No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cuty ctr location
Ideal central base, excellent customer service in the hotel.

Reviewed by
C M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for disabled needs a total overhaul, cleanliness was poor.
The duty manager however listened to our complaints and tried to improve things. For us. However the room needed a total upgrade regarding refurbishment. This did spoil our two day break. We would need to be totally reassured before we would contemplate staying at a best western hotel again.

Reviewed by
J Hignett

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depends in which part of the hotel you stay in
I stayed in room No 51 at the back of the car park, set on two levels, bathroom is on the ground level and the bedroom is on the first level.
Access to the first level is via a TINY spiral staircase, which is a pain having to go up and down each time.
Not great value for money, regarding the room.
Hotel itself is lovely and the location is ideal for the city centre.

Reviewed by
Craig G

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food and location excellent.With most hotels in the uk the shower in the bathroom is always bad.

Reviewed by
stepen betts

From beds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed.
Me and my wife stayed here for our wedding anniversary and we were both very happy with everything. The room was lovely and clean and we loved the balcony's to get to the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and let us check in at 11am even though we didn't book early check in. The location was perfect for us also only a 5 minute walk into the centre of york.

Reviewed by
Craig Flude

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Also this hotel is in an excellent location for the city

Reviewed by
H Crowe

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when in York. The close proximity to the town centre is a bonus, the on site car parking is also one of the reasons we stay here. Good wifi connection was a plus point. Excellent choice of food at breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Armstrong

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place to stay in the heart of York
The Monkbar is a great place to stay just a short walk into the centre, the hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful,the breakfast has a lot of choice and is well prepared and set out. The hotel has a car park.

Reviewed by
S Burn

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Excellent customer service , nice room and great value for money ,located in the perfect place

Reviewed by
Steve Tucker

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Every thing about our stay was outstanding. Could not find any fault at all.
I stayed in this hotel two year ago with my husband and we had a lovely weekend. I went for a few days with my friend and was very happy to be able to get booked into the same hotel. I found this stay even better than my first stay. From the friendly staff to the quality of the rooms and the very comfortable bed's.

Reviewed by
L Butler

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next