No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angus Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Angus Hotel 14-16 Scotland Road, CARLISLE, CA3 9DG
A family run hotel located in the Stanwix part of Carlisle, just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre and 5 minutes to the Sands Centre for popular theatre and concerts. Facilities include free WiFi, restaurant and free parking.This large Victorian town house was built in 1850 where the Romans had a command headquarters for 1000 cavalry, so the hotel literally has their foundations on Hadrians Wall. Guests are assured of a relaxing stay and a warm and friendly welcome.

All bedrooms are tastefully styled and furnished, including all modern facilities guests would need to ensure a relaxing break including tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and radio clock alarm. All rooms have recently been decorated with new flat screen TVs, free wifi access and fully refurbished en-suite bathrooms.

The Angus is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful English Lake District, Eden Valley, Scottish Borders, Carlisle to Settle Railway, Carlisle Golf Course, Hadrians Wall Coast to Coast trail and Cumbrian Way, plus the Reivers Cycle Route. Walking, cycling and golfing groups are very welcome.

Visitors to Carlisle have a huge choice of activities from excellent theatres, galleries and museums to a variety of sporting facilities. Carlisle - the Border City - is the main shopping, commercial and industrial centre in the northern half of Cumbria, and a fair amount of southern Scotland. The Romans established a settlement here - primarily to serve the forts on Hadrian's Wall. In the 12th century, King Henry I allowed the founding of a religious establishment, later making the town a diocese, and thus making the Priory into a Cathedral.
special rate for guests to use a local gym.
Picture of Angus Hotel, CARLISLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great as always
I have stayed at the Angus a number of times over the past few years and have always found the quality, service and value for money to be excellent. The quality of the cooked breakfast is also first class.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Very good value with spotless rooms, good food and helpful proprieters.

Reviewed by
B Jackson

From Newbiggin by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Exellent accomodation, very clean and comfortable, the owners are very helpful and pleasant, made it very tempting to stay longer. the only let down i had was the breakfast i ordered - which was scrambled egg with salmon, i personally didn't like the two mixed together, other than that there was great choice and i felt satisfied with my stay here.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
We had a very comfortable overnight stay at the Angus Hotel.Our room was very comfortable and clean.The lady on ten reception was very welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alison Woods

From Frizington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel. Very Friendly staff And Great food.
Hotel was Fantastic lovely & clean first class food. Would stay again....

Reviewed by
paul rutherford

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really happy with accommodation , couldn't fault it . Friendly proprietors and food of a high standard . Centrally situated for Carlisle city centre and also easy to get to from M6 . Would be good as a base for visiting Lakes , Scottish Borders and Northern England .

Reviewed by
v davis

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Journey break
Nice hotel with staff to match

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice hotel good stay

Reviewed by
R Newman

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a night's stay at angus hotel
my stay at the Angus was a pleasant experience.the room's decor was very nice and the room was very clean

Reviewed by
lisa d

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, really friendly and helpful, would recommend.
Stayed at the Angus Hotel by default ( should have been in Edinburgh, long story!!). My daughter and I traveled back from Edinburgh after spending the day at the zoo and stayed in Carlisle on the way to the Lake District.. The Hotel was really nice, friendly and parking was easy. Breakfast was great and served in a really relaxed atmosphere. The Indian restaurant across the road was fabulous. Couldn't fault anything, would stay again.

Reviewed by
P Leach

From Darwen, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next