Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3

St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From 207.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • stephen s

  • September 2013

Excellent

Lovely hotel in good location .

Friendly staff.

  • J MCCOMBE

  • September 2013

Leisure break staying for 3 nights.

Upon arrival we were given our room card and upon entering our room it had not been cleaned and made ready for new guests.

We went back down to reception and they organised for this to be done immediately and we were offered a complimentary drink. During our stay the weather was hot and our room, which was on the top floor, became very hot - though to us this was not too much of a problem as we were out most of the time. We mentioned this to reception upon our departure and were informed that we could have asked for a fan. This is not stated in any hotel information in the room and perhaps this should be rectified for future guests. The breakfast served is excellent and nothing is too much trouble should you have any food requests. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • A Prior

  • August 2013

Great hotel

Near to the centre and all places of interest

  • A WALLACE

  • August 2013

excellent. the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

  • E Bedworth

  • August 2013

Standard accommodation..

The hotel it's self was very clean, well presented staff and lovely fresh flowers everywhere.

Breakfast was delicious, wide selection to set us up for day. The room was standard with very little space but tidy. The bathroom was spacious and clean apart from the bath. Mucky with hairs and rust around the plugs which was disappointing as it was a Jacuzzi bath. Other than that a great nights stay..

  • Martin F

  • August 2013

instant break

Requested a room away from the road when making the booking on Laterooms.

This had not been noted by the hotel but on arrival at Reception they were happy to change the room they had given us. Using the lift meant a longish walk around the corridors but there was a shorter route if you were happy with the steps. The Early Bird meal was excellent - interesting and good value. The hotel is very well sited for access to the city.

  • sheree d

  • August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very accomodating.Location is superb, so close to shops, sights and all amenites.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Adrian Griffin

  • August 2013

Beyond Excellent!

A fantastic hotel so close to the centre of York, just a few steps from the city wall.

All of the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, particularly the man who served us at breakfast. They were very good with our little girl, always taking time to speak to her and making her feel welcome. The breakfast was great, a buffet with a choice of hot or cold food, making the stay here amazing value. The family room we stayed in was huge, the size of 2 rooms together, it was clean and well presented. I could not fault this hotel, perfect in every way!!

  • amanda c

  • August 2013

Pleasant stay

At first we were given a room that was very cramped,dark and gloomy and it was a lovely sunny day,so I went to reception to say this and we were given another much more suitable room immediately.Overall a great experience in an excellent location.

  • D M

  • August 2013

Clean & comfortable

Booked a room here as a late booking and were pleasantly surprised.

Room was clean and comfortable, with clean towels and tea/coffee making facilities. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great. Everything one could want by way of choice and freshness. Apart from a sticky patch on the carpet near the refreshments tray everything else was fine.