Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Reading > Burghfield Hotels > Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pingewood, Reading , Reading, RG30 3UN
Reading Lake Hotel is truly a unique hotel, set on a spectacular 33 acre lake, situated approximately 1.5 Miles from Junction 11, M4 and 4 Miles from the Madejski Stadium the hotel is popular with both business & leisure guests.

Following the completion of a £2million refurbishment in July 2006 the 4 Star Reading Lake Hotel offers complimentary car parking and spacious accommodation, with each bedroom having their own private balcony. Bedroom facilities include TV (pay per view), mini-bar, in-room safe and Complimentary internet access via broadband.

The Waterfront Lounge and Bar is open daily until late and the Lakeside Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The hotel also offers 24hour room service.

All bedrooms and public areas are non-smoking.
Picture of Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was poor. served with overcooked mushrooms,
The rooms need refurbishing and regular dusting as ours was smelling of dust and the bath tub was not draining freely,

Reviewed by
Christine O

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accomadation was quiet welcoming and warm, just what we needed after a busy day.

Reviewed by
J Leach

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standard of room and service, nice location. Wanted food at lunch time but could only order a sandwich which was expensive, other options would have been appreciated. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend and will use this hotel again

Reviewed by
Jane T

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel and not posh
Dinner was lovely but the breakfast was a slight let down.Other than that it was a lovely hotel,lovely setting and the swan on the mist covered lake in the morning was magical.

Reviewed by
m short

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down dated hotel
Hotel in need of updating. Obviously problem recently with flooding rooms smelt damp especially bathroom. No warning restaurant closed so limited menu had to sit in bar area to eat should have been a note on web site as I would not have booked this hotel staff lacking in knowledge of food being served and not eager to serve, walked out of bar area in morning having waited to be served for 10 minutes for a coffee would not return.

Reviewed by
C Gunn

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little dated. I would suggest the hotel was taken over from the Copthrone Group and the rooms havent been referbed yet. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic requirements ok but showing a lack of investment
The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the public areas are smart. The room décor is looking tired and the internet access was virtually unusable it was so slow and only via cable as no wifi available in the room. The TV was from the last century. The location is attractive but a bit of a trek on narrow lanes. At the reduce price I paid I felt is was ok but if I had paid standard room rate I would have felt disappointed.

Reviewed by
James K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location but the hotel was shabby and in bad need of updating. Rooms were basic with worn fittings. We booked on the basis of the four star rating but sadly the hotel deserves two stars at most so don't go looking for luxury. A disappointing stay.

Reviewed by
Tiffany S

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location - could use some improvements
We had difficulty getting to the hotel due to local flooding. The building itself is very interesting. My room had a balcony that overlooked the lake that featured swans, ducks and other birds. It's a beautiful and secluded location.
It was pretty cold, but a space heater took the chill out of the air. The room was cleaned daily.
The walls are very thin and active neighbors can prevent a full nights sleep. The restaurant attendees were not overly friendly during my stay. While the food was very good, the customer service was a bit lacking in comparison to other hotels. For example when I asked for a cup I was told to go get one off from another table and when I sat at a table that didn't have silverware on it the waitress acted offended.
It was also a pain to use wifi as you couldn't get it in your room, but had to go to the public areas of the hotel. There was a cable for a slow network connection which was free of charge.

Reviewed by
Mel P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not what you expext from this hotel
I hd no ironoing board in the room, and when asked for one (which I had to do by walking to recpertion as no phone in theroom!) They said they would get one - half an later it didn't arrive. We gave up. Lovely big room, great view. Bathroom needs updating but for 99 pounds great value.

Reviewed by
Annie S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next