BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3

St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Graeme S

  • June 2015

Returning britts

My more recent experiences have been in Austrailia where the presence of a mini bari in the room is normal,otherwise all is well.

  • Jacquie J

  • April 2015

Easter break

We have stayed here several time and like the location , the breakfast and the room.

The parking isn't ideal, but there is room in front of the hotel to drop off etc and staff are helpful with directions etc.

  • S Burn

  • April 2015

Fabulous refurbished rooms tastefully done

The Monkbar is undergoing a major refurb and the disruption to the guests have been minimal, I think they have done a brilliant job.

  • Sharon Taylor

  • March 2015

Had a great time, staff couldn't of been more helpful, excellent value for money

Excellent staff, couldn't help enough.

Rooms were lovely, a bit of noise from outside during the night but our rooms were main roadside, and I am a fairly light sleeper. Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice, everyone was catered for, including my daughter who has coeliac. The hotel is right in the heart of York, so no walking for miles after a hard days shopping,. Would highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely use again A*****

  • Jane G

  • February 2015

Weekend break

Lovely weekend break in York.

On arrival our room didn't have a shower and when requested a room change this was quickly arranged. Breakfast was superb with the full variety expected.

  • susan moss

  • January 2015

Stayed for my 70th birthday

exellent hotel, lovely refurbished room.

very helpful and attentive staff. would stay again.

  • Jeffrey T

  • January 2015

Simple, but suited our needs

Our room and bathroom were simply furnished but exactly what we needed for a short stopover close to York city centre.

It was clean, comfy, provided tea and coffee, internet access and Freeview TV. Car Parking was available at a well discounted price within 200 yards. Luggage pick up and drop off at the door. I would willingly stay here again.

  • david myers

  • January 2015

2 nights in a row the food we ordered was no longer available !.

Could not fault the room the bed was really comfortable

  • Anthony H

  • January 2015

Wifi didn't work upstairs in the bedroom and a few problems with the heating in the bedroom but in general a nice hotel, with pleasant helpful staff, situated just outside of the walls, across the street from the main attractions, shops and cafes of York.

  • Brian M

  • January 2015

Great location; tired rooms

Couldn't wish for better location just outside the walls.

Restaurant and bar staff very helpful and friendly with good breakfast in both quality and selection. Rooms need updating and bathroom very much so. Sadly the 'king size' bed was 2 large singles, badly put together with a big ridge and a dip in the middle. Good size room and lots of drawer space but floor creaked to high heaven. On the whole pretty average apart from breakfast.