No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Great for stopover for airport.

Reviewed by
Alexander Savage

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a cheap one night
hotel dated no heating in room half the light bulbs didn't work but these were fixed third world television that kept jumping on and off steak in restaurant like leather

Reviewed by
alan g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General opinion
Very poor hotel with bad service from entering to leaving.
I had booked a double bedded room which was confirmed in writing.
I was given a 2 off single bedded room which when I pointed it out, the receptionisy just said "well thats all we have if you dont want it we cannot help you".
I asked to speak to the manager and the receptionist said that we could go into a smoking room (which I thought hotels were not allowed to have. I declined and asked to see the manager.
The receptionist suddenly found a double bedded room with bunk beds which we accepted. The manager came to see us but never apologised. He did say that he would speak to the person who had been on recepition that morning which meant nothing to us.
On going out and returning to the room, the key would not work to which the receptionist did apologise.
Generally a very poor room which had a leaking window allowing the cold wind in. Decor very poor.
Would not suggest any one to stay there.

Reviewed by
I Moore

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was ok for the brief overnight stay we wanted but did not sleep as the pillow was the most uncomfortable pillow I have ever laid on I cannot say slept as I was unable to

Reviewed by
MICHELLE T

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shambles

Reviewed by
roderick r

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's ok
Warm and comfortable - good value

Reviewed by
Nicholas D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time ever I've stayed in a hotel and dont feel like I've been ripped off.
So what that this isn't the most luxurious hotel with the biggest and best rooms. Its within 5 minutes walk of the airport terminal, loads of free parking spaces, a comfy bed, decent TV and Wi-Fi so what else do you need in a budget hotel. Plus the food is great value at really sensible prices and a special offer in the bar at £2 a pint :-) Will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Stuart Adair

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garbage
Restaurant run by 2 teenage girls who hadn't a clue what they were doing. Powdered soup, frozen fish and chips, chargrilled chicken was burnt. £50 for terrible meal. Room was clean but bed had a spring burst ?? Very tired décor and furnishings. Very disappointing start to our holidays, definitely wont stay there again.

Reviewed by
james moody

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired hotel in dire need of a significant facelift.
Too many small things that need attention such as our toilet roll holder being missing. Surely a simple thing to remedy. The overall first impression is that this hotel has been left in the past when comparing it with the Hilton not 500 meters from it. The decor is lacklustre on the outside. Not too bad on the inside but it was like a Mary Celest when we stayed. We even used the Hilton bar as it had more atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok Rooms with poor customer service
I arrived at 2100,the receptionist was nice and friendly and she booked me in for breakfast the following morning.The Room was clean and tidy but old and a little tired. I went for a beer, prices were fine, went back to my room for a shower, had no hot water.
Had an early flight but decided to have breakfast. I went down at 0620 and was told to wait until 0630 when it would start. By 0640 there was still no hot food out and I had to leave to be in time to check in. I will be asking for a refund.

Reviewed by
M Irving

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next