No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 16th Century Craven Cottage (Sleeps 6)

4Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
Craven Cottage Little Longstone, Little Longstone, DE45 1NN
Set in the idyllic village of Little Longstone, four miles from the centre of Bakewell. A superbly appointed stone built period cottage that dates back to the late 16th century. Formally part of the Duke of Devonshire estate, with exposed beams, stonework and open fires, craven cottage offers a wealth of charm and character.

The small picturesque village of Little Longstone, stands in the very heart of the white peak. Set in an idyllic landscape, the parish extends to Monsal Head, with fine views over the dale and its famous viaduct. The village with its 100 inhabitants, contains the 17th century Longstone Manor, and charming cottages built during an era of prosperity from lead mining and shoe making. The Longson family have lived in the village for over 800 years; a record few can equal anywhere. There is also a well preserved set of village stocks, once a symbol of authority.

The pub, the Pack Horse Inn, dates from then 16th century, and is a welcomed stop for walkers and cyclists. Nearby is a congregational chapel built circa 1870, and within easy walking distance are the villages of Ashford in the Water and Cressbrook. To the north lies Longstone edge, from where there are excellent views over the wye valley. Central to all attractions, the village offers an ideal base for a visit to Peak District. Little Longstone celebrates its well dressing at the end of July every year.
Picture of 16th Century Craven Cottage (Sleeps 6), Little Longstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy cottage, newly refurbished with many original features. Lovely place to stay. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
S P

From Melton Mowbray, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Craven Cottage. The rooms were very comfortable, the bed very supportive and pillows excellent providing a wonderful nights sleep. The instructions provided were superb and prepared us for the visit. A few things to think about: a bath mat to stand on when you leave the shower and possibly look at the key locker at the front of the house. It was a little stiff. Overall a fantastic location and cottage.

Reviewed by
Philip Arkinstall

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely cottage
Lovely cottage close to trails.
Perfect for a family vacation, there is everything you need in it.

Reviewed by
Clara C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Craven cottage
Ideally situated in this popular village, almost next to the 'famous' Packe Horse Inn (order the slow cooked pork) on lots of good walking routes so no need to get back into the car. Rooms spacious for such an old property, facilities excellent, beds extra-ordinarily comfy! All in all we had a wonderful family reunion here, would recommend this place, we will be returning for sure.

Reviewed by
G Haynes

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My fourth stay in this ideally located cottage. Will return again. Perfect

Reviewed by
Judith A

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average cottage
Craven Cottage location was ideal for a visit to the Peak District, being almost central to many visitor attractions of various types [Chatsworth house, Matlock, various scenic walks etc.]. However, the cottage itself was let down by lack of care. The front and rear garden were untended, overgrown and full of large weeds, so first impression of cottage was very poor. The rear garden is just a small area with just enough room for a table and chairs and a rather dangerous broken wooden bench. The garden furniture was delapidated and uncared for. In the kitchen we found an extremely dirty washing up brush, which was coated in grease and dirt [unusable and unhygenic]. The bathroom upstairs had mould around the top end of bath [shower cubicle end], which should realy be dealt with before it spreads around the entire bath. All minor things which are easy to remedy, and then it would be a quite good cottage, but at present it appears owners are not that bothered about the cottage, which is a shame.

ManagementResponse

We sincerely apologise for the issues encountered. I must stress that we have never had negative feedback like this, as our feedback score is over 90%. We have always listened and taken action when our quests have contacted us, with issues during their stay, eg. supplying a tea pot, supplying a hairdryer and dealing with boiler and heating issues ASAP. If we had been contacted during the visit we could have resolved these problems immediately. If we are unaware of the issues straight away, we can't resolve them. We have contacted our cleaning and maintenance companies we use to look after the cottage, to get to the bottom of this.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really well equipped, clean and comfortable cottage and great to be able to book for just 2 nights. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
V Kenneth

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.