Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Berkshire > Reading > Burghfield Hotels > Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Pingewood, Reading , Reading, RG30 3UN
Reading Lake Hotel is truly a unique hotel, set on a spectacular 33 acre lake, situated approximately 1.5 Miles from Junction 11, M4 and 4 Miles from the Madejski Stadium the hotel is popular with both business & leisure guests.

Following the completion of a £2million refurbishment in July 2006 the 4 Star Reading Lake Hotel offers complimentary car parking and spacious accommodation, with each bedroom having their own private balcony. Bedroom facilities include TV (pay per view), mini-bar, in-room safe and Complimentary internet access via broadband.

The Waterfront Lounge and Bar is open daily until late and the Lakeside Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The hotel also offers 24hour room service.

All bedrooms and public areas are non-smoking.
Picture of Reading Lake Hotel - Formerly the Copthorne Reading, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business travel
After the journey from hell, I finally arrived to be greeted by a very smart but pleasantly happy receptionist. check in was a breeze and everything explained clearly. the room was clean and had a view of the lake, the room itself was a little dated BUT was clean and comfortable. The staff at the bar were excellent, really polite even managed to have a chat to the chef about our motorbike days which added to the relaxing atmosphere. it was a pleasant stay and all I can say really is that the rooms could do with updating. I will book again.

Reviewed by
1 Cook

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
The hotel is starting to look a bit tired and dated, they have fantastic views over the lakes from some rooms which is probably what is keeping things afloat. I got the room for half price through laterooms and wouldn't consider paying full price for this accommodation. the wall paper is starting to peel off and the electric heater clicks away all night long, so the choice is to be cold or listen to the heater expanding and contracting all night.

Reviewed by
R Stevens

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit tired
Hotel was tired, taps in the bathroom were very loose, with broken tiles and seals .but it is the end of the season. Can not fault the breakfast or the service in the morning

Reviewed by
Ron C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The hotel was very clean and tidy. We had a beautiful view across the lake and everyone who we came in contact with was very helpful with any questions we had.
The only thing to let the hotel down was the bathroom. The bathroom looked very old and needed modernising asap. apart from that the room was very nice and spacious

Reviewed by
Louise Farmer

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reading Lake Hotel
Out of the way and in a beautiful setting, convenient for Reading. Bar and Restaurant areas not defined, evening food minimal choices but food excellent. Breakfast poor value - not much choice and Bacon very overcooked. Looks like a good Hotel doing badly.

Reviewed by
Ross B

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
I found it to be very peaceful and good value for money, loved the food and staff were very helpful.the rooms could do with abit of maintenance but overall very clean. Great view

Reviewed by
K Maina

From Oxford, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay
This hotel is a hidden gem. We were delighted with our stay there. The restaurant could be busier but that was the only thing. The lake is amazing. Rooms clean, location is great. This will be my hotel for Reading from now on

Reviewed by
C Anderton-Bell

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, staff and cleanliness let it down massively!
Absolutely loved the scenery, location was great!
Staff were rude, the chef was awful and had an awful attitude towards us when we asked why it was taking more than an hour for our food he had a paddy and a disgusting attitude towards his guests! The staff seemed like they had no customer service skills whatsoever!!
The room was average but was very dirty in the bathroom and the hotel phone was disgusting!
The balcony and the lake were the best parts
I would only stay here again if the hotel changed hands to a more professional name and had a complete make over - including the staff!

Reviewed by
Amy M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Good clean hotel. Will go back again if it is not too expensive

Reviewed by
dan v

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next