The Duke of Edinburgh

4

Abbey Road, Barrow in Furness, LA14 5QR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • laura miles

  • March 2015

excellent

We stayed here for one night as a treat for my husbands birthday.

The hotel was beautiful, and the food was divine. We had a very enjoyable relaxing weekend.

  • s Wilson

  • December 2014

Lovely clean hotel, shame that couple issues let our stay down.

Arrived Christmas day, had to look for someone to check is in after 5 minutes waiting at reception..

Room was lovely, bathroom spacious and clean. Bed very comfortable. The room we were given was room 10 right on the road so was quite noisy at times, also 1 of the other guests in decided to have an argument which we could hear after midnight not ideal. If was to stay again wouldn't like to be put in that room. Breakfast and bar staff were really nice and couldn't do enough for you. I didn't eat much of the breakfast as parts were quite dry sausage black pudding and the fried bread. It wasn't busy so no excuse really for how dried out the food was.. Only seemed to be someone on reception early morning.. No smiles no good morning afternoon etc. no eye contact at all. The young lad that booked us in was the only 1 to say good afternoon. Stayed in a couple of hotels in Barrow in Furness and I prefer the budget hotels than this one. 1st impressions are made when you walk through the door for the 1st time. Unfortunately 1st impressions weren't very good as unmanned reception desk and 4 staff standing in the bar chatting to me isn't a good impression.

  • Andrew C

  • December 2014

Sat night in barrow

Really nice room really clean

  • D Knock

  • November 2014

Lovely room, nice big shower, and a comfy bed

This is a lovely hotel, the car parking is a bit of an issue, as you have to cross a busy road twice, not ideal for elderly or infirm.

The staff seemed a bit half hearted with their service, no smile on arrival, had to chase toast for breakfast, only little things but other places are more on the ball with customer service. The bed was lovely and big and comfortable, complimentary toiletries are great. Great hotel, good value, food OK, give the breakfast coffee a miss as its usually been sat there too long.

  • Carole E

  • November 2014

A nice and friendly hotel in a central location.

I've stayed here before and have always received good service.

  • rachael wells

  • October 2014

loved it

£85 for an executive room is a bargain.ive been to b&b's that cost that price with no luxury.

Bathroom is beautiful and is the only hotel ive ever stayed in.where ive had a bath.we had a walk in shower.

The mattress was perfect. I need one..best sleep ive had in a long time..large screen led tv was a plus.sofa.plenty of cishions and pillows

the building is fantastically restored to tje highest standard.

Staff are polite and helpful

breakfast was hot with ample coffee

i will most certainly book again

  • J Mills

  • October 2014

generally good - poor bed

We were upgraded to a superior room after booking a standard room which was great and the room décor and size etc...

were good.

The main disappointment was the quality of the mattress. It was very old and had two large depressions either side. Springs easily felt through top of mattress and therefore not possible to have a good night's sleep. So the most important aspect of any hotel room was the point that let it all down in this instance. Room very hot (24 degrees) too and 6 inch opening on single window made it difficult to cool.

  • Sharon W

  • June 2014

Great hotel

Hotel & staff very good but wouldn't stay again because of the car park location ( car was scratched )

  • Nina C

  • May 2014

Fantastic hotel in Barrow in Furness

We stayed here whilst visiting some friends who recommended the Duke of Edinburgh to us.

We arrived early (midday) and I asked at reception what time check in was. I was told 3 o'clock but that he would do his best to have our room ready for 1o'clock. We went out for an hour and when we returned our room was ready and we were able to check in. We were also given an upgrade to an executive room which was amazing. The bed was really comfortable, the temperature of the room was perfect and we had the best nights sleep. Everything was clean even though there were workmen on the lower floors of the hotel. Can't fault this hotel really friendly staff and a nice bar to end your night in. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stephen W

  • May 2014

Outstanding, well led & managed staff

From the first contact with reception, the first encounter at the bar, at breakfast and at dinner the staff were all friendly, accommodating and very helpful.

High quality individuals showing all the hallmarks of excellent leadership. We have not experienced better.