No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Near to the centre and all places of interest

Reviewed by
A Prior

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure break staying for 3 nights.
Upon arrival we were given our room card and upon entering our room it had not been cleaned and made ready for new guests. We went back down to reception and they organised for this to be done immediately and we were offered a complimentary drink. During our stay the weather was hot and our room, which was on the top floor, became very hot - though to us this was not too much of a problem as we were out most of the time. We mentioned this to reception upon our departure and were informed that we could have asked for a fan. This is not stated in any hotel information in the room and perhaps this should be rectified for future guests. The breakfast served is excellent and nothing is too much trouble should you have any food requests. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Reviewed by
J MCCOMBE

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent. the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
A WALLACE

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard accommodation..
The hotel it's self was very clean, well presented staff and lovely fresh flowers everywhere. Breakfast was delicious, wide selection to set us up for day! The room was standard with very little space but tidy. The bathroom was spacious and clean apart from the bath! Mucky with hairs and rust around the plugs which was disappointing as it was a Jacuzzi bath! Other than that a great nights stay..

Reviewed by
E Bedworth

From Rotherham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

instant break
Requested a room away from the road when making the booking on Laterooms. This had not been noted by the hotel but on arrival at Reception they were happy to change the room they had given us. Using the lift meant a longish walk around the corridors but there was a shorter route if you were happy with the steps. The Early Bird meal was excellent - interesting and good value. The hotel is very well sited for access to the city.

Reviewed by
Martin F

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very accomodating.Location is superb, so close to shops, sights and all amenites. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
sheree d

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beyond Excellent!
A fantastic hotel so close to the centre of York, just a few steps from the city wall. All of the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, particularly the man who served us at breakfast! They were very good with our little girl, always taking time to speak to her and making her feel welcome. The breakfast was great, a buffet with a choice of hot or cold food, making the stay here amazing value. The family room we stayed in was huge, the size of 2 rooms together, it was clean and well presented. I could not fault this hotel, perfect in every way!!

Reviewed by
Adrian Griffin

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & comfortable
Booked a room here as a late booking and were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and comfortable, with clean towels and tea/coffee making facilities. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great. Everything one could want by way of choice and freshness. Apart from a sticky patch on the carpet near the refreshments tray everything else was fine.

Reviewed by
D M

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
At first we were given a room that was very cramped,dark and gloomy and it was a lovely sunny day,so I went to reception to say this and we were given another much more suitable room immediately.Overall a great experience in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
amanda c

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couple with young child
Generally fine. Bathroom door was sticking, no shower, small window and no air con.

Reviewed by
C Griffiths

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next