No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel in the heart of York - ideally situated we are the perfect choice for exploring this vibrant, historic and award-winning city. Recently voted European Tourism City of the Year York is full of world-class attractions, distinctive shopping, festivals and events. You'll find it a year round destination.

Whether you're planning a large event for 140 or Sunday lunch for 2 our range of meeting & function rooms will be able to cater for you. We have a civil license so you can enjoy your wedding day with us from start to finish and our restaurant offers a seasonal British menu. We are a very relaxed hotel where we make all our customers feel special in a home from home environment.

All of our 99 bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms offer FREE WIFI Internet access so you can keep in touch during your stay.
We are pleased to offer complimentary on-site limited car parking for your convenience.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel good location

Reviewed by
S Wright

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff.There was a light in the room not working when we arrived but it was very quickly dealt with.

Reviewed by
Anne N

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive
All the staff are very professional, helpful and chatty. The hotel was lovely, clean and bright the only small problem was the road noise. The room was hot during the night and when the window was opened the traffic noise from the front of the building was too much to sleep through but, the staff gave us a fan which enabled us to close the window and we then had a good night’s sleep. This was by far not a show stopper for us and we will go back sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
D Deas

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
We have stayed at the hotel twice in 3 weeks. It is clean, comfortable and the breakfast is very good

Reviewed by
C Donovan

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good stay
I stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a large selection on offer. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
A Mitchell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we had was a family room which was a good size the bed was huge we have stayed at this hotel now on several occasions & have never been disappointed the breakfast is always excellent the staff are very helpful as well we will definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Lorna M

From Dalbeattie, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Second time we have stay here this year . Room was lovely and clean , Breakfast was very good , loads to choose from and nice and hot . Will be staying again soon

Reviewed by
D Turner

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location. Very good value and lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Barry P

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
Very pleasant hotel, would happily stay here again

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very good accommodation friendly staff enjoyable stay would recommend a visit to this hotel! If staying in York again would book this hotel excellent !!!

Reviewed by
Janine A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next