No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. Maurices Road, York, YO31 7JA
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel in the heart of York - ideally situated we are the perfect choice for exploring this vibrant, historic and award-winning city. Recently voted European Tourism City of the Year York is full of world-class attractions, distinctive shopping, festivals and events. You'll find it a year round destination.

Whether you're planning a large event for 140 or Sunday lunch for 2 our range of meeting & function rooms will be able to cater for you. We have a civil license so you can enjoy your wedding day with us from start to finish and our restaurant offers a seasonal British menu. We are a very relaxed hotel where we make all our customers feel special in a home from home environment.

All of our 99 bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms offer FREE WIFI Internet access so you can keep in touch during your stay.
We are pleased to offer complimentary on-site limited car parking for your convenience.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Best Western.
Central location in York that offers value for money. A good hotel for a short stay or weekend break.
Hotel with a good friendly atmosphere and good service.

Reviewed by
Nb M

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel perfectly situated. The staff and food where excellent. The room was small and tired.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better places to stay
You will do better to book somewhere else, very poor accommodation and nowhere near value for your hard earned cash, plenty of other hotels in the area. Will not even entertain this place again.

Reviewed by
anthony a

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay
The room was in the attic but worked in our favour because there was a wedding in the hotel and was busy so it could have been noisy but we weren't disturbed at all.
The staff were lovely and we really enjoyed the breakfast

Reviewed by
T Hill

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel very conveniently placed
A great overnight stay , staff were friendly and efficient , a good sized room and very quiet.The hotel is ideal for visiting all the attractions and going out at night without needing a taxi.

Reviewed by
Jillian W

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location and service throughout the stay.

Reviewed by
Will G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

feedback
superb hotel; friendly and helpful staff[ fantastic breakfast thank you we had a great stay see you soon

Reviewed by
kevin Dowling

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay at best western monk bar York
Nice clean hotel lovely breakfast very friendly and helpfull staff even when we arrived and found there was no parking space left in the car park the manager on dutie made every effort to get us parked up

Reviewed by
David H

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed !!!
From the outside and into the communal area inside the hotel looked very nice, but our room was a big let down. There was a dirty damp cloth left on the floor and the radiator had seen better days as the paint was all chipped, this may seem trivial but it did not get any better as the bathroom was tired with chipped paint all over and the toilet itself was so low I thought it was a childs toilet. It was a shame as the staff were very friendly. We did not say anything as we were only staying for one night but would have if we were staying longer

Reviewed by
paul w

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last day of the year spent at a funeral 200 miles from home
A sudden death just before Christmas of a middle aged cousin meant we had to find accommodation at short notice in York for two couples and an elderly aunt traveling from Surrey and Essex. Monkbar was ideal as it had a free car park, was adjacent to the city walls and was fairly priced.
The hotel was what I would expect from a 3 star Best Western but the staff were better than you could even hope for. From reception to chamber maids they were all wonderful. Very helpful,chatty and considerate they made our stay in trying circumstances ,really quite enjoyable.

Reviewed by
nicholas Hall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next