Reviews - Rowers Hotel



Price From 64.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (18)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • P Murphy

  • September 2015

Good budget accommodation.

  • L Sharief

  • June 2015

Another enjoyable stay, lovely staff!

Been here 4 times now and can't fault it, the staff are so lovely and helpful and go out of their way 2 accommodate you.

I always look forward to staying there and seeing the friendly faces. It's my home away from home, and it's where I will keep on staying when I am in that area.

  • L Sharief

  • April 2015

Lovely staff, excellent price, proper breakfast!

I didn't really have high expectations because of some of the reviews and it was quite cheaply priced compared to some hotels, but I had a really enjoyable stay and have since been again.

The rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfast was lovely, a proper Full English as well not a daft continental one like some hotels. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you, especially Susan who is so friendly and welcoming, anything you need she sorts it for you, and all with a kind word and friendly smile on her face for you. You don't get the feeling of being rushed or that they don't have the time for you like I have experienced in some places. She really does make the place. In my opinion a great place to stay, and a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and all the staff are lovely.

  • Catherine W

  • April 2015

Newcastle experience

Not being able to get reasonable priced accommodation in Newcastle the Rowers hotel in Gateshead was booked.

From the photos I did not have high expectations about the quality of the hotel. On arrival my initial thoughts were that it was closed but the door was answered when we rang the bell. The gentleman was welcoming & showed us to our room. The bed was clean & comfortable but the accommodation is in need of updating. The breakfast was ample & served by friendly staff. My overall summing up was that at £60 it wasn't value for money but if accommodation can not be found in the centre of Newcastle it is an option.

  • B Power

  • April 2015

Avoid if possible

This hotel is the worst one I've ever stayed in.

I travel with a group of friends and we fount a used condom in the room grass in one of the beds there was dust everywhere the toilet wasn't properly cleaned and I borrowed an ironing bored and it had a massive hole in. Only good thing was the staff as they were excellent. If this hotel was brought forward to modern times then it would be a perfect budget hotel.

  • Philip England

  • March 2015

Better than anticipated

Incredible value for money.

The cost was so low that my expectations were not high. The hotel took a little finding as it sits within a business park. The welcome received was friendly. My bedroom was a good size, and was clean and pleasant. Like a cabin in a ship. The bathroom was first e with bath and shower. There was TV and free WiFi. Breakfast was served by a very friendly lady. Parking was excellent and in a private compound. For my evening meal I walked 100 yards to a Chinese takeaway. O the second evening I drove 1 minute to a large shopping park and went to KFC. In the morning I could drive quickly and easily to my business destination. Thanks for a great stay for great price.

  • A Pattinson

  • March 2015

Great for a short stay


Pleasant staff. Only 10 minute taxi ride to the Metro Radio Arena. Room No 4 very small but warm and comfortable. Towels frayed so could do with being replaced. Breakfast average.

  • david w

  • March 2015

Good value

Hotel run down but clean.

An excellent "what can I get you pet?" breakfast.

  • J Barry

  • March 2015

Value for money

Friendly staff.

Room clean. Good breakfast.

  • Jamie M

  • December 2014

Ocean cruise on land

Well, what to say.

I booked this because I needed a cheap room for the night at the last minute. It was actually ok. The shower room was tired, but the bed was comfy, and once I had turned off the heating, had a good nights sleep.