No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, with parking for residents, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & comfortable
Booked a room here as a late booking and were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and comfortable, with clean towels and tea/coffee making facilities. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great. Everything one could want by way of choice and freshness. Apart from a sticky patch on the carpet near the refreshments tray everything else was fine.

Reviewed by
D M

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
At first we were given a room that was very cramped,dark and gloomy and it was a lovely sunny day,so I went to reception to say this and we were given another much more suitable room immediately.Overall a great experience in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
amanda c

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couple with young child
Generally fine. Bathroom door was sticking, no shower, small window and no air con.

Reviewed by
C Griffiths

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room size but traffic noise too high Room 18
Triple glazing should be considered to reduce traffic noise as vehicles rev up to move away from lights I would not stay in road fronting rooms again

Reviewed by
carol g

From oxhill, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night break - York
Three ladies were looking for an over night stay and we booked a family room which was spacious and very comfortable. We found the location very convenient and within walking distance to many of the attractions/ bars. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel itself was lovely and clean.

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food ok room to close to main road noise all night no sleep for me are my pregnant partner

Reviewed by
s haworth

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly caring staff
Only there a short time but felt very at home and cared about. Always staff about and on hand to help

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The hotel was great, car park was a little crowded but managed to park somewhere. Really good location for exploring the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
G Simpson

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel just next to the Monkbar gate in the city walls and only a short walk from the Minster. This hotel is well placed for exploring the centre of York and I will stay there again. The hotel is a mixture of old and new, with a lovely courtyard seating area. Only ate breakfast but it was very good and there was plenty to chose from.

Reviewed by
Ray G

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cuty ctr location
Ideal central base, excellent customer service in the hotel.

Reviewed by
C M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next