No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Windsor City Centre

5Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
69 Great Pulteney Street , Bath, BA2 4DL
Location Location Location
The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.
Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.
The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete the package and add to the guest experience.
Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return.


Picture of The Windsor City Centre, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Poster
Had a lovely time here, 4 poster bed was very comfy, room was nice, ordered breakfast in bed and it was superb

Reviewed by
Roy F

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre at best
For those looking for a hotel in close proximity to all of the delightful sights and sounds that Bath has to offer, this does very much that. The staff were polite (our waitress at breakfast was most charming), but you don't really get much more for the price tag. The flush didn't work properly in the room and there was a ladybird infestation! The communication from the hotel was riddled with mistakes (on the deposit amount and length of stay) and this left a bit of a sour taste. The £12 for parking was obscene too given there are few available spaces and we were often forced to park a good 10min walk from the hotel. Much better options in and around the City centre for my money...

Reviewed by
Ash S

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windsor's winning ways
Great hotel; attentive service, good food and warm and welcoming staff.

Reviewed by
Danielle Taylor

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointed!!!!!
Expected 5* accommodation as listed but hugely dissappointed. 2 1/2* is the max I would give this establishment and that would be for its proximity to the main attractions in Bath. Beware the breakfast included is continental not full English, £8.50 extra per person for full English and it wasn't worth it, certainly not award winning!! £12 parking permit is also an extra!! Rooms tired and certainly not a hotel suitable for people with mobility problems....Ruined our visit to Bath!!!

Reviewed by
june r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic getaway
Lovely friendly staff and nice comfortable rooms

Reviewed by
A Vosper

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
Stayed at the Windsor for two nights in September and enjoyed it very much. Very welcoming staff always smiling and willing to help. The room was compact but clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Slightly noisy air conditioner but didn't affect my sleep anyway. The breakfast selection was very good, we opted for the cooked breakfast.
Perfectly situated for reaching all of Bath for us and surprisingly quiet. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Reviewed by
Steffi Thompson

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had one night stay at this Hotel and never had stayed in Bath before, we were very pleased with the location, as it was very central to all land marks and all were in walking distance.
we decided to stay here as we wanted to visit Bath race course, that was a 10 min car ride away.
There were a good choice of restaurants and shops in the area, we did not realise how popular Bath was. The time we stayed was the Jane Austin gathering where her enthusiasts were dressed up in regency wear walking around Bath, that was quite astonishing.
We had an upper floor room with a four poster bed, the room seemed in keeping with the period, the Hotel in general had this feel. Breakfast was all local produce and excellent. The staff were very polite and helpful.The only minus we had was the permit parking fee, but we were able to park there all day that was cheaper than parking anywhere else.

Reviewed by
lesley f

From Tonypandy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable hotel in a beautiful city
We stayed on the top floor of this lovely hotel which meant climbing several flights of stairs toget to our room because it is a listed building there was no elevator, so it would not be good for disabled /infirm people. Our room was small,but comfortable ,clean and nicely decorated.Next to the kettle was a variety of coffee,tea ,herbal teas and evens couple of sachets of diluting juices which was a thoughtful touch for those who do not like hot drinks.There was a beautiful view over Bath from the window.Our ensuite bathroom had a shower in it.The water took several minutes to heat up ,but there was a notice warning us that this was the case. The shampoo (which smelt lovely)was in large bottles which were refilled when necessary.I liked this idea,as it is more environmentally friendly than having to replace small bottles all the time.The continental breakfast which was included in the price was fine.The orange juice was so good I had a second glass.As my husband chose kippers which he seemed to enjoy, this cost extra.The staff were very helpful and friendly.One concern we had when we arrived was to do with parking.Our concerns vanished when we discovered that we could buy a parking permit from the hotel.

Reviewed by
Jenny F

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single traveller on short stay
I stayed for one night in a single room. The room and ensuite were very clean, and nice and quiet. The staff were very helpful, professional and friendly, and my room and the public areas were very well maintained. The location is perfect for sight-seeing. I ate from the continental breakfast which is included in the price, and couldn't fault the food or service.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accomodation and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Susan D

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next