No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room at excellent price
Basic room at an excellent price. Receptionist very helpful and friendly when we arrived late in the evening, quickly checked us in and explained the arrangements for breakfast. Room on the small side and a little tired but didn't concern us. During the UK heatwave we found the room was on the warm side and the window didn't open fully but the mattress was very comfy which made up for it. Would stay here again if we we're in the area.

Reviewed by
Jeremy B

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not particularly cheerful
Booked it as it was the cheapest hotel we could fins in newcastle and we literally only needed a bed.
however we were surprised with the cleanliness, we werent expecting the Ritz, but a clean room would have been nice.
Used tooth brushes left in the bathroom, and empty milk cartons next to the kettle not ideal.
But, it was cheap.

Reviewed by
Rachel E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room was a bit dated and probably needed a paint job but the staff were very helpful and I requested a room near the reception and got one no problem. I have stayed here before with my husband and we had the dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine special offer which was great value at £55 for the two of us. I would have to say that this hotel is the best value in town.

Reviewed by
E Donohue

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice!!
We were due in to Newcastle airport at 1:25am. Contacted the hotel and they were fine with the late check in. Ended up being delayed and didn't arrive until 5am. Hotel is right at the airport which is a plus and the desk clerk was fantastic! The check in was efficient and the staff is very polite and helpful. Managed to get 4 hours sleep and breakfast. Bed really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Shower was fine.
The only drawback is how hot the room was. We had the radiator/heat off and the window open and we were absolutely roasting - felt like being back in Turkey :)

Reviewed by
Isabelle D

From Canada
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhappy
Hotel was OK but the deal was not!!!!!!

Reviewed by
E Kenyon

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suggestions
Noisy door fittings cause disturbance especially at night and early mornings
Some form of noise reduction of door slamming recomended

Reviewed by
chris b

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, provided excellent service for the group
Nice tidy rooms, abit dated and very old style tv no freeview, shower/bath was gd not the rubbish electric showers but nice powerful shower...... Could have done with air conditioning as when I went as it was hot at side it got slightly uncomfortable but staff willing to provide fans etc..... Served the purpose though nice place to sleep nice washroom and decent breakfast too!! Probably not the place for the snobby type your typical "mrs bucket" type haha!!

Reviewed by
J Young

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and grungy
Great welcome - terrible rooms. After looking at the 1st stale old room, I asked to see another. It was better, but still grubby and worn - peeling paint, curtains that I could see through in some places - generally falling apart, and in need of a thorough cleaning. It's just outside the airport, but so is the rail to go directly into the city - which is what I highly recommend doing.

Reviewed by
Laura R

From Canada
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This looked like a shed
I have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world but this was the worse what a rip off in every way I had a meal in the hotel one night I was I'll all night do not stay in this place as they are more interested in the car park than the hotel

Reviewed by
C Sexton

From Newcastle west , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After-flight stay
Arrived at 3.00am to be greeted by the two cheerful and helpful night porters. Always a pleasure to see them. Room 3 allocated. Beds Comfortable but the duvets are too small for the beds and my 6 feet tall husband suffered from cold feet all night. The bathroom light failed to work in the morning.

Reviewed by
Esther F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next