No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ
A modern, 3 storey hotel, within 3 miles of Newcastle Airport. Offering 105 tastefully decorated and fully furnished bedrooms all with en-suite, TV, Hairdryer, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant, The Old Ragoon serving Continental and Traditional dishes including an a la carte menu for those wanting to treat themselves. The Cocktail Bar is more relaxed and serves lighter bites throughout the day until late evening. Thanks to our 24 hour room service guests can order light meals and drinks.

The hotel also features six Conference rooms available for any occasion and accommodates up to 400 people. This is ideal place for Business and Leisure guests alike. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The Britannia Airport Hotel is ON SITE at Newcastle Airport & does not offer a transfer service. If assistance is required getting to the airport, which is a 3 minute walk, please ask at reception on arrival at the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend re-union in Edinburgh
Basic accomodation - good breakfast - inexpensive and fair value. V friendly staff and welcome.

Reviewed by
N Naish

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Satisfactory for one night stay for business.
A little difficult to find hotel (poorly sign posted)

Reviewed by
j hodgson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst hotels i have stayed at.
When we arrived it was later than planned as our flight had been delayed. The receptionist looked like she could not be bothered by did give us our key and tell us what time breakfast was though not where, we followed the noise from the lobby the next morning. Our room was small with very old chipped furniture. The bathroom was small but the worst bit was that someone had used the toilet but not flushed it, not the greatest thing to find and had it not been so late I would have gone down to complain. The bed was clean and at least we could make a cup of coffee though there we no biscuits and it was to late for food had we been willing to pay 10.95 for a burger on it's own. As I had booked early the English breakfast was only £7.50, the coffee machine broke and the bacon and sausage tasted like the cheapest economy options. The waitress was very helpful. I have to travel to Newcastle, again on business this week and I am very glad that I do not have to stay at this hotel!

Reviewed by
K whitehead

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fairly good
breakfast could start earlier for people with early flights

Reviewed by
k taylor

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Btitannia Hotel, Newcastle Airport
Having booked into the Britannia Hotel at Newcastle Airport I found the hotel very poor.
From the moment of checking in the girl on the reception was sharp and abrupt, not friendly to be honest the impression I got was not interested!!
The rooms in the brochure show a refurbishment to be honest we stayed in room 228 dirty, small, tired, poor beds, bunk beds stuck in room, curtains dropping off!!
The only good thing about the stay was the breakfast on the morning of departure was nice.
Would not recommend to anyone this hotel as quite honestly they cant be bothered!!

Reviewed by
David Edwards

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stayed for one night but were very pleased that we were allowed to bring our dog who was receiving treatment at a veterinary hospital in Northumberland. Very good value for money and the only slight drawback was the heat in the room, with no Air Con or windows that opened onto the outside.

Reviewed by
Yvonne A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room at excellent price
Basic room at an excellent price. Receptionist very helpful and friendly when we arrived late in the evening, quickly checked us in and explained the arrangements for breakfast. Room on the small side and a little tired but didn't concern us. During the UK heatwave we found the room was on the warm side and the window didn't open fully but the mattress was very comfy which made up for it. Would stay here again if we we're in the area.

Reviewed by
Jeremy B

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not particularly cheerful
Booked it as it was the cheapest hotel we could fins in newcastle and we literally only needed a bed.
however we were surprised with the cleanliness, we werent expecting the Ritz, but a clean room would have been nice.
Used tooth brushes left in the bathroom, and empty milk cartons next to the kettle not ideal.
But, it was cheap.

Reviewed by
Rachel E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room was a bit dated and probably needed a paint job but the staff were very helpful and I requested a room near the reception and got one no problem. I have stayed here before with my husband and we had the dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine special offer which was great value at £55 for the two of us. I would have to say that this hotel is the best value in town.

Reviewed by
E Donohue

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice!!
We were due in to Newcastle airport at 1:25am. Contacted the hotel and they were fine with the late check in. Ended up being delayed and didn't arrive until 5am. Hotel is right at the airport which is a plus and the desk clerk was fantastic! The check in was efficient and the staff is very polite and helpful. Managed to get 4 hours sleep and breakfast. Bed really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Shower was fine.
The only drawback is how hot the room was. We had the radiator/heat off and the window open and we were absolutely roasting - felt like being back in Turkey :)

Reviewed by
Isabelle D

From Canada
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next