BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3

St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From 210.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A WALLACE

  • August 2013

excellent. the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

  • E Bedworth

  • August 2013

Standard accommodation..

The hotel it's self was very clean, well presented staff and lovely fresh flowers everywhere.

Breakfast was delicious, wide selection to set us up for day. The room was standard with very little space but tidy. The bathroom was spacious and clean apart from the bath. Mucky with hairs and rust around the plugs which was disappointing as it was a Jacuzzi bath. Other than that a great nights stay..

  • Martin F

  • August 2013

instant break

Requested a room away from the road when making the booking on Laterooms.

This had not been noted by the hotel but on arrival at Reception they were happy to change the room they had given us. Using the lift meant a longish walk around the corridors but there was a shorter route if you were happy with the steps. The Early Bird meal was excellent - interesting and good value. The hotel is very well sited for access to the city.

  • sheree d

  • August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very accomodating.Location is superb, so close to shops, sights and all amenites.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Adrian Griffin

  • August 2013

Beyond Excellent!

A fantastic hotel so close to the centre of York, just a few steps from the city wall.

All of the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, particularly the man who served us at breakfast. They were very good with our little girl, always taking time to speak to her and making her feel welcome. The breakfast was great, a buffet with a choice of hot or cold food, making the stay here amazing value. The family room we stayed in was huge, the size of 2 rooms together, it was clean and well presented. I could not fault this hotel, perfect in every way!!

  • amanda c

  • August 2013

Pleasant stay

At first we were given a room that was very cramped,dark and gloomy and it was a lovely sunny day,so I went to reception to say this and we were given another much more suitable room immediately.Overall a great experience in an excellent location.

  • D M

  • August 2013

Clean & comfortable

Booked a room here as a late booking and were pleasantly surprised.

Room was clean and comfortable, with clean towels and tea/coffee making facilities. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great. Everything one could want by way of choice and freshness. Apart from a sticky patch on the carpet near the refreshments tray everything else was fine.

  • C Griffiths

  • July 2013

Couple with young child

Generally fine.

Bathroom door was sticking, no shower, small window and no air con.

  • Elaine Kelly

  • July 2013

Short break

Monk bar so handy to walk into York .

Hotel and staff ok but the breakfast was a bit of a nightmare- food not good and barely warm - maybe because it was so busy . Food in the evening was much better as much quieter . I would go back but out of season .

  • carol g

  • July 2013

good room size but traffic noise too high Room 18

Triple glazing should be considered to reduce traffic noise as vehicles rev up to move away from lights I would not stay in road fronting rooms again