No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Close House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Close House Estate, Heddon-on-the-Wall, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE15 0HT
Close House Hotel is set in stunning Northumberland countryside. Located less than 8 miles from Newcastle airport and from central Newcastle and Britain’s biggest shopping Centre the Metro Centre, it’s the perfect venue for business, leisure and corporate guests.

There are also picture-perfect grounds to explore, plus a multitude of attractions on our doorstep, including Northumberland National Park, Alnwick Castle, and Hadrian’s Wall.

Our facilities include: complimentary high speed internet access, 16 rooms luxurious appointed bedrooms, dine in our contemporary No19 Restaurant which opens daily from 7am to 9.00pm which offer some of the best produce Northumberland has to offer.

In addition we also have 2 x 18 hole golf course, a state of the art driving range, golf academy and Lee Westwood as our attached Tour Pro.
Picture of Close House Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed one night for class reunion. Excellent room.Tranquill surroundings. no complaints.

Reviewed by
M Kokri

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed that the main house and restaurant was not available. Had to walk outside to get to the 19 to purchase very basic food.
The food was good and wholesome but not what we wanted to late to go any where else.
I wish they could have told us before hand.

Reviewed by
patricia e

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Fabulous Stay
Our room in the courtyard was exquisitely decorated and furnished. The bed was so luxurious we could have stayed there all day!! Melvin the concierge was so very helpful and good humoured when he showed us to our room after our long journey. The hotel is in a wonderful setting and the grounds are beautifully maintained. We only wish we had been able to stay longer but hope to make it back before too long.

Reviewed by
S Parker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close house
We were the only residents, everything was fine other than late for dinner in town as we couldn't get out if the car park. No response from hotel, apology or otherwise.
Everything else was very good.

Reviewed by
J Maclachlan

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic rooms and great staff
One of the biggest and best hotel rooms I have stayed in. The staff at all levels were great but found dinner a bit expensive and only ok. All told a lovely country house hotel I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
J McGhee

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was hard to boil kettle and make a drink with position of plug. Think we should have asked for a synthetic duvet or it may have been hay fever allergy. Staff were very helpful at finding maps and footpath info.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place for dogs, golf and good food, with Hadrian's Wall nearby
We had a lovely stay at this hotel and wished we could have stayed another night. Although the bed was rather hard, the room was very well appointed with a large and luxurious bathroom. Although the window was rather high, it did have a view over the wonderful grounds. Our two Labradors were very well looked after with dog bowls and bedding provided and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had an excellent meal in the lovely and not too formal restaurant, where again the staff were friendly and helpful and, after a very generous breakfast the next day, left having had an enjoyable stay and feeling that we would like to return.

Reviewed by
Helen S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We live locally and this was a night away for our 20th wedding anniversary. I have never complained about a hotel before, but we did leave a written complaint on leaving the hotel and were told that the manager would contact us personally. Had they done so we might have understood why the hotel fell so short of our expectations. I delayed writing this review, but still 3 weeks later have not heard anything.
We initially made the booking but then wanted to speak to the hotel to confirm details. Each time we phoned we had to listen to a long recorded message about Close House before selecting the appropriate department, only then to get a message that they were away from their desk and to leave a number. No-one phoned back and we repeated this frustrating process many times choosing different departments before finally selecting the golf shop - who answered and managed to find someone to call us back. My husband is a pilot for BA and we have never had such a convoluted process just to speak to someone to answer a question in a hotel.
The room was reputedly a deluxe but was very small. The small toiletry bottles in the bathroom had already been used and were half empty. The fridge was dirty inside.
We ate in the bar and my husband had a burger which was good, but I had a chicken caesar (spelt wrongly in the menu!) which was dreadful. Limp lettuce with packet sliced chicken on it - dreadful.
The grounds were lovely to walk round and the breakfast was good, but we will not be returning despite potentially this being a great local hotel for us to use for celebrations.

Reviewed by
S Bunn

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disapointed
the staff on arrival and during our stay were excellent,the room was way below the standard of other like priced hotels,the food although mostly nicely presented was below the standard that you would expect from this establishment.The lack of spa facilities does not help this hotels cause in attracting customers.

Reviewed by
james cairns

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great celebration venue for our friends' wedding. Room was spotless (if a little on the small side) and fab breakfast to mop up the excesses of the previous day/ evening. Can't wait for the spa to open - it'll really complete the facilities offered at Close House.

Reviewed by
Jill D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next