No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eslington Villa

3AA Assessed Apartment Ratings explained
Eslington Villa, 8 Station Road, Low Fell, Gateshead, NE9 6DR
Eslington Villa is a stunning 19th Century hotel located just minutes from the Team Valley in Gateshead. The hotel retains a lot of its original features yet has been tastefully extended, not losing any of its character or charm. It is situated within 2 acres of landscaped gardens with extensive views over the Team Valley. It is ideal for visitors on business and leisure breaks, with Newcastle, Gateshead and Durham only a short drive away. No two bedrooms in Eslington Villa are the same. There is a choice of 18 individually designed bedrooms which range from the traditional - complete with four poster bed - to the more contemporary designer rooms. All rooms have direct dial phone, satellite television and free Wi-Fi internet. The hotel also boasts an award winning restaurant, having secured two AA rosettes for the quality and range of cuisine on offer and is ideal for business lunches or intimate dinners. We have a real passion for producing outstanding food with an emphasis on the highest quality local and seasonal produce. We believe in letting the food speak for itself and take a simple, classic approach to cooking, along with a few innovative and modern touches.
Picture of Eslington Villa, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Enjoyed our stay. Friendly, courteous and efficient staff

Reviewed by
M Townsend

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Couple of Days Away.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly , the food very good and accommodation most comfortable. The decor was attractive and suitable - mix of modern with traditional furnishings - and retention of the pleasing features of the 19th Century house. The garden was lovely and quite unexpected in the town situation - beautiful trees giving a peaceful setting. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to explore in the garden as we were attending a wedding. Would stay here again!

Reviewed by
Mary-Rose Lindsay

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean And Tidy
Hotel was clean and the staff were very attentive, in parts the hotel looked tired but the room i had was a good size and the bathroom was very roomy. The food was very good and nicely presented, at breakfast there was a good selection of cereals and cooked items (all cooked to order). All in all it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
S Hirst

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fascinating old property in lovely grounds. Staff friendly, efficient and keen to make you feel at home. Food and wine excellent and sensibly priced.
A strange location being adjacent to the Team Valley Trading Estate and with a high-speed rail line quite close to the hotel, but neither of these factors proved to be a problem.
Proximity to the SAGE Concert Hall, Baltic Art Ctr., Metro Center and Newcastle was very useful.

Reviewed by
Norman H

From Wirral, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding family run boutique hotel
i was working a weekend in Gateshead and staying here made me feel it was for pleasure. Food and service outstanding my room - beech - was beautifully decorated and clean and comfortable. Staff were so helpful and service a credit to the hotel - they appeared to take pleasure in their work and i observed their attentiveness to all the guests dining. Wonderful i will be back when working again and also to take my husband. Lovely grounds and quiet too.

Reviewed by
Stephanie Nicoll

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming staff, lovely gardens and building. Meals and service were excellent and reasonably priced. Only slightly negative comment is that we were on top floor and the skylight blinds didn't block out the sun so we're woken very early. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Reviewed by
L Pearson-Jones

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly and helpful staff.
We requested a snack to be left for us as we were returning late in the evening and this was arranged for us.
A very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Grahame N

From Auchterarder, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot Fault
I had been recommended this hotel by a colleague who particularly enjoyed the food.
I have to say, I was not disappointed either. Travelling alone can be a bit boring but I was made to feel very welcome from the very start, I was shown to my room by the receptionist personally & asked if I wished to book a table for dinner, I declined as I had already eaten but booked for the next evening as this was a 2 night stay. The room was very spacious (2 double beds) & very clean with a nice large bathroom. Bed was comfortable with duvet plus extra blanket in the wardrobe if need.
The meal the next evening was really nice & they certainly look after you! I booked the table for 6:30pm (they do an early bird menu that is slightly cheaper & has a different range of dishes). I arrived at the restaurant on time & was greeted warmly & asked if I wanted anything from the bar, I was then seated in the lounge area where my drink was brought to me along with some olives while I chose my food. Once the food was ready I was taken to my table & my meal was served immediately, all the waiting staff were very attentive & made sure I had anything I needed.
Overall during my stay I was very well looked after & I would absolutely recommend anyone to stay there.

Reviewed by
Shaun G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel of choice
I have left a review before for this hotel in which i described it as a little gem and i still think the same. Lovely welcoming staff, nice quiet location, nice rooms and great food, what else do you want!

Reviewed by
F Gallagher

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attractive Period Property with a warm welcome and excellent food

Reviewed by
M Coleman

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next