No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Close House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Close House Estate, Heddon-on-the-Wall, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE15 0HT
Close House is set in stunning Northumberland countryside. Located less than 8 miles from Newcastle airport and from central Newcastle, Britain’s biggest shopping centre the Metro Centre, it’s the perfect venue for business, leisure and corporate guests.

There are also picture-perfect grounds to explore, plus a multitude of attractions on our doorstep, including Northumberland National Park, Alnwick Castle, and Hadrian’s Wall.

Our facilities include: complimentary high speed internet access, 16 rooms luxurious appointed bedrooms, dine in our contemporary No19 Restaurant, open daily from 7am to 9.00pm which has some of the best produce Northumberland has to offer.

In addition we also have two 18 hole golf courses, a state of the art driving range, golf academy and Lee Westwood as our attached Tour Professional.
Picture of Close House, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great celebration venue for our friends' wedding. Room was spotless (if a little on the small side) and fab breakfast to mop up the excesses of the previous day/ evening. Can't wait for the spa to open - it'll really complete the facilities offered at Close House.

Reviewed by
Jill D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful friendly staff. My husband and I enjoyed our stay food excellent. Perfect treat
We had a wonderful time staying at the hotel. Friendly, helpful, professional.

Reviewed by
Heather Ingham

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
This is a lovely restored Listed Mansion and done to a high quality. The Champagne Bar is fab and good value in luxurious surroundings The grounds and gardens are beautiful and well preserved. A joy to stay here and a very relaxing weekend. Would definately stay here again

Reviewed by
Elaine McKenna

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worth a stay

Reviewed by
DAVID M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class
Simply excellent - we ate in the golf club rather than the main hotel and they even offered to drive us the 150 meters in a golf buggy! Staff without exception were friendly, professional and a credit.
Arrived in the dark and was concerned it would be had to find, but well signed from the local village.

Reviewed by
Steve F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close encounters of the enjoyable kind
Small, friendly, efficient, luxurious and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night for husband's birthday treat
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt completely relaxed and looked after. The staff were attentive, polite, friendly and could not do enough for us.
Our romm was perfect, with all needs catered for. Dinner in the restaurant was magnificent as was breakfast. The ambience and decoration are wonderful. Great job!

Reviewed by
Gill L

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Only stayed for one night but this is a top quality hotel, the room was lovely, we went out for the evening and on our return it had been cleaned again, very nice touch. Breakfast was very yummy.

Reviewed by
S Fraser

From Hyde, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2