The Grand Hotel

3

Grand Parade, Tynemouth, NE304ER

Price From 187.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nik Whysall

  • March 2015

End of walk paradise

Great Hotel.

Fab Views.

  • w cunningham

  • March 2015

Nice Break

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay Grand Hotel, Tynemouth.

Lovely accommodation with friendly and helpful staff.

  • P Mayo

  • November 2014

My visit to Tynemouth

I am an experienced traveller, and spend pretty well every week around the world I booked this hotel blind, as I had never been to this area before.

The hotel is perfect, it's in a great location, stunning views, and helpful staff

I would highly recommend this hotel and I will defiantly stay here again next times am in the area

  • Amy B

  • October 2014

One night stay in October

The hotel has a nice position looking out over the sea.

We only stayed one night so can only judge the hotel over a very short period. The room we were staying in (226) was very noisy during the night, lots of creaking due to presumably a loose roof joist (no rooms above) - we reported this to reception in the morning so hopefully this is now being rectified. No discount was offered though, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast was ok, but there wasn't a huge range on offer, with only a small selection of hot breakfast options. All in all, the hotel is above average, but I think falls slightly short of other high end hotels.

  • Michael F

  • September 2014

Worth a stay

Our stay was very good.

Staff very helpful and welcoming. The location is great, close to the beach and only a short train ride to the centre of Newcastle. My only one negative comment was the room and bathroom had little privacy. We over looked the central garden which was lovely, but felt very over looked by the rooms opposite and the bathroom had no frosted glass. I'm not sure who got the biggest shock in the morning, the person having a cigaret in the garden or me using the bathroom. The consequence of this was we kept the curtains and blinds down all the time and didn't get the benefit of the lovely garden.

I would stay there again but possible not in that room.

  • L Fealy

  • September 2014

Stayed here for the Great North Run

Beautiful hotel and great location, just a shame the prices rocket for the Great North Run.

Our room was very nice with awesome views of the seafront. The bathroom was in need of an update but apart from that everything else was spot on!

  • C Eastwood

  • September 2014

The Grand

Stayed at hotel overnight on a Saturday.

The hotel is beautiful and in a spectacular position overlooking the beach. Unfortunately we stayed in a bedroom at the rear of the building where the walls were quite thin and we could hear the next bedrooms conversation amongst other things at 2.30 in the morning. There was a wedding party present and although we didn't hear the party the slamming of doors was an unwelcome disruption to our sleep. That said I would stay there again but would book a sea view room at the front of the building. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Jacky Smith

  • September 2014

A beautiful Grand Hotel.

A wonderful hotel, all the public areas were lovely & had obviously been recently refurbished, a real wow factor when you walk in, with that lovely staircase.

Bit disappointed with our room.... Wall paper & curtains tired & dated, I would have liked to have seen one of the refurbished rooms.... For the money I felt it was rather average.... Ate in the drawing room , staff lovely but my steak, rather tough.... Breakfast lovely, but we hit a busy spell & the service not great...... All staff very busy so not their fault. Location of Hotel amazing, views to die for, but not from our room.... We would give it another go though.

  • Elizabeth C

  • August 2014

Beautiful hotel

We love the position of this hotel, right on the seafront and the beautiful staircase and grand lounge feel really special.

Our room had been refurbished to a high standard and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - so nice to be served hot food to our table from a menu rather than a buffet. Tynemouth village has great independent shops and good bars and restaurants, the beach is great for walking and access to Newcastle is easy by car or metro.

  • B Davidson

  • July 2014

Impromptu break

Excellent hotel.

Clean room, good customer service and decent breakfast. Would definitely visit again.