No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel in the heart of York - ideally situated we are the perfect choice for exploring this vibrant, historic and award-winning city. Recently voted European Tourism City of the Year York is full of world-class attractions, distinctive shopping, festivals and events. You'll find it a year round destination.

Whether you're planning a large event for 140 or Sunday lunch for 2 our range of meeting & function rooms will be able to cater for you. We have a civil license so you can enjoy your wedding day with us from start to finish and our restaurant offers a seasonal British menu. We are a very relaxed hotel where we make all our customers feel special in a home from home environment.

All of our 99 bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms offer FREE WIFI Internet access so you can keep in touch during your stay.
We are pleased to offer complimentary on-site limited car parking for your convenience.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite
Excellent hotel in excellent location. However, room 32 was let down very badly by unrepaired holes in what appear to be cheap fitted cupboards, and we were unable to use the shower as the pressure of water forced the shower head from its fitting, spraying water everywhere, and the bath taps were so stiff they were very difficult to turn on and off. This was pointed out to reception when we left, so we hope the faults have been remedied.

Reviewed by
John K

From Durham, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 54 in need of update and sound proofing!
We stayed for 1 night ( thank god). We were in room 54, it was dated decor and in need of a revamp. Bathroom is in need of some work and a good clean. Shower needs sorting as the power nearly knocks you off your feet. The noise from above and below was horrendous. Sheet were stained on the bed and just the whole room was grubby and unclean.
We had a bar meal and the food was disgusting, it wasn't even cooked properly. The girl working on the bar was slow as we're the two girls who brought out the food!
Reception staff need to learn abit( a lot) of hospitality to their guest ( a smile goes a long way).
Overall very disappointed and won't go back as I can't see anything changing any time soon!

Reviewed by
A Reed

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location
The hotel is in a brilliant location if you want to spend time seeing the sights of York. If your planning on staying in the hotel for a period of time don't do it-could hear everything from the next room, it was tierd and dated and the bed was very uncomfortable. We mainly booked her for the location and glad we did as for the price we paid for one night I've stayed in much better quality accomodation for much cheaper.

Reviewed by
Laura P

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in york
Near the city centre. Loverly place to visit

Reviewed by
David Round

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable on all fronts
good budget hotel well run and hospitable
car parking a bit limited

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Facelift needed
The hotel needed a facelift - general decoration 20 years out of date. Most budget hotels offer simpler but better quality facilities - this hotel was trying to be something it wasn't. Would have preferred a less fussy but cleaner and more comfortable room - the hippo tiles in the bathroom added nothing to our stay!!!! However the location of the hotel was perfect - two minutes walk from city wall - and staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Mandy E

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
We stayed for 1 night at this hotel and had a lovely stay. The room was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and parking was free which was a bonus as other hotels in the area were at least £12 for 24hrs. All in all a great hotel and one which I would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Emma T

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed!
I booked a superior double room for me and my wife, the room was a bit old fashioned and looked onto a main road. I booked a superior double and yet got two single beds pushed together no apology or reason! The bed was far too soft and moved about all over the place. The room was ridiculously hot to the point where I couldn't sleep and you can't open the windows as they are locked! Every time someone moved outside the room or above it you could hear the floor creak. There was lipstick on the bath towels and the water didn't drain away properly in the shower. 11 pound for a rose wine and soda and a vodka redbull I think is a rip off at the bar downstairs! I pid 130 pound for this room and quite frankly am disgusted, ive stayed in better 50 pound rooms!

Reviewed by
Terry Chambers

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th weekend

Reviewed by
k carroll

From hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid room 43 !!!
We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Monkbar Hotel, we chose a four poster suite which we paid extra for as this was a trip away without the kids, however we were not impressed with the room at all for the price paid :( upon entering there was an overpowering smell which we thought was sewerage - we went straight round to reception to report this and they did react promptly by sending housekeeping straight over to investigate - we were told it was a common complaint as the room was above the vegetable composter - hence the smell, we were left with an air freshener to use and advised to keep the windows closed ?! Not ideal, we then noticed neither bedside lamp worked and we couldn't use the heating in the bathroom as the smell reappeared when it was turned on ??
Small niggles perhaps, but when you have paid extra for a supposedly 'superior' room, it was very disappointing - I would advise avoiding this room at all costs !!

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next