No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We booked in last minute, just a couple of hours before we arrived. Helpful friendly staff, pleasant room, enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
aly s

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we always stay here when we fly from n/castle,if it's available[ie.not northern run.Fully booked].
as above,geriatric,not typing again.

Reviewed by
J Willis

From Newton Stewart, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor management
On arrival at hotel the duty manager could only find 1 booking , showed booking for 2 rooms . Asked for a quiet room , but was put next to the service lift and fire doors . I had been working for 22 hours and was only in bed 2 hours when all this noise from the lifts , doors banging ect . Also we had a power cut and could not get a shower or washed , as we were in the dark . Spoke to the duty manager who really did not want to know and only offered a apology . Very very poor service skills .
Very unhappy customer

Reviewed by
Alexander Wallace

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff are the only redeeming quality of the Britannia Hotel at Newcastle airport. The hotel is very dated, furniture is shabby and worn in the bedroom and the public areas. The restaurant closed at 9pm and didn't seem to open for lunch the following day. Bar food was adequate. From the toilet the black mould at the back of the overflow was quite visible. There was no fridge available for the room. I had requested a quiet room. If this was a quiet room there was a constant hum from machinery throughout the night. The manual call to neighbouring rooms in the small hours of the morning was effective. In woke me up in time to catch their flight! The water was tepid, not hot and the room was far too warm with no temperature control. The walls in the room were scuffed, marked and looked dirty. The furniture was scratched, marked, old fashioned and without handles. There was no plug adjacent to the mirror, so thank you for the hairdryer, which was a nice touch but do something about the sockets please. Do this well located hotel up - I would pay more for a modern, fresh hotel. Give an option of mini bars perhaps, have more than bar snacks available for guests and do a more extensive vegetarian option. The Vegetarian Society in Liverpool could help you with this. Finally all your staff were amazing. One genuinely felt that nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
C Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
I arrived at 1am after a long drive and check in was simple and quick. I was staying just one night and needed to check out at 8am so I chose a cheap hotel knowing I wouldn't be there long! It was a nice enough room, bed, bathroom, tv, toilettries, hairdryer etc. Just the basics I needed for my short stay. Breakfast was fairly extensive too.

Reviewed by
R Coleridge-Smith

From Preston, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bunch of liars work here
Bed was bursting with springs and room was freezing so asked for a spare duvet and they said they had none so gave us a heater from the 80's that stunk the room out so had to turn that off and later that same evening walked past a store room FULL of spare blankets.. Werent allowed to check out with refund when we'd been there 20 mins and saw the state of the room, glasses and bottles littered the corridors, noisy workers and guests all over and the receptionist when leaving clearly didnt have a clue what customer service was.. Absolutely hated my stay and paid £55 for that!!! Disgraceful place they need a serious overhaul or shutting down...

Reviewed by
Robyn L

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Issues with hot water with unhelpful staff and still waiting for manager response
The hotel started off well, with a friendly booking in process and calling us a taxi. On returning to the room we found it to be cold turned up the radiator and in the morning found the room still cold and no hot water, called reception reported the problem where we told to wait ten minutes we did this four times and still no hot water by this time we where running late, we where told we could use a another room to shower in at time but by this time it was too late. We requested some sort of refund as we were unable to get ready effiecently in the morning as was one of the main purposes of booking into to hotel and were just messed about but where only offered a 10% discount the manager was supposed to get in touch to discuss but has failed to do so I will be complaining directly to hotel

Reviewed by
E Robinson

From Stanley, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for an early flight
We booked this hotel as we had a very early flight out of Newcastle Airport and needed to be somewhere close. Receptionist a bit 'grumpy'!The hotel was ideal; took two minutes to walk across with our cases. The accomodation was basic but functional. The bedroom was fine but the bathroom could have done with improving plus the water was only luke warm. There was no noise at all despite being so close to the terminal. We didn't eat but had a drink in the bar which was comfortable with exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitley stay there again.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Whitley Bay, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Run down

Reviewed by
M Horncastle

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7