No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road , York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to May 2015 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Also please be aware that the hotel no longer offers free onsite car parking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stop!
Brilliant hotel! just a shame that we booked a disabled room, (Accidental) need modernising and brightening up a little. but overall experience in that hotel was brilliant, Brilliant room service. we called for a ice bucket and some wine glasses and by time we got off the phone they was at our door. 5* stars! defiantly be staying again just in a more suitable room. Thank you Best western!

Reviewed by
Jake Kerswill

From Hessle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful hotel
We were given a disabled ground floor suite with every disabled user friendly device spacious, welcoming light and comfortable and best of all a disabled space in front. I'm a blue badge holder with limited walking ability

Reviewed by
Margaret C

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking! Don't stay here
I will say that the reception staff and maître D in the dining room were most helpful and courteous.
Sadly everything else let the hotel down. Room was not clean. Tired tawdry décor. I was originally booked in for 3 nights but checked out after the first one. Paid a fortune, £120, for and extremely poor experience. Restaurant took for ever to serve people's meals. Gentleman next door to my table had been in the dining room for nearly 1.5 hours, and was still awaiting dessert. Coach parties were visible in the hotel. I felt so sorry for them, as they might have expected somewhere reasonable to stay for the money they were paying. I can only say that I was ashamed on behalf of tourists subjected to such poor conditions and paying such a lot. Wouldn't have been a good memory of York had it been my only one. Luckily I have stayed at two other York hotels that have been exceptionally good. Lady Anne Middleton's and Judges' Lodgings.
I was a bit suspicious when I spent 2 hours the night before on the internet trying to find last minute accommodation for an emergency visit. This was the only place I could find. At the time I thought, I hope it's not because it's lousy. It was, indeed. beware!

Reviewed by
Fiona H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
Im sorry to say this but the amount of money I paid I expected to be in hotel not the annexe rooms .
we have been to the monk bar hotel on several occasions but booked direct through them. the hotel is a very nice place to stay at.

Reviewed by
L KEAL

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel good location

Reviewed by
S Wright

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff.There was a light in the room not working when we arrived but it was very quickly dealt with.

Reviewed by
Anne N

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive
All the staff are very professional, helpful and chatty. The hotel was lovely, clean and bright the only small problem was the road noise. The room was hot during the night and when the window was opened the traffic noise from the front of the building was too much to sleep through but, the staff gave us a fan which enabled us to close the window and we then had a good night’s sleep. This was by far not a show stopper for us and we will go back sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
D Deas

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
We have stayed at the hotel twice in 3 weeks. It is clean, comfortable and the breakfast is very good

Reviewed by
C Donovan

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good stay
I stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a large selection on offer. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
A Mitchell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we had was a family room which was a good size the bed was huge we have stayed at this hotel now on several occasions & have never been disappointed the breakfast is always excellent the staff are very helpful as well we will definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Lorna M

From Dalbeattie, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next