No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Antrobus Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 CHURCH STREET , Amesbury, SP4 7EU
An original listed 17th Century Coaching Inn set in the ancient town of Amesbury a stones throw away from Stonehenge and nearby Salisbury. The Hotel boasts 21 individually styled en-suite rooms one of which is our Beatles Suite where the fab 4 (The Beatles) stayed while they were filming 'Help' on Salisbury Plain. The Hotel has a beautifully appointed restaurant which is open for lunch & dinner specialising in the best of local produce at very competetive prices, traditional olde world bar with a welcoming open fire serving a wide selection of real ales alongside an extensive wine list.
All the original charms of the hotel are embodied in the homely lounge, again with an open fireplace and full length south facing windows overlooking our magnificent walled victorian garden.
The hotel lends itself as the perfect location for weddings, corporate events, happenings and private functions. Our very friendly team will ensure a comfortable stay for business, families and leisure travellers alike.
Picture of The Antrobus Hotel, Amesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight B & B
We just needed a bed for the night really, and the hotel was Ok for this but will look elsewhere next time. Shower fell to bits in husband's hand, and he had a tricky time getting the temperature sorted.. Bed was very soft, which unfortunately we don't like.
Also although there is a non-smoker policy, a heavy smoker had clearly slept in the bed before us, smell lingered beneath the clean linen. We meant to tell the hotel all of the above before we left, but failed to! And although under my husband's name, S Farber is the reviewer

Reviewed by
M Farber

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When arriving at the hotel the outside looked wonderful and the entrance hall also, we received our key went to our room, on first glance room was satisfactory, however the room was not overly clean the cushions on the bed were stained, and previous guests rubbish was under the bed side table. The bath room was of a good standard. Our evening meal was a disappointment however, my plate was full of water and my food had gone soggy due to this, my husbands food was not to our standard either. Due to our evening meal we decided we would not pay the extra fee to have our breakfast the next morning. The staff were neither excellent nor extremely poor, due to a wedding being at the hotel we felt we were not important and our evening meal we were sat alone in the dark, in our room we had a welcome book to read through, this is a nice touch however the book was dirty with various stains on.

Reviewed by
L Tingey

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better this time
Better tthan the week before

Reviewed by
Penny N

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit disappointed
I always ask that I have a room towards the back of the hotel as with the streetlights to the front of the hotel I have difficulty sleeping. You can imagin my disappointment when I afrrive at around 7pm to discover I had a room at the front. however this was rectified and I did get a room at the back, but it did mean after a very long day I had to go back down to reception will all of my bags to get the room changed over.

Reviewed by
Penny N

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good nights sleep
I return time and time agian to the Antrobus, thanks for another great stay.

Reviewed by
Penny N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
After a long drive, we arrived hoping for a nice soak in the bath and a good nights sleep. Neither of which happened. The bathroom was in a dreadful state. Bath panel coming away from the bath. Water damaged ceiling and peeling paper. Almost unusable. Beds very uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
C Reed-Finch

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After a very long Walk a room with a BATH
Great to have a room with a good sized bath in it. Bed was very comfortable. No noise after 11.00pm
Gardens very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Eve P

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay at the Antrobus
This is my hotel of choice in the area.

Reviewed by
Penny N

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character hotel
The room appeared very clean but sadly there were marks on the bed quilt and serious marks/damage to the carpet. This did not cause us too many issues but the noise on the Friday night was particularly excessive and lasted until the early hours. The location of the hotel was ideal for our purposes - Thruxton Circuit and was reasonably priced. We did not eat or drink in the hotel so cannot comment on this.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
We stayed at the Antrobus Arms as we were attending a wedding. We were allocated Room 10. It was fabulous...large, comfy, clean and lovely view over the garden.

Reviewed by
Helen P

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next