BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3

St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From 168.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nb M

  • April 2014

Weekend stay at Best Western.

Central location in York that offers value for money.

A good hotel for a short stay or weekend break. Hotel with a good friendly atmosphere and good service.

  • Graham R

  • April 2014

Perfect hotel perfectly situated.

The staff and food where excellent. The room was small and tired.

  • Jillian W

  • February 2014

Great hotel very conveniently placed

A great overnight stay , staff were friendly and efficient , a good sized room and very quiet.The hotel is ideal for visiting all the attractions and going out at night without needing a taxi.

  • Will G

  • February 2014

Excellent central location and service throughout the stay.

  • r lamb

  • January 2014

great place to stay

Our second visit to York and second time at the hotel wouldn't stay anywhere else now

  • kevin Dowling

  • January 2014

feedback

superb hotel; friendly and helpful staff[ fantastic breakfast thank you we had a great stay see you soon

  • David H

  • January 2014

Recent stay at best western monk bar York

Nice clean hotel lovely breakfast very friendly and helpfull staff even when we arrived and found there was no parking space left in the car park the manager on dutie made every effort to get us parked up

  • paul w

  • January 2014

disappointed !!!

From the outside and into the communal area inside the hotel looked very nice, but our room was a big let down.

There was a dirty damp cloth left on the floor and the radiator had seen better days as the paint was all chipped, this may seem trivial but it did not get any better as the bathroom was tired with chipped paint all over and the toilet itself was so low I thought it was a childs toilet. It was a shame as the staff were very friendly. We did not say anything as we were only staying for one night but would have if we were staying longer

  • nicholas Hall

  • January 2014

Last day of the year spent at a funeral 200 miles from home

A sudden death just before Christmas of a middle aged cousin meant we had to find accommodation at short notice in York for two couples and an elderly aunt traveling from Surrey and Essex.

Monkbar was ideal as it had a free car park, was adjacent to the city walls and was fairly priced.

The hotel was what I would expect from a 3 star Best Western but the staff were better than you could even hope for. From reception to chamber maids they were all wonderful. Very helpful,chatty and considerate they made our stay in trying circumstances ,really quite enjoyable.

  • THOMAS M

  • November 2013

Damp smelly rooms

Our room was in the attic and was damp and smelled of mould (rooms 41 & 42).

The adjacent rooms I assume would be the same as the corridor smelled of mould. Heating in rooms and general areas was not switch on until early evening, so the bar area was cold. Breakfast dining room was inadequate and we had a 15 minute wait in the cold bar area (heating off again), Breakfast buffet bar was to small so everyone was queuing and waiting for food to replaced. Finishing on a good note - staff and location was good.