No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barrasford Arms

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Barrasford Arms Barrasford, Northumberland, NE48 4AA
Top chef Tony Binks took over the 1870s pub in 2006. Already voted “Destination Restaurant of the Year,” the pub sits at the heart of Barrasford village in the North Tyne valley. Tony’s cooking style is traditionally English with French influences, a homage to his friend and mentor, international cuisinier Albert Roux, who pays the occasional visit. There are comfortable, newly refurbished bedrooms. Stay in a place with a warm and homely atmosphere that you'll never forget. Come and enjoy some fine Northumbrian hospitality while you stay with us and explore what Northumbria and Hadrian's Wall Country has to offer.

Please note that there is no evening meals served on a Sunday. The restaurant closes at 15:00 hrs.
Picture of Barrasford Arms, Northumberland at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well positioned for Hadrian's Wall
This is a friendly and relaxed place with excellent food and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Mary H

From Settle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow the Barrasford arms what a hidden gem
Friendly staff and locals the food was exceptional and very reasonable we will definitely be back

Reviewed by
g whittle

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend

Reviewed by
june a

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food !! Oh the food was soooo good !!!
Lovely friendly place. The staff were great. and the food was excellent. I'll be back !

Reviewed by
trevor w

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel,great breakfast,polite and helpful staff.Room small,small difficult to opreate TV.No bath a dissapointment.

Reviewed by
brian stobbart

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous food, lovely surroundings, very comfortable bed. very friendly staff.
Gorgeous real fire in the bar and restaurant fantastic.

Reviewed by
S Iley

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced for an average B&B
This is a pub with average B&B accommodation. We felt it was expensive for what was provided. The room was clean but basic. There wasn't even a hairdryer - we later discovered they were available on request. The hot water was tepid in the evening, but better the next morning. The food was reasonable, although the main course could have been served warmer, but it was very overpriced.

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous place
We literally lucked into a last minute booking at this incredible place. For a couple of Americans, this was everything and more we wanted to experience of being in an English inn. Hadrian's Wall is nearby, and after hiking for 4 hours, we w ere glad to be able to eat dinner at the inn. And what a dinner!!! Much of the food, especially the lamb, was locally sourced (as in grown on the property!). In many ways, we have regarded the night we spent there as one of the magical we have spent in Britain.

Reviewed by
C Borst

From Whittier, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with the stay and location

Reviewed by
Andrew Herring

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpectedly Enjoyable
Booked this at a last minute due to a change of plans and did not regret it. The location is picturesque and tranquil, the owner (and chef) Tony was genuine, friendly and he cooks great food. The atmosphere was very friendly and nothing was a bother for the staff, very smiley, pleasant and happy. Free parking, outside seating, good size room and all amenities available. Food was locally sourced and fresh. Cooking was outstanding, especially lamb. A good beer selection with some local brews. Will come again if around that part of the country.

Reviewed by
Anton Mikhalovskii

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next