No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Barcelona Universal

Av. Paral-lel, 76-80 , Barcelona, 08001

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Barcelona Universal Hotel is very close to Las Ramblas, the Fira de Barcelona, the Gothic Quarter and the Old Port. Although there is no need to take the underground to go to the centre, as you can get there on foot, there is an underground stop just in front of the hotel that will bring you to any part of the city. There is a touristic bus stop near the Hotel. Also, bus number 24, which goes straight to Park Guell (Gaudi's Park), stops in front of the Hotel.

The Barcelona Universal Hotel has 167 modern rooms and 3 suites with private terrace and Jacuzzi. We also offer 4 fully-equipped conference rooms and a floor with rooms that can be used as personal offices, private parking and a Business Centre with free internet access (broadband and wireless).

The Hotel offers WIFI free of charge in all areas and rooms. Also in the rooms exists the possibility of using broadband internet connection free of charge.

The hotel also boasts a gym, an outdoor pool, and a solarium that offers extraordinary views of Barcelona.

Discover the unforgettable Rambla, or go for a stroll along Port Vell, through the Gothic Neighbourhood and explore the Liceu Opera House, the Catalan Music Palace, the Cathedral, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic, the Caixa Forum, the Grec Theater, the Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion or the Olympic Stadium. Also nearby are the World Trade Centre, the Fira de Barcelona and the Palau de Congressos, key spots for business activities in the city.
Picture of Hotel Barcelona Universal, Barcelona at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
Good location and comfortable room. Excellent customer service throughout the stay from all members of staff. There was a broken glass under one of the beds which could have caused an injury. The pool is quite small but the overall atmosphere was one of calm. I would happily recommend to friends particularly for a weekend city break.

Reviewed by
A Byrd

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Good location for visiting the city.
Breakfast poor.

Reviewed by
Alun R

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel easy access to the city will stay again

Reviewed by
c rees

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend in Barcelona. The hotel was first class. Easy access and added bonus of a balcony.

Reviewed by
S Parry

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
This hotel is in a great location, just a 15 minute walk from Las Ramblas and with a metro station right outside the door.
We ordered a double room and were given a twin but we asked to swap the next day and the staff were very helpful and swapped us no problem.
The room was clean and spacious. The hotel provide free wifi and are on hand to give information on local attractions.
We didn't use the gym or pool and neither did we eat there.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Sian Green

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but rubbish bed
Great value and close to all the main sights with very friendly staff. Nice room and bathroom, only issue was the bed was too short, too small for 2 adults and very very uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
E Roscoe

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, central location ,definately stay there again

Reviewed by
Rachel Bales

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for city break / cruise from Barcelona
A straight-forward quality hotel, perfect location if you are cruising from Barcelona, as only 5 mins walk to the shuttle buses and Columbus monument. Very good restaurant with a great breakfast and evening menu choice.

Reviewed by
John W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Great hotel, reception staff really helpful and informative. Only downside was no outside view from the room

Reviewed by
marion c

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barcelona GP
Stayed her for 3 nights while we were going to the F1 GP & were not the only ones!! Nice hotel Good location but without the hussle of it all being on your doorstep. Nice rooftop view of the city with the pool! Lower level room came with a balcony, which was nice, but the view was the back of a block of flats so..!! Overall a nice hotel, if i had any issue would be the price was a bit on the steep side, but maybe that was linked to the wk end events and F1 being in town!!

Reviewed by
L Armstrong

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next