use of the fully equipped kitchen and the log burner both which were great
Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay and lived up to my high expectations. Nickey & Simon were very helpful too in the booking process!
Hopefully be back again soon
My only niggles would be the wifi didn't work and the TV just showed normal freeview channels not Sky as advertised!

ManagementResponse

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies for the issue with Internet connection which we are currently addressing. Regarding the sky package; it is a basic one and not free view as was indicated. We also provide DVD's for guests use (which are free to use in your apartment). Hope you choose us to stay again.

Reviewed by
Ria C

From Not provided, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of luxury!
Coming from only an hour away I've never thought of staying at somewhere like this. How wrong I was!! The place is absolutely beautiful. When you arrive there you feel a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of life. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind and the stars at night are so bright. If I could move in I would. We will definitely be back!
Ps- the pheasant up the road is great for food whilst the black cock 30 seconds round the corner is a lovely local to have a few pints in.

Reviewed by
mathew s

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Falstone Barn, Hex
We stayed in the romantic apartment. it certainly was, and so different to anywhere I have stayed in the past. I could not get over the tree in the middle of the room. The apartment was small but very well laid out. It is large enough for 2 persons, very warm, snug and cosy. It is well stocked with all the items you would require in a self catering property.
The property itself is very well placed for visiting the surrounding area. Should we return to the Kielder area again, which I am sure we will, we will be rebooking. I fully recommend Falstone Barns.

Reviewed by
k newton

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

made are first xmas an new year amazing
had the most amazing stay in the barn, I would love to return as we really enjoyed are stay, its our first xmas and new year together and spending time in the barn really made it special thank you and hopefully be back soon.

Reviewed by
Dominique smith

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic weekend
excellent stay and accommodation.

Reviewed by
kate russell

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomodation and facilities, helpful and friendly owners

Reviewed by
sara c

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of rural luxury
My wife and I have stayed at Falstone Barns before, and now have sampled all 4 of the luxury rooms. However, this time not only were we warmly greeted by the host Nickey Forster, but also asked by a film crew if we could be filmed in our room! Falstone barns is a bit of rural luxury - more like booking an upmarket hotel room rather than a rural cottage. The main difference to a hotel is that you've got a gourmet kitchen and a lovely living space, complete with wood burner and classy furnishings. The bedrooms are fabulous and the bathroom(s) sumptuous. We took two friends with us and they were amazed something like this existed in the wilds of Northumberland. Its great to go with friends and cook for each other (we pick mushrooms so its perfect), or to go for a romantic getaway. Perfect host, perfect place, perfect area!

Reviewed by
Robert Hollands

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tranquil and luxury hideaway!
We stayed in the rantic medieval apartment and it was fab, warm friendly and informative welcome. Immaculate inside and well looked after outside. Would recommend this for a intimate break. Will definitely be staying again!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next