No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant Stay
Stayed for the third time at the Monkbar. Really like this hotel with pleasant staff, comfortable surroundings and good location. Was not overly impressed by the quality of the breakfast on this occasion but otherwise fine.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Central Location
Hotel ideally situated just a few minutes from York Minster, shops, pubs and resteraunts. Staff were all friendly and professional. Free car parking, so a change from most other hotels in the area. The hotel itself is pleasant but don't expect the Ritz. Rooms were fairly small and basic but clean. Would stay in this hotel again, due to its excellent location.

Reviewed by
S Henshall

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Valentines Break.
Fantastic location for sight seeing York and having a free car park was a bonus, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room clean and tidy, breakfast was substantial, we didn't eat in the evening but wished we had. Would certainly reccomend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Andrew Hose

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Breakfasts!
We stayed here to celebrate our Anniversary and Valentines day. The Hotel was far better than I expected after reading some of the reviews on here. It was very clean, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable with good quality bed linen and pillows, we had lovely white fluffy towels on both days. The bathroom is equipped with pump action shower gels and hand wash, soap and showercaps so no need to take any of your own. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, I couldnt have cooked it better myself! On our first morning i was feeling tired so my husband went for breakfast alone while i had a lie in. He returned with a large tray, an (enomous!) cooked breakfast, toast, tea and fresh orange. The staff had allowed him to bring the tray to the room when he asked, nothing was a problem. Also when we arrived their was an anniversary card and chocolates from the staff, as I had mentioned it was our anniversary when booking. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel, there are numerous bars, cafes amd restaurants, and all the amazing sights that York has to offer are all within walking distance. Definitely will be returning soon

Reviewed by
Gillian R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another very enjoyable stay
The Monkbar is a lovely hotel and there is nothing too much trouble for the staff who are helpful, courteous and professional. Although it is on a main road, my room was quiet as it overlooked the courtyard. It was a double, well lit, clean and comfortable.
on this visit I only had breakfast which was plentiful. On previous visits I have had dinner which I would have done this time if I hadn't been invited out to friends. The Early Bird is good value

Reviewed by
Diana L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small cold room
Room 62 must be the coldest room in the hotel in an upper cold wing of the hotel, we found the room small and the heating not working in the room or the corridor also an open door to the outside car park did not help.I would recommend the hotel but not this room.

Reviewed by
ian m

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4th stay here
Great hotel, very relaxed and friendly. Free onsite parking, fantastic location. Good bar food, substantial breakfast, can't comment on dinner as we didn't eat there. This was our 4th stay and we'll go back again.

Reviewed by
Sheila B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, very good, free parking appreciated. Staff faultless. Provision of room facilities good.
The room was adjacent to the lift and noisy, we would not stay in a similar room ever again. We would book the Monkbar Hotel again provided the room was not adjacent to the lift.

Reviewed by
Angela Heap

From Blackburn, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location of the Hotel is perfect for visiting York

Reviewed by
P Newton

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite
Excellent hotel in excellent location. However, room 32 was let down very badly by unrepaired holes in what appear to be cheap fitted cupboards, and we were unable to use the shower as the pressure of water forced the shower head from its fitting, spraying water everywhere, and the bath taps were so stiff they were very difficult to turn on and off. This was pointed out to reception when we left, so we hope the faults have been remedied.

Reviewed by
John K

From Durham, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next