No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorpe Thewles Lodge

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
DRUMMOYNE, DURHAM ROAD, STOCKTON-ON-TEES, TS21 3JB
Thorpe Thewles Lodge is an elegant Bed and Breakfast and cottages created from an old and traditional farm house. The house has been lovingly converted into a warm and comfortable luxury place for you to stay.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and friendly atmosphere and we aim to make your stay as comfy and relaxing as possible.

Set in a peaceful village and beautiful surroundings its principal village is Thorpe Thewles located not far from Middlesbrough, Stockton and Darlington.

WOULD GUESTS AT THIS PROPERTY KINDLY NOTE THAT KEYS MUST BE COLLECTED FROM THE BALCONY HOTEL, HARROWGATE LANE TS19 8SL - RECEPTION OPEN 24/7


Picture of Thorpe Thewles Lodge, STOCKTON-ON-TEES at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little secluded lodge in Thorpe Thewles
It was difficult to find the lodge. Access road not shown on sat nav. Had to call to ask for directions. Arrived very late at night, so did not manage to meet with owner/receptionist. Note was posted at front door with message and instructions. Thought was for me only as arrived late but this was how the owner operate to everyone. Lacks the warmth and hospitality on arrival. However, helper in the morning was very warm and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Good value for money. Full English breakfast (at an extra cost) was great.

Reviewed by
Chuen P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and modern room however promised wifi and hair drier were non-existent, heating would not work overnight, and one of the towels provided had a dirty stain on it.

Reviewed by
J Brittain

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Myself and my partner stay for 2 nights and it was a pleasant surprise at the quality of the accommodation I must say it was amazing old beams and an open fire in the room rolling country outside the doors the village is only aile away and has 2 good pubs everyone was so friendly it was great 😃😃😃😃

Reviewed by
Duncan Bristow

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear....
The staff were friendly however the room and grounds were awful. There were bare wooden floors in the room above and when the occupants came home drunk it sounded like a heard of elephants were crashing around, which was great at 00.40 in the morning. The rooms were also so poorly insulated that we could hear them breaking wind and laughing about it, as if they were in the room with us. Delightful. I did not get a decent nights sleep the entire stay.
There were also loose tiles in the bathroom which were camouflaged with a matt thrown over the top of them as well as other broken/poorly maintained fittings and furnishings.
There was a picnic area and grass grounds to the rear of the building onto which our french doors opened. It looked pleasant except that there was litter (bottle tops, cigarette packets, bottles etc) that was present when we arrived and was still there when we left. One of the workers, who appeared to live in a caravan onsite, also excersised two dogs in this area, allowing them to foul and leaving the mess, which was unpleasant. The exteranal bins were also overflowing when we arrived and were not emptied over the course of our three day stay. Broken furniture and discarded mops were also left propped up against walls and lying around the floor.
The only decent thing about the stay was the breakfast. It was by far the best cook breakfast I've had in a long while, with extremely generous portions. The lady that cooked and served the breakfast was also lovely. I felt very sorry for her as she was in the firing line for complaints from other guests, even though the upkeep was not her responsibility.

Reviewed by
joe p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
It was a calm and peaceful stay

Reviewed by
Manal G

From Doha, Qatar
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thorpe Thewles Lodge
Spacious and comfortable room, with good sized bathroom (shower only). Good large breakfasts if you choose the full breakfast option. I liked the location as it was on a farm and was quite. Helpful and friendly staff! If using a SatNav be aware that the entrance off the dual carriageway is not for the B&B!! You need to travel further down the road and turn into Thorpe Thewles itself, then turning left (if travelling from Norton) at the Hamilton Russell pub and then turning right just before the bridge underpass which is signposted B+B. Was allowed an early check in on request which was very helpful, as had to attend a wedding shortly after arrival. Thank you!

Reviewed by
David W

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Accomodation
Staff that met were friendly enough. Keys are not picked up from somewhere else as e-mail from late rooms suggests.
Accomodation is basic, could have been cleaned a lot better (please dont was towels at low temps, they tend to smell), TV remote missing.
In middle of no where but very quiet

Reviewed by
Paul E

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No fuss, great place, very helpful. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Dean Powell

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I keep going back
The fact that I always try to stay here on each occasion when I work in the area speaks volumes of the accommodation. Service is friendly and efficient.
My only suggestion is for the room table to accommodate a chair and leg room so that it can be used as a work table (for use of laptop for writing up the day's work findings).

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once we found the location of accommodation, we were happy to just get settled. our advice to owners would be to make clear direction to property on their website

Reviewed by
D MULLINS

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next