No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location and service throughout the stay.

Reviewed by
Will G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

feedback
superb hotel; friendly and helpful staff[ fantastic breakfast thank you we had a great stay see you soon

Reviewed by
kevin Dowling

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay at best western monk bar York
Nice clean hotel lovely breakfast very friendly and helpfull staff even when we arrived and found there was no parking space left in the car park the manager on dutie made every effort to get us parked up

Reviewed by
David H

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed !!!
From the outside and into the communal area inside the hotel looked very nice, but our room was a big let down. There was a dirty damp cloth left on the floor and the radiator had seen better days as the paint was all chipped, this may seem trivial but it did not get any better as the bathroom was tired with chipped paint all over and the toilet itself was so low I thought it was a childs toilet. It was a shame as the staff were very friendly. We did not say anything as we were only staying for one night but would have if we were staying longer

Reviewed by
paul w

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last day of the year spent at a funeral 200 miles from home
A sudden death just before Christmas of a middle aged cousin meant we had to find accommodation at short notice in York for two couples and an elderly aunt traveling from Surrey and Essex. Monkbar was ideal as it had a free car park, was adjacent to the city walls and was fairly priced.
The hotel was what I would expect from a 3 star Best Western but the staff were better than you could even hope for. From reception to chamber maids they were all wonderful. Very helpful,chatty and considerate they made our stay in trying circumstances ,really quite enjoyable.

Reviewed by
nicholas Hall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wheelchair accessible room
Accessible room in the Lodge. No heating in the bathroom to cold to shower/bath. Think the towel rail was ment to be heated but it wasn't . Decoration very poor bathroom and bedroom really need total refurb. Accessible room as usual in worst position for noise. Wheelchair wouldn't fit under any tables in accessible part of the dining room. Why not just swap one of the tables with one from main area that the wheelchair would fit under ? Ended up sitting at a table in the bar area for breakfast on our own! Good location and parking. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp smelly rooms
Our room was in the attic and was damp and smelled of mould (rooms 41 & 42). The adjacent rooms I assume would be the same as the corridor smelled of mould. Heating in rooms and general areas was not switch on until early evening, so the bar area was cold. Breakfast dining room was inadequate and we had a 15 minute wait in the cold bar area (heating off again), Breakfast buffet bar was to small so everyone was queuing and waiting for food to replaced. Finishing on a good note - staff and location was good.

Reviewed by
THOMAS M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend getaway
This hotel was in a really good location for the city and attractions. Staff very friendly. Room spacious and comfortable. Did encounter some noise at night as overlooking the main road and parking was interesting but doable! Would stay again due to the location.

Reviewed by
A Bal

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, 2 minute walk to city.
Room and location fantastic. One complaint though. Water was pouring through ceiling in bathroom on last day of our stay, although I reported it to reception no one came to our room to look and it was not mentioned to us when we checked out. A sorry would have been nice.

Reviewed by
Lynn P

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were in an annex room. The bed was of poor quality with a very lumpy mattress and flat hard pillows. The tv did not work properly and the light over the mirror in the bedroom was not working. These are minor things to us but at £150 a night we expect better quality. The stairs to the bathroom would be better if they were solid treads. On the plus side it was a bonus having a Jacuzzi bath and the breakfast was really good. However they could do with more tables at breakfast as people were having to wait. The free parking was a bonus and the location is excellent.

Reviewed by
Sheila S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next