No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
193 COTTINGHAM ROAD , Hull, HU5 2EG
Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns is a traditional hotel set opposite Hull University. It features en suite rooms, free parking and an onsite pub.
The Flaming Grill pub and restaurant offers traditional pub fayre.

Each room at the Old Grey Mare Inn has a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee-making facilities and free Wi-Fi.

The hotel offers easy access to Hull's ferry services. The A1079 is less than half a mile away with nearby attractions including The Deep Aquarium, Wilberforce Museum, the Medieval Holy Trinity Church and the famous Humber Bridge."
Picture of Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns, Hull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for a visit to Hull
I booked two nights (Saturday and Sunday) and arrived at about 7.30 p.m. The pub was very busy, but one of the bar staff directed me to the reception desk, and I was booked in reasonably quickly. A key to the side entrance provides direct access from the car park to the hotel rooms, so you don't have to struggle through the bar with luggage! My room was quite a distance from the entrance, and there were quite a few stairs on the way, but having reached the room I found it very clean and comfortable. Wifi was free and easy to access. The bed was really good, and I slept well both nights. I didn't make use of the restaurant as I visited friends for meals, but the menus in the room made me feel that I wouldn't need to go far for meals on any future visit! I would happily recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Paul Williams

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another enjoyable stay at The Old Grey Mare
My wife, daughter and partner and my grandson stayed whilst up in Hull for my Mum's 90th birthday. We were all very pleased with the rooms and in particular were very impressed by the high level of customer service: all the staff, manager and cleaner included, were helpful and courteous.

Reviewed by
David Shaw

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff Couldn't Help Enough!
The staff were absolutely excellent - nothing was too much trouble, from giving me directions to my conference, to showing me a table that had a plug socket nearby, and making me a hot chocolate to go with my breakfast, everything was done with a smile and an eagerness to please that I don't often come across. Thank you for a very pleasant stay indeed!

Reviewed by
A Sheppard

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very friendly hotel clean and tidy suited our needs perfectly.

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
On entering the hotel I was made to feel welcome, the manager was friendly and accommodating.
Night time bar staff were not as "jolly" and friendly but still did their job competently.

Reviewed by
D Miller

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Grey Mare
Absolutely what I needed. No fills, but good food, pub attached, near Hull centre.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but a bit of a hike
Room was clean and comfortable though it take some hiking up and down stairs and through about 8 doors to get to it! Only one tea bag in room and the toilet didn't flush properly which we informed them about.

Reviewed by
A Howe

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at The Old Grey Mare
Everything was to my satisfaction and the food - evening meal and breakfast were up to the mark. Each member of staff I dealt with was attentive, courteous and helpful.
I did not enjoy the beer, although this is an individual taste !
It is was good value for money

Reviewed by
John Bee

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute bargain
Couldn't fault it. Large room, friendly staff and cheap as chips.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
The rooms were very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
brian glover

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next