No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel in the heart of York - ideally situated we are the perfect choice for exploring this vibrant, historic and award-winning city. Recently voted European Tourism City of the Year York is full of world-class attractions, distinctive shopping, festivals and events. You'll find it a year round destination.

Whether you're planning a large event for 140 or Sunday lunch for 2 our range of meeting & function rooms will be able to cater for you. We have a civil license so you can enjoy your wedding day with us from start to finish and our restaurant offers a seasonal British menu. We are a very relaxed hotel where we make all our customers feel special in a home from home environment.

All of our 99 bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms offer FREE WIFI Internet access so you can keep in touch during your stay.
We are pleased to offer complimentary on-site limited car parking for your convenience.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room size but traffic noise too high Room 18
Triple glazing should be considered to reduce traffic noise as vehicles rev up to move away from lights I would not stay in road fronting rooms again

Reviewed by
carol g

From oxhill, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food ok room to close to main road noise all night no sleep for me are my pregnant partner

Reviewed by
s haworth

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night break - York
Three ladies were looking for an over night stay and we booked a family room which was spacious and very comfortable. We found the location very convenient and within walking distance to many of the attractions/ bars. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel itself was lovely and clean.

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The hotel was great, car park was a little crowded but managed to park somewhere. Really good location for exploring the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
G Simpson

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly caring staff
Only there a short time but felt very at home and cared about. Always staff about and on hand to help

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel just next to the Monkbar gate in the city walls and only a short walk from the Minster. This hotel is well placed for exploring the centre of York and I will stay there again. The hotel is a mixture of old and new, with a lovely courtyard seating area. Only ate breakfast but it was very good and there was plenty to chose from.

Reviewed by
Ray G

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cuty ctr location
Ideal central base, excellent customer service in the hotel.

Reviewed by
C M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for disabled needs a total overhaul, cleanliness was poor.
The duty manager however listened to our complaints and tried to improve things. For us. However the room needed a total upgrade regarding refurbishment. This did spoil our two day break. We would need to be totally reassured before we would contemplate staying at a best western hotel again.

Reviewed by
J Hignett

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depends in which part of the hotel you stay in
I stayed in room No 51 at the back of the car park, set on two levels, bathroom is on the ground level and the bedroom is on the first level.
Access to the first level is via a TINY spiral staircase, which is a pain having to go up and down each time.
Not great value for money, regarding the room.
Hotel itself is lovely and the location is ideal for the city centre.

Reviewed by
Craig G

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food and location excellent.With most hotels in the uk the shower in the bathroom is always bad.

Reviewed by
stepen betts

From beds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next