No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, ideal price

Reviewed by
n kennedy

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
The carpet was stained. The bed was not very comfy. I went to bar for a meal and ordered steak (medium rare) with mushrooms served on salad. I got steak (well done) with no mushrooms and chips! It was changed but was the smallest steak ever, which was still over cooked, and salad was lettuce, three wedges of tomato, two slices cue and onion. This was supposed to be a special treat for me, I was very dissapointed :(

Reviewed by
C Hutchinson

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom was stifling hot, we could not open the window much to let some air in.
Facilities are fine for a stop over night. Tea and coffee making facilities are always welcome.
Bit of a delay in checking in.......only one person on desk. Car parking arrangements are good.
Would use again, this was our second stay. Ate in restaurant last time, but not this time.

Reviewed by
Mary A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was scruffy, basin in our room was cracked and the furniture was tired. We were told we couldn't book for the restaurant but it was less than a quarter full so we had a bar meal where the barman was more concerned with the football than the customers.

Reviewed by
Rodger A

From Ugijar, Spain
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Took the stress out of an early flight.We use frequently and good value with reasonable bar food prices.No complaints

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does what it says on the tin
for a short stay next to airport and not far form city centre it does the job. short walk to the terminal and to the mtro station into the city, easy to find with good car parking. Had some initial problems with key pass and later at bar with a bit of a wait but these were resolved by the staff with little fuss. breakfast was buffet style with good selection and was on par with most other hotels at this price. rooms again did the job, perfect for an overnight stay and good value. all staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Stuart T

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
The decor is dated and the hotel is a little scruffy in places. However my bed was comfy and clean. The staff were friendly the customer service was as good as any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. This hotel was amazing value for money and everything you need.

Reviewed by
Lucy P

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel taking tips from Ryanair!
Great location - a couple of minutes walk to the terminal at Newcastle Airport. Room clean and comfortable, if a little in need of updating. Unimpressed with policy on payments at Britannia Hotel - £2 extra for credit card and £0.50 for debit card - didn't ask how you actually get the published rate. I know it's not much but it leaves a bad taste...even Ryanair don't charge for debit card payments now...

Reviewed by
Nigel H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel looks "tired" - needs an update badly. Food mediocre - tough steak, dried out chips at dinner.
Breakfast was poor quality. Have stayed a few times over the years but will book at one of the newer hotels in the area.

Reviewed by
M Richardson

From Prestonpans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit Tired
Needs an update, but at the end of the day it is just a place to rest your head at the end or beginning of your Holiday.

Reviewed by
Tony B

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next