No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angus Hotel

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Angus Hotel 14-16 Scotland Road, CARLISLE, CA3 9DG
A family run hotel located in the Stanwix part of Carlisle, just a 10 minute walk to the City Centre and 5 minutes to the Sands Centre for popular theatre and concerts. Facilities include free WiFi, restaurant and free parking.This large Victorian town house was built in 1850 where the Romans had a command headquarters for 1000 cavalry, so the hotel literally has their foundations on Hadrians Wall. Guests are assured of a relaxing stay and a warm and friendly welcome.

All bedrooms are tastefully styled and furnished, including all modern facilities guests would need to ensure a relaxing break including tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, direct dial telephone and radio clock alarm. All rooms have recently been decorated with new flat screen TVs, free wifi access and fully refurbished en-suite bathrooms.

The Angus is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful English Lake District, Eden Valley, Scottish Borders, Carlisle to Settle Railway, Carlisle Golf Course, Hadrians Wall Coast to Coast trail and Cumbrian Way, plus the Reivers Cycle Route. Walking, cycling and golfing groups are very welcome.

Visitors to Carlisle have a huge choice of activities from excellent theatres, galleries and museums to a variety of sporting facilities. Carlisle - the Border City - is the main shopping, commercial and industrial centre in the northern half of Cumbria, and a fair amount of southern Scotland. The Romans established a settlement here - primarily to serve the forts on Hadrian's Wall. In the 12th century, King Henry I allowed the founding of a religious establishment, later making the town a diocese, and thus making the Priory into a Cathedral.
special rate for guests to use a local gym.
Picture of Angus Hotel, CARLISLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A last minute booking , we were delighted with the standard of accommodationand a great breakfast, next time we will book an evening meal as well. Will recommend to friends as a good stopping off place.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 1 Night on Business Trip
Room was very clean. Good broadband access for work. Breakfast was tasty and served promptly. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Selby

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Excellent customer service, really polite and friendly and keen to help at all times. Room was a little dated but was clean and tidy. Shower wasn't great as it changed temperature randomly but that was the only flaw really. Would stay here again!

Reviewed by
D Lea

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Friendly welcoming staff, a nice, very clean, quiet and up-to-date bedroom/en suite, excellent breakfast. The owners clearly put a lot of thought into making staying here a good experience for their guests. We were very pleased to find this hotel for our stopover in Carlisle and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
PAUL B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Pleasantly surprised. Good quality hotel with friendly helpful staff. Very close to the town with other amenities in easy walking distance eg supermarkets, pubs, good restaurants

Reviewed by
a wilson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small But Perfectly Formed
Really nice stop over, I guess it would make a nice base for exploring the region. The Angus made a nice change from the chains I normally use Good Food, Very Clean, the only minor draw back was the shower was a little weak but that's a personal preference.

Reviewed by
m phillips

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one night stay, room very well appointed and clean. Good breakfast, cooked to order.
Staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
f rae

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
My husband and I booked a last minute getaway. We had a truly wonderful experience at the hotel at an incredibly low price. The hospitality, our room and the quality of the food was excellent. The service we received was second to none. Thank you Angus Hotel.

Reviewed by
Helen Fisher

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient, economical accommodation close to city centre
An excellent choice for a visit to Carlisle and surrounding area.
Staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are clean, well appointed and quiet.
Breakfasts have plenty of choice; cooked or continental with plenty of variety and friendly service.
Visiting Carlisle can be a parking nightmare but this hotel issues a parking permit so there is no problem.
All in all a satisfying experience and well worth the very sensible tariff.

Reviewed by
Francis S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, very comfortable

Reviewed by
Ian Smith

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next