Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3

St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From 207.30 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • paul w

  • January 2014

disappointed !!!

From the outside and into the communal area inside the hotel looked very nice, but our room was a big let down.

There was a dirty damp cloth left on the floor and the radiator had seen better days as the paint was all chipped, this may seem trivial but it did not get any better as the bathroom was tired with chipped paint all over and the toilet itself was so low I thought it was a childs toilet. It was a shame as the staff were very friendly. We did not say anything as we were only staying for one night but would have if we were staying longer

  • nicholas Hall

  • January 2014

Last day of the year spent at a funeral 200 miles from home

A sudden death just before Christmas of a middle aged cousin meant we had to find accommodation at short notice in York for two couples and an elderly aunt traveling from Surrey and Essex.

Monkbar was ideal as it had a free car park, was adjacent to the city walls and was fairly priced.

The hotel was what I would expect from a 3 star Best Western but the staff were better than you could even hope for. From reception to chamber maids they were all wonderful. Very helpful,chatty and considerate they made our stay in trying circumstances ,really quite enjoyable.

  • THOMAS M

  • November 2013

Damp smelly rooms

Our room was in the attic and was damp and smelled of mould (rooms 41 & 42).

The adjacent rooms I assume would be the same as the corridor smelled of mould. Heating in rooms and general areas was not switch on until early evening, so the bar area was cold. Breakfast dining room was inadequate and we had a 15 minute wait in the cold bar area (heating off again), Breakfast buffet bar was to small so everyone was queuing and waiting for food to replaced. Finishing on a good note - staff and location was good.

  • Susan R

  • November 2013

Wheelchair accessible room

Accessible room in the Lodge.

No heating in the bathroom to cold to shower/bath. Think the towel rail was ment to be heated but it wasn't . Decoration very poor bathroom and bedroom really need total refurb. Accessible room as usual in worst position for noise. Wheelchair wouldn't fit under any tables in accessible part of the dining room. Why not just swap one of the tables with one from main area that the wheelchair would fit under . Ended up sitting at a table in the bar area for breakfast on our own. Good location and parking. Would not stay again.

  • A Bal

  • October 2013

Weekend getaway

This hotel was in a really good location for the city and attractions.

Staff very friendly. Room spacious and comfortable. Did encounter some noise at night as overlooking the main road and parking was interesting but doable. Would stay again due to the location.

  • Lynn P

  • October 2013

Great location, 2 minute walk to city.

Room and location fantastic.

One complaint though. Water was pouring through ceiling in bathroom on last day of our stay, although I reported it to reception no one came to our room to look and it was not mentioned to us when we checked out. A sorry would have been nice.

  • Sheila S

  • October 2013

We were in an annex room.

The bed was of poor quality with a very lumpy mattress and flat hard pillows. The tv did not work properly and the light over the mirror in the bedroom was not working. These are minor things to us but at £150 a night we expect better quality. The stairs to the bathroom would be better if they were solid treads. On the plus side it was a bonus having a Jacuzzi bath and the breakfast was really good. However they could do with more tables at breakfast as people were having to wait. The free parking was a bonus and the location is excellent.

  • T Wilson

  • October 2013

Handy hotel for visiting centre of York

Very nice hotel close to centre of York.

Breakfast facilities a bit limited - had to wait for table to be available. Bar food a bit ordinary, however, extremely pleasant room recently refurbished.

  • Frankie Green

  • September 2013

Great Position.very helpful staff.

We spent 4 days, 3 nts.

at the Monkbar. My room was a small double - O.K. for one but wouldn't like to share. The bathroom was very tired and needed work. My friends had a twin bedded room, much larger and had character. Main complaint in both rooms was lack of drawers. Also their room had a sash window which was either fully open or closed. The breakfast was excellent. everything you could wish for, either hot or cold, as good as any 5star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night and that was not so good. I had calves liver, which I had to send back as one piece was a very thick piece full of gristle. They ran out of rolls also and we finally got them, just as we were finishing our starters. Now in a good restaurant, they would have not charged for teas and coffee after dinner as way of an apology. We were charged for everything. The lounge was large and comfortable with different nooks and crannies. To my friends and I, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were all extremely friendly, very helpful and went out of their way to do anything they could to help you. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Paul D

  • September 2013

Ideal hotel for visiting York especially if your are in a car

Stayed here for one night on a flying visit to York.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the fact that it provided free parking for guests. A lot of the hotels that are actually in the city charge for their parking or don't have any which means you have to use the towns municipal car parks which can be an expensive unexpected addition, especially if staying for a few nights. Finding the hotel was easy enough and check in was a breeze. The receptionist greeted with a smile and she couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and overlooked the main road. The bathroom had a large oval bath and a powerful overhead shower. For walking into York the location was fantastic being located just round the corner from Monkgate. Overnight there was a bit of traffic noise from the main road. The breakfast was a great start to the day and you can have as much or as little as you like to set yourself up and after checking out we were allowed to leave the car in the car park while we had a couple more hours enjoying the delights of York. Would we stay here again. Yes we would but would probably as for a Courtyard room away from the main road. Would we recommend The Best Western Monkbar. Yes we would