Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel


St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jeffrey T

  • January 2015

Simple, but suited our needs

Our room and bathroom were simply furnished but exactly what we needed for a short stopover close to York city centre.

It was clean, comfy, provided tea and coffee, internet access and Freeview TV. Car Parking was available at a well discounted price within 200 yards. Luggage pick up and drop off at the door. I would willingly stay here again.

  • david myers

  • January 2015

2 nights in a row the food we ordered was no longer available !.

Could not fault the room the bed was really comfortable

  • Anthony H

  • January 2015

Wifi didn't work upstairs in the bedroom and a few problems with the heating in the bedroom but in general a nice hotel, with pleasant helpful staff, situated just outside of the walls, across the street from the main attractions, shops and cafes of York.

  • Brian M

  • January 2015

Great location; tired rooms

Couldn't wish for better location just outside the walls.

Restaurant and bar staff very helpful and friendly with good breakfast in both quality and selection. Rooms need updating and bathroom very much so. Sadly the 'king size' bed was 2 large singles, badly put together with a big ridge and a dip in the middle. Good size room and lots of drawer space but floor creaked to high heaven. On the whole pretty average apart from breakfast.

  • P Miller

  • January 2015

Car Parking

We have stayed here before.

This a good place to be. Close to all aspects of York. Good in all aspects except somebody has decided to throw away 1 of its main assets. To have your own parking in a place like York is very rare and a to build on that is to say the least totally without thought.

  • Andrew J

  • January 2015

Comfortable and good location

Nice central location in York and easy to get into and out of town, either walking or by car.

The staff were friendly and helpful. My only complaint really is about the internet access - in the room I was staying in it was pretty hopeless, very slow, continually dropping out.

  • L Stevens

  • January 2015

visiting University

5 mins walk from St Johns University.

excellent location

  • P McDonald

  • January 2015

God quality hotel

Once again this hotel has been wonderful.

Staff, rooms and accessibility are all outstanding.

  • M Allenby

  • January 2015

lovely city break

York is a beautiful city and the hotel is close enough to the city centre to give you a feel 'in the heart of it' feel.

Just a couple of minutes walk from lots of lovely little streets full of boutique shops, bars & restaurants, and overlooking the city walls and the impressive York Minster, the hotel's location is great. The downside is some road noise - the windows could be better insulated.

  • Lou W

  • December 2014

Nothing too much trouble

Great staff.

I arrived late for a meeting and the staff were uber helpful in getting me checked in and out to my meeting in break neck speed.