No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Also this hotel is in an excellent location for the city

Reviewed by
H Crowe

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when in York. The close proximity to the town centre is a bonus, the on site car parking is also one of the reasons we stay here. Good wifi connection was a plus point. Excellent choice of food at breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Armstrong

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place to stay in the heart of York
The Monkbar is a great place to stay just a short walk into the centre, the hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful,the breakfast has a lot of choice and is well prepared and set out. The hotel has a car park.

Reviewed by
S Burn

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Excellent customer service , nice room and great value for money ,located in the perfect place

Reviewed by
Steve Tucker

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Monkbar Best Western - York
Very friendly staff. Family room was extremely large. Our son loved the side room to himself. Only slight downside was shower varied in temperature and difficult to turn off mixer taps.

Reviewed by
K Ellery

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every thing about our stay was outstanding. Could not find any fault at all.
I stayed in this hotel two year ago with my husband and we had a lovely weekend. I went for a few days with my friend and was very happy to be able to get booked into the same hotel. I found this stay even better than my first stay. From the friendly staff to the quality of the rooms and the very comfortable bed's.

Reviewed by
L Butler

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room needed painting and decorating. The wall paper was very shabby, bath tub was chipping off and the shower did not work properly. It was an incredibly disappointing experience apart from good food. However, due to poor customer service and poor quality of bedroom I would not be recommending this hotel to any of my friends.

Reviewed by
H Smithson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with breakfast
Only complaint of the hotel was hot breakfast was cold on Friday morning . I informed staff at the time and the hot plate has not been working properly. I informed the reception staff . When checking out my husband was asked by the assistant manager how our stay was . Again informed him that hot breakfast was cold and he said that the aware of that and had the problem sorted. We did not receive any refund or complimentary supplement this was disappointing as we have often book into Best western hotel on our regular travels.

Reviewed by
E Watt

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Monk bar so handy to walk into York . Hotel and staff ok but the breakfast was a bit of a nightmare- food not good and barely warm - maybe because it was so busy ? Food in the evening was much better as much quieter . I would go back but out of season .

Reviewed by
Elaine Kelly

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
Our room was small but clean and adequate. Car parking is free but very limited. The buffet breakfast was good but we did not eat in the hotel in the evenings. The staff were very obliging.I did feel that £100 a night B&B was a little steep for what I feel to be a decent 3 star hotel, but I guess York is expensive. The best thing about the hotel is its location - just a few hundred yards from The Shambles and a number of restaurants. I can recommend Little Italy which is just through the gate in the city wall, and the Viceroy (Indian) around the corner from the hotel.

Reviewed by
B Crosbie

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next