No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan at Choppington

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Swan at Choppington, , Choppington, Morpeth, NE62 5TG
The Swan at Choppington is a quality assessed 3 star Inn offering great food, excellent service and comfortable en-suite accommodation. We are passionate about delivering a warm and personal welcome to all our guests. Our location provides excellent transport links to Newcastle, Gateshead, Alnwick and the Scottish borders as we are less than 4 miles from the A1. We are an ideal base for exploring the delights of Northumberland including Holy Island (Lindisfarne), Alnwick Gardens, the Market Town of Morpeth and the glorious unspoilt Northumbrian Coast. For the genealogy enthusiast we are approximately 4 miles from the Northumberland Archives at Woodhorn, Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, Ashington. We have 6 self contained, ground floor, ensuite bedrooms which can accommodate one or more guests, with our family rooms large enough for families of up to four. Each has its own front door therefore providing 24hr access. One of our rooms has extra wide doors, specially designed bathroom and low level light switches to ease of use for wheelchair users. Free Wifi is available in the main bar and guest bedrooms.. Lunch and dinner is served both in the traditional main bar or conservatory restaurant, catering for tastes from the most conservative to the most elaborate. Our food is prepared to order by our talented chefs, using fresh ingredients delivered daily. We have plenty to offer families with young children including cots and highchairs, special children’s menu, outside play area and colouring sheets with crayons. Our bar and restaurant are closed on Sunday nights. Special arrangements are in place for bookings on 24th, 25th, 26th and 31st of December and the 1st January. These include limited arrival times, reduced housekeeping and periods where the bar and restaurant are closed. It is strongly recommended that you telephone The Swan on 01670 826060 to discuss your stay BEFORE making a booking.
Picture of The Swan at Choppington, Morpeth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

golf break
my son and I stayed at the swan as part of a golf break we had in the area.We found The Swan a very good village pub with accommodation.The room was more than adequate,the food excellent and the manner of the staff was very pleasant and helpful

Reviewed by
robert proctor

From Alexandria, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
I enjoyed staring here. Very friendly, very comfortable bed. Very quiet location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
frank m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good location with staff and management very friendly.

Reviewed by
John Cleland

From Newmains , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

generous in space and hospitality
Travelled with husband and 10 year old son and stayed 5 days to explore the area. The Swan was ideal for this and it helped having the door to the room directly off the car park. It is situated in a quiet area which is ideal after a long day. There is also a separate car park for pub guests so not much coming and going late at night. The room was larger than I expected with plenty of storage space for clothes etc including a double wardrobe. The hospitality tray was generous with plenty of tea, coffee and milk so you don't feel "rationed". Also mineral water provided. All these items were refilled regularly. Staff were helpful and friendly. Only downside was that bed was a bit soft and springy for my taste.

Reviewed by
Beverley B

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
L Cunningham

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan
Shower was weak, couldn't access internet via wifi though password as correct.

Reviewed by
D Ashcroft

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
We booked into The Swan as second choice as our normal hotel was full. However, we will be using this hotel again. The room, which is away from the main building, (which meant an umbrella is needed if it is raining at breakfast time!), was a good size but slightly tired. Plenty of wardrobe space and a good shower.
We booked a table for 8 in the restaurant, and it was excellent. The waitress who took our order brought our food and gave the meals to the right people without having to ask who was having what. Very impressive, as we all had different things.
The only problem we encountered was on leaving the car park. There is a steep slope down to the road and the underside of our car caught. Next time we stay we will park in the main car park, not outside our room.

Reviewed by
K Scaife

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Swan at Choppington
A very pleasant stay. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff and good food.
Very attractive hanging baskets must be mentioned.

Reviewed by
G R C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at theThe Swan at Choppington
Nice pleasant family run hotel / pub. Food good, think full English breakfast should have been included in the price. Bath towels were on the small side, but these are minor quibbles and I'd happily use it again if working in the area. Evening meal was great value for money

Reviewed by
s sparks

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Quality Experience At The Swan, Choppington.NE62 5TG
I chose The Swan due to its proximity to Bedlington where I was due to hold a one day training course starting at 7.00a.m. on a Saturday morning. On arrival at The Swan I was greeted by the owner and made to feel welcome and shown to my motel style room which was attached to the pub.
Each of these rooms has parking for you car directly outside.The twin room was spacious, well decorated and very clean with a good sized en-suite. The room also featured a large full height wardrobe. The room was provided with the usual tea/coffee making facilities with a good supply of all ingredients.
The Swan provides a good range of food in both the bar and restaurant. In the bar I enjoyed a creamed garlic mushroom starter, followed by an excellent 12oz Sirloin turf and King Prawn surf.
I chose to accompany my meal with a couple of pints of Allendale Wolf (5.1). The standard of the meal I enjoyed was excellent and served by pleasant and efficient staff.
As I had to leave The Swan prior to the start of breakfast the following morning I expected that no provision for my breakfast would be made ( which is my usual experience in such circumstances), however, the owner very kindly provided me with some flapjack and a cereal bar.
Overall, The Swan provided an excellent level of service, some very good food, some good company and a room that was good value for money. If I am ever I the region again I would have no hesitation in returning to The Swan.

Reviewed by
richard knight

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next