No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jersey Farm Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Jersey Farm Country Hotel Darlington Road, Barnard Castle, DL12 8TA
Located on the outskirts of Barnard Castle in peaceful rural Teesdale, this former working farm has been transformed into a unique family-run Hotel boasting friendly service, great food, free Wi-Fi and parking.

Set within 12 acres of glorious farmland, far removed from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, guests are free to relax and soak up the beautiful surroundings and peaceful atmosphere.

Each of the en-suite rooms is impeccably maintained and charmingly comfortable, featuring harmonious colour schemes with a light, fresh modern feel.

Utilising the very best fresh, locally sourced produce and ingredients wherever possible, the lively restaurant serves up a sumptuous range of bistro and carvery meals from breakfast to dinner.

Convenient and accessible the Hotel is just 20 minutes from Darlington and the A1 (via Junction 56) and is perfect for exploring such attractions as the Bowes Museum, Raby Castle, High Force waterfall, the Lake District, the Beamish Open Air Museum and the Metro Centre shopping complex.
Picture of Jersey Farm Hotel, Barnard Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely different!
A farm converted to a hotel sounded intriguing, and it is certainly different. However, the overall experience for us was a little mixed. Good points? The location is walkable from the town (if you wanted to); the staff were all very helpful and friendly, particularly in the restaurant. When the wine we wanted wasn't available, we were able to try another before deciding. And the dinner menu was very good - well priced and well cooked and presented. For the large appetite, the carvery seemed exceptionally good value. Not so good points? The predominantly red and black decor in our bedroom was a bit 'loud' for my taste and the bathroom in our room, whilst having very stylish and modern fittings including whirlpool bath, had an open 'wet room' type shower. For me, style over practicality! Also as our bedroom was in a converted exterior building, the echoing sounds of revellers from the wedding reception that night who passed our door at 2.00 in the morning did not contribute to the most peaceful night - but that's not the hotel's fault!

Reviewed by
Jean N

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and very comfortable accommodation

Reviewed by
Sabrina K

From SAI KUNG, Hong Kong
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely first-class from the moment entered hotel. Service excellent, attentive and friendly. Room and public areas very clean. Food was brilliant. Cannot fault in any way and the best experience I've had in a hotel of similar stature etc.
Can't wait to stay again!

Reviewed by
Adrian Lake

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great surprise
I usually stay in one of the chain hotels but all were booked on this occasion which gave me the chance to try something different. The hotel itself is in a lovely location with views all around of pleasant countryside. My room was a really great surprise - modern, clean, and with a very good bathroom. The only improvement I would like to see is a more modern (and light) hallway outside the rooms.

Reviewed by
David T

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly staff, requested a quiet room and got one, great carvery and desserts

Reviewed by
David Y

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An anniversary celebration!
Our stay at Jersey Farm Hotel was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone for either a special occasion or just a get-away. All the people were friendly and helpful. No complaints - just praise.

Reviewed by
Nicholas P

From Kendal, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
A fabulous hotel with brilliant staff, food and shetland ponies!
Would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Enjoyed our stay staff excellent. Room was good food good and value for money would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
M Dixon

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising jersey cow
Stayed for 2 nights. Wasn't sure from website of quality, what to expect at hotel but wanted somewhere near Bowes Museum. Hotel easy to find. Outside/ entrance disappointing and looks dated/forgotten. Reception staff pleasant and interested throughout stay. Hotel appears in transition from chintz to a modernised decor. Room surprising clean, enough room, bed really comfy nicely decorated. Not sure I'm that keen on the cow theme decor in reception area bit tacky!
Ate in restaurant both nights. Food excellent good choice, cooked well (accept for potato rots I starter which was too peppery for salmon). Price wise moderate and worth money. Not keen on sweets though! Good choice of drinks at bar.
Breakfast. Good choice freshly cooked and help yourself to toast etc when more guests staying.
Very happy with stay would recommend and return if revisiting town.
Bowes Museum was really interesting.

Reviewed by
Carol H

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with great customer service will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
c farrow

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next