No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Leas, Clifton Gardens , Folkestone, CT20 2EB
Our traditional Victorian style hotel, dating back to 1864, is situated in the centre of the famous Leas. As such, guests will overlook the English Channel at BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel, as our friendly staff oversees their every need! The view's just as impressive inside, with 80 well-furnished bedrooms, five comfortable meeting rooms, a relaxing restaurant and an inviting bar. Business and pleasure are catered here in style, in a peaceful location just ten minutes from Folkestone's town centre, and close to the M20. The Eurotunnel is just three miles away for those who want easy access to the Continent and Dover is only seven miles from the hotel should you prefer to set sail from another famous port town!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had great room the only complaint shower room a bit snug.
Second time we have stayed at the Clifton all staff were lovely breakfast was great room overlooked garden, we had a lovely stay thanks.

Reviewed by
J Raistrick

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food/service
Although the hotel was fairly busy with people staying we didn't have a problem the first morning however on the second, though less people, it took nearly half an hour to receive our breakfast following us ordering it.Also a lot of used tables were left uncleared for long periods which seemed odd because there were 3 waiters on hand, but seemed to disappear for long periods.
Secondly,on both evenings we ordered bar meals which were very slow to appear, almost 45 minutes the second evening and the food (chicken on skewers with plain rice and small nan bread) was far from appetisingThe chicken was very dry, felt as if it had been cooked the day before ! A sauce to go on the rice would have been welcome, but there was no option to have any, so I think the chef needs to think again ,overall disappointing to say the least.

Reviewed by
M PARKES

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions now and have never been disappointed, there are some lovely rooms with great sea views.

Reviewed by
phil c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Who let the dogs out!!
The hotel info said 'no pets in public rooms'. We were very disappointed to see several dogs with owners in the lounge bar. The dogs were barking and growling not what we would want for a pleasant evening. There were other people who had pets in their rooms

Reviewed by
David L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly,helpful staff, very enjoyable stay.
lovely view of sea and private gardens, staff gave a wonderful service; even going the extra mile to help. would have liked some sort of grab rail to assist when getting out of over shower bath, as I am slightly mobility impaired.

Reviewed by
Theresa B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
My husband and I had an overnight stay here and will certainly return for a longer break.
Delightful and charming with some splendid walks from the hotel and along the beautiful promenade.
The service was discrete, professional and friendly.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From West Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Bank holiday weekend stay 2014 at Clifton Hotel
The hotel was quirky and olde worlde with a rather scary lift , We stayed in one of the 3rd floor front Bedrooms and had a sea view to the left of the window, food was excellent and we appreciated the friendliness of the staff, they were always polite, helpful and courteous but the noise from the bar across the road spoilt our stay there although it wasn't anything that the Clifton Hotel did or could control.
We were kept awake until 2-3am both nights of our stay by shouting, laughing and screaming outside in the street and considering the travelling we did from Northumberland to Folkestone and back to Northumberland it left us very tired.
It's a shame that other people not connected to the Clifton Hotel are ruining what could have been a great stay.

Reviewed by
P Tetlow

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
It has to be said that the majority of the staff were not particularly helpful. There was one waiter and one waiter only that was helpful and had good customer service skills. The rest were simply not up to the mark...

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Misinformed about parking but should have known better, interesting hotel though
There was a mix up with parking arrangements where receptionist informed that parking outside the front door was ok as we had a parking pass however woke in the morning to find we had a parking ticket? There was an event in the theatre across the road but receptionist unable to inform us what was on.

Reviewed by
D O'Cadhain

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room clean, bed comfy although it was a little hot
.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next