You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

4

Pingewood, Reading, Reading, RG30 3UN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (37)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nick A

  • July 2016

Half hotel - half burnt-out shell!

I arrived to be treated to the view of the burnt out shell caused by a fire in Jan.

It is now July and no work has started nor is the it mentioned in booking information. The hotel is clearly working on a skeleton staff, presumably due to lack of business. As a result there is never anyone around to order food and drinks from during the day.

The place is like the Marie Celeste - there is more atmosphere on the moon that at this hotel. Finally my room had a shower that ran like a tap - useless. I got the distinct impression that it had been like this for a while and wasn't going to be fixed anytime soon. My advice is to wait until the much needed refurb of both the fire damaged wing and the 'tired' open wing is carried out before booking this hotel.

  • Chris W

  • July 2016

Tired Hotel

Warm room with no Windows, only Door with no 'stay' so left to flap around in the wind.

TV remote control was filthy, the worlds noisiest extractor fan on a par with concorde,stank of cigarette smoke. generally old and could do with the rest of the building burning down!!!

  • hugh b

  • June 2016

Faulty Towers

  • Martyn K

  • April 2016

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

Great location but very, no very run down hotel, certainly not a 4 star more like 2 star.

Seems a shame to say the truth because there could be so much potential in this hotel. Also the link road to greenpark and brook drive is no longer open.

  • L Harrison

  • December 2015

The hotel is in an attractive, lake-side location but it is in desperate need of refurbishment.

The room we stayed in was tired and the bathroom, in particular, was poor.

The pipe work and taps were rusting and there was some sort of duct tape on the towel rail. The door itself seemed to be damaged, possibly by water or just age.

The room itself was basic. The tv on the wall was so small you had to sit on the end of the bed to watch it. The bed mattress was uncomfortable and caused you to roll together In the middle. The pillows were old too. The general decor was below what you would expect. The breakfast choice was fair but the quality wasn't. Both accommodation and breakfast were poor value for money.

  • Maria M

  • October 2015

Last minute beauty

I found myself and my partner in crime stuck in reading.

When I decided to use LateRooms.com and found this lovely hotel on the list, it's not anywhere near the to an centre. But I could not have asked for a better atmosphere from the lake to the service provided from the staff.

It was such a shame we could not find a clear path (such as a pavement) to be able to go for a walk around the lake that the hotel has a beautiful view of.

Overall, lovely room but a window to open instead of a door for overnight would have been nice as we got too warm in the room.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A calm and relaxing environment.

Very good value for money especially last minute. Such a shame the don't have a spa that would have put the cherry on top!

  • sara L

  • October 2015

Great stay

Staff made this a great stay.

Nice room. Little tired but a great view

  • Matthew l

  • October 2015

What a setting

In its day this must have been a beautiful hotel.

Someone needs to buy & refurb this place & it would be amazing

  • H Stimson

  • October 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

Receptionist good.

Dining staff poor, they seemed disinterested, spent time on their mobile phones. Poor communication skills . Food only just satisfactory, some of the breakfast items were cold. We had to ask for plates. Not good enough considering the cost of the room.

  • Annette B

  • September 2015

Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

Awful place.

Toilet didn't flush. Kettle never boiled. Will never return.