Reviews - Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport


Woolsington, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE13 8DJ

Price From 70.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (45)

56% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephen W

  • October 2014

A very tired hotel in dire need of a significant facelift.

Too many small things that need attention such as our toilet roll holder being missing.

Surely a simple thing to remedy. The overall first impression is that this hotel has been left in the past when comparing it with the Hilton not 500 meters from it. The decor is lacklustre on the outside. Not too bad on the inside but it was like a Mary Celest when we stayed. We even used the Hilton bar as it had more atmosphere.

  • M Irving

  • September 2014

Ok Rooms with poor customer service

I arrived at 2100,the receptionist was nice and friendly and she booked me in for breakfast the following morning.The Room was clean and tidy but old and a little tired.

I went for a beer, prices were fine, went back to my room for a shower, had no hot water. Had an early flight but decided to have breakfast. I went down at 0620 and was told to wait until 0630 when it would start. By 0640 there was still no hot food out and I had to leave to be in time to check in. I will be asking for a refund.

  • c easterbrook

  • August 2014

I have stopped at this hotel previously on a few occasions when my daughter has been in hospital and was very pleased with how reasonable and flexible the hotel was with us when we had to add days on when my daughter needed to stay in longer than first thought

  • Donald G

  • August 2014

Good value for money

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff from reception to Bar to Room Service - all first class.

If I was going to be picky, the electrical appliances within the room (No 18) need some urgent attention. Only the bathroom and one light working and the hair dryer out of service. Otherwise, a comfortable room with a really good bed. Thank you Britannia I will be back!

  • n kennedy

  • August 2014

Friendly staff, ideal price

  • Mary A

  • August 2014

Bedroom was stifling hot, we could not open the window much to let some air in.

Facilities are fine for a stop over night. Tea and coffee making facilities are always welcome. Bit of a delay in checking in.......only one person on desk. Car parking arrangements are good. Would use again, this was our second stay. Ate in restaurant last time, but not this time.

  • Julie B

  • July 2014

value for money

Took the stress out of an early flight.We use frequently and good value with reasonable bar food prices.No complaints

  • C Hutchinson

  • July 2014


The carpet was stained.

The bed was not very comfy. I went to bar for a meal and ordered steak (medium rare) with mushrooms served on salad. I got steak (well done) with no mushrooms and chips. It was changed but was the smallest steak ever, which was still over cooked, and salad was lettuce, three wedges of tomato, two slices cue and onion. This was supposed to be a special treat for me, I was very dissapointed :(

  • Rodger A

  • July 2014

Hotel was scruffy, basin in our room was cracked and the furniture was tired.

We were told we couldn't book for the restaurant but it was less than a quarter full so we had a bar meal where the barman was more concerned with the football than the customers.

  • Stuart T

  • July 2014

does what it says on the tin

for a short stay next to airport and not far form city centre it does the job.

short walk to the terminal and to the mtro station into the city, easy to find with good car parking. Had some initial problems with key pass and later at bar with a bit of a wait but these were resolved by the staff with little fuss. breakfast was buffet style with good selection and was on par with most other hotels at this price. rooms again did the job, perfect for an overnight stay and good value. all staff very helpful and friendly.