No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal hotel for visiting York especially if your are in a car
Stayed here for one night on a flying visit to York. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the fact that it provided free parking for guests. A lot of the hotels that are actually in the city charge for their parking or don't have any which means you have to use the towns municipal car parks which can be an expensive unexpected addition, especially if staying for a few nights!
Finding the hotel was easy enough and check in was a breeze. The receptionist greeted with a smile and she couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and tidy and overlooked the main road. The bathroom had a large oval bath and a powerful overhead shower.
For walking into York the location was fantastic being located just round the corner from Monkgate.
Overnight there was a bit of traffic noise from the main road.
The breakfast was a great start to the day and you can have as much or as little as you like to set yourself up and after checking out we were allowed to leave the car in the car park while we had a couple more hours enjoying the delights of York.
Would we stay here again? Yes we would but would probably as for a Courtyard room away from the main road.
Would we recommend The Best Western Monkbar? Yes we would

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Position.very helpful staff.
We spent 4 days, 3 nts. at the Monkbar. My room was a small double - O.K. for one but wouldn't like to share. The bathroom was very tired and needed work. My friends had a twin bedded room, much larger and had character. Main complaint in both rooms was lack of drawers. Also their room had a sash window which was either fully open or closed. The breakfast was excellent. everything you could wish for, either hot or cold, as good as any 5star hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night and that was not so good. I had calves liver, which I had to send back as one piece was a very thick piece full of gristle. They ran out of rolls also and we finally got them, just as we were finishing our starters. Now in a good restaurant, they would have not charged for teas and coffee after dinner as way of an apology. We were charged for everything. The lounge was large and comfortable with different nooks and crannies. To my friends and I, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were all extremely friendly, very helpful and went out of their way to do anything they could to help you. Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
Frankie Green

From Kenton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Our second visit to York and second time at the hotel wouldn't stay anywhere else now

Reviewed by
r lamb

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely hotel in good location . Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
stephen s

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Near to the centre and all places of interest

Reviewed by
A Prior

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure break staying for 3 nights.
Upon arrival we were given our room card and upon entering our room it had not been cleaned and made ready for new guests. We went back down to reception and they organised for this to be done immediately and we were offered a complimentary drink. During our stay the weather was hot and our room, which was on the top floor, became very hot - though to us this was not too much of a problem as we were out most of the time. We mentioned this to reception upon our departure and were informed that we could have asked for a fan. This is not stated in any hotel information in the room and perhaps this should be rectified for future guests. The breakfast served is excellent and nothing is too much trouble should you have any food requests. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

Reviewed by
J MCCOMBE

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent. the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
A WALLACE

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard accommodation..
The hotel it's self was very clean, well presented staff and lovely fresh flowers everywhere. Breakfast was delicious, wide selection to set us up for day! The room was standard with very little space but tidy. The bathroom was spacious and clean apart from the bath! Mucky with hairs and rust around the plugs which was disappointing as it was a Jacuzzi bath! Other than that a great nights stay..

Reviewed by
E Bedworth

From Rotherham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

instant break
Requested a room away from the road when making the booking on Laterooms. This had not been noted by the hotel but on arrival at Reception they were happy to change the room they had given us. Using the lift meant a longish walk around the corridors but there was a shorter route if you were happy with the steps. The Early Bird meal was excellent - interesting and good value. The hotel is very well sited for access to the city.

Reviewed by
Martin F

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very accomodating.Location is superb, so close to shops, sights and all amenites. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
sheree d

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next