No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
193 COTTINGHAM ROAD , Hull, HU5 2EG
Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns is a traditional hotel set opposite Hull University. It features en suite rooms, free parking and an onsite pub.
The Flaming Grill pub and restaurant offers traditional pub fayre.

Each room at the Old Grey Mare Inn has a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee-making facilities and free Wi-Fi.

The hotel offers easy access to Hull's ferry services. The A1079 is less than half a mile away with nearby attractions including The Deep Aquarium, Wilberforce Museum, the Medieval Holy Trinity Church and the famous Humber Bridge."
Picture of Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns, Hull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute bargain
Couldn't fault it. Large room, friendly staff and cheap as chips.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
The rooms were very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
brian glover

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booking on line we were unsure what our accommodation would be like, but we needn't of worried as the room was clean and the bed comfortable. We were given a warm welcome and our evening meal and full English breakfast next day was excellent. Just one caution however there are many stairs up and down to reach your room so if you find this a challenge then this hotel is not for you.

Reviewed by
Celia Williams

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
A very clean and well decorated and designed room, not overlooked and no noise from the adjoining pub. Easy and apparently safe parking - always a concern - and friendly, helpful staff. Next time I come to Hull I'll be travelling with my wife and and I'm sure we'll be staying again. Strongly recommended.

Reviewed by
David S

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay, shame the breakfast is an extra, quiet stay, room was clean and had all we needed, very pleasant staff.

Reviewed by
ROY P

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very ejoyable stay.Had a good sleep in.a comfortable and very clean room despite a very full Friday night bar.Good service.

Reviewed by
Ann Perry

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old grey mare inn review
on the whole we enjoyed our stay at the old grey mare inn. you get what you pay for and this place was good for the price. The mattress was a little old and uncomfortable but the staff were fab and the food was excellent value for money

Reviewed by
alison hills

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

And the band played
I knew I was in trouble when I turned up at the hotel as I had not realised the hotel was above the pub. Everytime the waitress came out of the kitchen all I heard was a loud bang from the door closing this went on until 9pm and then joy of joys, the band started and did not finish until gone 10.30. it was so loud it was like I was in the bar. they should let people know if there is a band on when they are staying there, the food was ok even though at breakfast the waitresses just wanted to talk to each other rather than serve.

Reviewed by
Phillip H

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very good

Reviewed by
B Valambhia

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisy

Reviewed by
C Ezekwe

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next