No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay at best western monk bar York
Nice clean hotel lovely breakfast very friendly and helpfull staff even when we arrived and found there was no parking space left in the car park the manager on dutie made every effort to get us parked up

Reviewed by
David H

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed !!!
From the outside and into the communal area inside the hotel looked very nice, but our room was a big let down. There was a dirty damp cloth left on the floor and the radiator had seen better days as the paint was all chipped, this may seem trivial but it did not get any better as the bathroom was tired with chipped paint all over and the toilet itself was so low I thought it was a childs toilet. It was a shame as the staff were very friendly. We did not say anything as we were only staying for one night but would have if we were staying longer

Reviewed by
paul w

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last day of the year spent at a funeral 200 miles from home
A sudden death just before Christmas of a middle aged cousin meant we had to find accommodation at short notice in York for two couples and an elderly aunt traveling from Surrey and Essex. Monkbar was ideal as it had a free car park, was adjacent to the city walls and was fairly priced.
The hotel was what I would expect from a 3 star Best Western but the staff were better than you could even hope for. From reception to chamber maids they were all wonderful. Very helpful,chatty and considerate they made our stay in trying circumstances ,really quite enjoyable.

Reviewed by
nicholas Hall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheelchair accessible room
Accessible room in the Lodge. No heating in the bathroom to cold to shower/bath. Think the towel rail was ment to be heated but it wasn't . Decoration very poor bathroom and bedroom really need total refurb. Accessible room as usual in worst position for noise. Wheelchair wouldn't fit under any tables in accessible part of the dining room. Why not just swap one of the tables with one from main area that the wheelchair would fit under ? Ended up sitting at a table in the bar area for breakfast on our own! Good location and parking. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp smelly rooms
Our room was in the attic and was damp and smelled of mould (rooms 41 & 42). The adjacent rooms I assume would be the same as the corridor smelled of mould. Heating in rooms and general areas was not switch on until early evening, so the bar area was cold. Breakfast dining room was inadequate and we had a 15 minute wait in the cold bar area (heating off again), Breakfast buffet bar was to small so everyone was queuing and waiting for food to replaced. Finishing on a good note - staff and location was good.

Reviewed by
THOMAS M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway
This hotel was in a really good location for the city and attractions. Staff very friendly. Room spacious and comfortable. Did encounter some noise at night as overlooking the main road and parking was interesting but doable! Would stay again due to the location.

Reviewed by
A Bal

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, 2 minute walk to city.
Room and location fantastic. One complaint though. Water was pouring through ceiling in bathroom on last day of our stay, although I reported it to reception no one came to our room to look and it was not mentioned to us when we checked out. A sorry would have been nice.

Reviewed by
Lynn P

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were in an annex room. The bed was of poor quality with a very lumpy mattress and flat hard pillows. The tv did not work properly and the light over the mirror in the bedroom was not working. These are minor things to us but at £150 a night we expect better quality. The stairs to the bathroom would be better if they were solid treads. On the plus side it was a bonus having a Jacuzzi bath and the breakfast was really good. However they could do with more tables at breakfast as people were having to wait. The free parking was a bonus and the location is excellent.

Reviewed by
Sheila S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy hotel for visiting centre of York
Very nice hotel close to centre of York. Breakfast facilities a bit limited - had to wait for table to be available. Bar food a bit ordinary, however, extremely pleasant room recently refurbished.

Reviewed by
T Wilson

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal hotel for visiting York especially if your are in a car
Stayed here for one night on a flying visit to York. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the fact that it provided free parking for guests. A lot of the hotels that are actually in the city charge for their parking or don't have any which means you have to use the towns municipal car parks which can be an expensive unexpected addition, especially if staying for a few nights!
Finding the hotel was easy enough and check in was a breeze. The receptionist greeted with a smile and she couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and overlooked the main road. The bathroom had a large oval bath and a powerful overhead shower.
For walking into York the location was fantastic being located just round the corner from Monkgate.
Overnight there was a bit of traffic noise from the main road.
The breakfast was a great start to the day and you can have as much or as little as you like to set yourself up and after checking out we were allowed to leave the car in the car park while we had a couple more hours enjoying the delights of York.
Would we stay here again? Yes we would but would probably as for a Courtyard room away from the main road.
Would we recommend The Best Western Monkbar? Yes we would

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next