No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Home from Home Bungalow

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
2a Warrington Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE3 2PU
This charming, family run self-catering bungalow has an area of over 250m2 and sleeps 4 adults + small child making it the best value accommodation in the area. Included with the booking are free wireless and wired internet access, a fully equipped kitchen, a conservatory, gardens and free driveway parking.

The bungalow is located at the head of a quiet cul-de-sac in a residential area close to the A1 between the airport and Newcastle city centre making it a perfect stopover for both business travellers and city visitors alike. Local shops and a metro (train) station are only 3 minute's walk away and a daytime taxi to the city centre costs about £7. The bungalow is decorated in modern neutral colours and comes complete with a 34" television, DVD player, individual bed linen, towels and all the usual refinements you would expect at home.

Staying with us gives you approx ten times the usable area compared to a similar priced hotel room.
Picture of Home from Home Bungalow, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic Home from Home
We booked this accommodation for the Great North Run as we wanted somewhere further out from the city center to ensure peace and quiet the night before the race.
It was a fantastic decision as this was located in a quiet area known as Fawden that was only a few minutes walk to shops and the Metro stop.
The bungalow was a clean, modern property and had everything you could possibly want for a weekend away. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
C McCarthy

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great choice for a weekend
Could not have asked for more.
Hotel rooms where the same price an we got a whole house to ourselves.
House was immaculate in everyway.
Will be going again in May for sure
Taxi fare was 10 into town between 4 ppl you can't complain.

Reviewed by
Jamie H

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay but needs some tlc
We booked the bungalow last minute to attend a family funeral and thought it would work better than a hotel for us and our young baby. The bungalow was okay but could be lovely with a bit of tlc. It was in a nice quiet location and well situated for us. It was spacious, warm and was clean. I couldn't fault the heating system and cold wasn't a problem. However, there were a few faults. The main oven didn't work so we had to use the top oven which was a bit too high up -I guess only an issue if you're petite! I tried to adjust the shower only to discover that it was precariously attached the the wall by a wobbly nail and was best left alone, so that could do with a little attention. We struggled to sleep on the mattress that had seen much better days and the springs were trying to escape through the sides (not sure they should advertise a memory foam mattress on the website when it was clearly not?).
The property served its purpose and allowed us the freedom to watch tv and have a glass of wine (all be it in our own purchased wine glasses!) and unwind whilst our little boy was in bed. Overall it was okay for the money we paid.

ManagementResponse

The oven was set to auto timer and needs to be set to manual (little hand symbol) to allow manual use of the bottom oven. The double bed is almost new (changed from the memory foam one which guests didn’t seem to like previously), but we have found the lumpy single mattress and will be changing it out this week along with the other small items. If you have any problems during your stay, please call the number provided.

Reviewed by
Lorraine L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The quality of the house was excellent, as the name suggests it felt like a real home as opposed to a hotel or B&B. The caretaker/cleaner was very helpful and accommodating and I cant thank him enough for making us feel welcome. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Hamza Jabir

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for The Metro Centre
All the accoutrements required for our stay, and quite comfortable.
They maybe need to clean under the beds!

Reviewed by
A G

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't go there
ghastly, dirty and awful.

Reviewed by
michael c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Bungalow
Visited Newcastle for christening of twin grandaughters. Lovely bungalow close to where we wanted to be.

Reviewed by
Peter Austen

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Good accomodation and having 3 children meant we did not have to have 2 rooms in a travelodge so worked out as decent value. Clean and tidy. If we were visiting the area longer as oppose to travelling on we would stay for a few nights longer and use as a base to view the North East.

Reviewed by
Stephen Lewis

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big bungalow in suburb of newcastle
It was a nice bungalow, bit dated but they did their best to make it homely and it had a nice yard. Big rooms and good beds, even a cot for our baby. Diningtable was made of glass though and less suited for small children. Also a highchair would have been useful. There was a supermarket close by and also a parking space.

Reviewed by
A Schut

From Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
It was a lovely stay. Totally value for money.
Few minor issues
1. Heater not adequate or was switched off with timer.
2. We could not switch on the tv
3. Had problem locking while checking out.
Overall good experience.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, to clarify: 1) Heating is controlled by thermostat in living room that needs to be turned to desired temperature 2) Main power for TV is a recessed button on right hand side of unit, then switch on via remote 3) When locking front door, handle needs to be pulled up then key turned If you get stuck using any of the items in the bungalow please call housekeeper on number given and she will help

Reviewed by
Sunil A

From wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next