No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Right at the heart of York, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive
All the staff are very professional, helpful and chatty. The hotel was lovely, clean and bright the only small problem was the road noise. The room was hot during the night and when the window was opened the traffic noise from the front of the building was too much to sleep through but, the staff gave us a fan which enabled us to close the window and we then had a good night’s sleep. This was by far not a show stopper for us and we will go back sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
D Deas

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
We have stayed at the hotel twice in 3 weeks. It is clean, comfortable and the breakfast is very good

Reviewed by
C Donovan

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good stay
I stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with a large selection on offer. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
A Mitchell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we had was a family room which was a good size the bed was huge we have stayed at this hotel now on several occasions & have never been disappointed the breakfast is always excellent the staff are very helpful as well we will definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Lorna M

From Dalbeattie, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Second time we have stay here this year . Room was lovely and clean , Breakfast was very good , loads to choose from and nice and hot . Will be staying again soon

Reviewed by
D Turner

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location. Very good value and lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Barry P

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
Very pleasant hotel, would happily stay here again

Reviewed by
Tracey D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very good accommodation friendly staff enjoyable stay would recommend a visit to this hotel! If staying in York again would book this hotel excellent !!!

Reviewed by
Janine A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Best Western.
Central location in York that offers value for money. A good hotel for a short stay or weekend break.
Hotel with a good friendly atmosphere and good service.

Reviewed by
Nb M

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel perfectly situated. The staff and food where excellent. The room was small and tired.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next