No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, with parking for residents, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4th stay here
Great hotel, very relaxed and friendly. Free onsite parking, fantastic location. Good bar food, substantial breakfast, can't comment on dinner as we didn't eat there. This was our 4th stay and we'll go back again.

Reviewed by
Sheila B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall, very good, free parking appreciated. Staff faultless. Provision of room facilities good.
The room was adjacent to the lift and noisy, we would not stay in a similar room ever again. We would book the Monkbar Hotel again provided the room was not adjacent to the lift.

Reviewed by
Angela Heap

From Blackburn, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location of the Hotel is perfect for visiting York

Reviewed by
P Newton

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite
Excellent hotel in excellent location. However, room 32 was let down very badly by unrepaired holes in what appear to be cheap fitted cupboards, and we were unable to use the shower as the pressure of water forced the shower head from its fitting, spraying water everywhere, and the bath taps were so stiff they were very difficult to turn on and off. This was pointed out to reception when we left, so we hope the faults have been remedied.

Reviewed by
John K

From Durham, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 54 in need of update and sound proofing!
We stayed for 1 night ( thank god). We were in room 54, it was dated decor and in need of a revamp. Bathroom is in need of some work and a good clean. Shower needs sorting as the power nearly knocks you off your feet. The noise from above and below was horrendous. Sheet were stained on the bed and just the whole room was grubby and unclean.
We had a bar meal and the food was disgusting, it wasn't even cooked properly. The girl working on the bar was slow as we're the two girls who brought out the food!
Reception staff need to learn abit( a lot) of hospitality to their guest ( a smile goes a long way).
Overall very disappointed and won't go back as I can't see anything changing any time soon!

Reviewed by
A Reed

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location
The hotel is in a brilliant location if you want to spend time seeing the sights of York. If your planning on staying in the hotel for a period of time don't do it-could hear everything from the next room, it was tierd and dated and the bed was very uncomfortable. We mainly booked her for the location and glad we did as for the price we paid for one night I've stayed in much better quality accomodation for much cheaper.

Reviewed by
Laura P

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in york
Near the city centre. Loverly place to visit

Reviewed by
David Round

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable on all fronts
good budget hotel well run and hospitable
car parking a bit limited

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Facelift needed
The hotel needed a facelift - general decoration 20 years out of date. Most budget hotels offer simpler but better quality facilities - this hotel was trying to be something it wasn't. Would have preferred a less fussy but cleaner and more comfortable room - the hippo tiles in the bathroom added nothing to our stay!!!! However the location of the hotel was perfect - two minutes walk from city wall - and staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Mandy E

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
We stayed for 1 night at this hotel and had a lovely stay. The room was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and parking was free which was a bonus as other hotels in the area were at least £12 for 24hrs. All in all a great hotel and one which I would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Emma T

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next