No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apsley House Hotel

5AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
141 Newbridge Hill , Bath, BA1 3PT
An elegant Georgian Country House built in 1830, by the Duke of Wellington, set in its own delightful garden in a quiet residential area. The hotel has been refurbished in great style and every care has been taken to preserve the elegance of bygone days. The magnificently proportioned reception rooms offer both style and comfort, the interior includes many period features complimented by the house being furnished with fine antiques and original oil paintings.

A small privately owned establishment, Apsley House offers a very warm welcome and personal care, the atmosphere is more in keeping with a private house than an hotel with every discretion given to the comfort and enjoyment of guests. Help is always available if you require information on how best to spend your time in and around the beautiful city of Bath. Apsley House is situated just over a mile from Queen’s Square in the centre of Bath.

The drawing room, with live fire in the winter, together with the dining room have stunning floor to ceiling Georgian windows which overlook the charming and secluded garden. Breakfast, served in the elegant dining room, is a feast with a variety of choices from Traditional English to House Specialties and Vegetarian Selection all prepared to order and beautifully presented. There is also a delicious continental selection of fresh fruits, fruit juices, yoghurt and cereals available from the buffet table.

All 12 Delightful En-suite bedrooms, including some Four Poster Rooms and a Family Suite, are equipped with:
Flat Screen Televisions with Free View
Wireless Internet Connection
Molton Brown Bathroom Products
Tea & Coffee Making Facilities

Apsley House is a fully non-smoking hotel and offers Free Private Car Park for each room,
a Large Drawing Room with Licensed Residents Bar and Garden.
Picture of Apsley House Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apsley House Hotel Bath
A return overnight visit for us. The hotel was as we remembered, very comfortable,well-organised and welcoming.
An excellent secluded base from which to enjoy Bath.

Reviewed by
G Phillips

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B experience.
Apsley House is a first class establishment in every way, clean, comfortable with first class food and staff. A REAL GEM!

Reviewed by
Peter Burt

From Hassocks, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apsley House Hotel
Relaxing mid-week escape to beautiful Bath

Reviewed by
Katherine K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We were made so welcome on arrival. The room was so spotless and clean and very welcoming. The food was excellent and lots of choice at Breakfast. We shall stay here again and would recommend it to anyone . Definitely had the personal touch!

Reviewed by
susan p

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous Hotel
We throughly enjoyed our stay at Apsley House. From the start when we arrived the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. She showed us into the Garden Suite which was beautiful. The following morning we sampled the delights of a sumptuous breakfast. The stay was topped off when we sat drinking our coffee in front of an open fire, while reading the news paper. All the staff were friendly & efficient.
We have no hesitation in recommending the Apsley House hotel to all.

Reviewed by
S Whinfrey harvey

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT HOTEL
We found the hotel very welcoming and the staff very helpful.
Excellent base outside Bath to stay, park up and Bus into city centre.
Breakfast was superb.
Would go back again.

Reviewed by
Nigel Land

From Liphook, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely fantastic
The welcome was superb, the accommodation the best breakfast very good food
and I am a mystery shopper have stayed at lots of hotels although not working on this occasion!

Reviewed by
lesley cole

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little Bolt Hole
Location is ideal, within a decent walking distance of the city centre. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
J Bannister

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
This is a lovely hotel, I would recommend this to anybody!!
Staff are so friendly and helpful, and hotel was truly amazing! We went as a treat for my husbands birthday and loved every minute of it. Would defiantly go back :)

Reviewed by
V Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apsley House Hotel, highly recommended
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was amply sized with plenty of hanging and stowing space, a king sizes double four poster bed and a bath so enormous I could have swum in it. We were in the basement, so no views unfortunately, but then we only booked last minute so no choice.
The only downside is that it is at least a 35 minute walk down hill into the center. Hard work coming back, but plenty of buses and the taxi journey only £8.00. Much further than the 1 mile walk mentioned on the website though.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next