No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Helm Road , Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA
Situated just 100 yards above the centre of the village of Bowness on Windermere the Hydro Hotel offers wonderful panoramic views over the north of Lake Windermere and is close enough to the village for you to explore! Built in 1873 - the Hydro is a wonderful Victorian hotel tastefully modernised to cater for today's discerning visitors and in a building adjacent to the Hydro is our own indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and gymnasium. The Hydro has 78 tastefully decorated bedrooms, all en suite with TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and computer point. The comfortable bar overlooks the lake and has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits all priced competitively. The Hydro also has a large number of public rooms that make it an ideal conference and wedding venue. The southern fells of the lake district are just a short distance away and if you want to try something less strenuous then golf can be booked at Windermere Golf Club (tee times subject to availability) or why not try a cruise on the Hotel's 36 foot yacht on Windermere in the company of the resident skipper.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely old spa hotel with lots to offer especially a fantastic bathroom with our room
recommended

Reviewed by
T Mills

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I had a very enjoyable evening to celebrate our anniversary. Even though the weather outside was wet and very wintery as middle January but our room was so cosy and warm lovely and warm which was a very pleasant surprise. The room we had was very spacious with sitting areas which had a tv this then led to a lovely clean double bed which was very comfy. From the bedroom you had a large balcony and the views over Windermere were superb even in the rain. Yes the carpet is getting a bit tired but you look past that.

Reviewed by
margaret a

From Gretna, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel in fantastic position, overlooking Lake Windemere
We loved this Hotel, as it has loads of character . The staff were very good, especially in the restaurant, . The lady in charge of the restaurant was ultra efficient, and I wish all hotels had someone like her in charge. The food was excellent.
Our room was large with wonderfull views over the lake. The bathroom was superb, with large bath and shower room, and had twin sinks.
The only negative about this hotel, is that it could do with a lick of paint here and there, but overall it was of high standard. We had full use of the indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb 2 day stay, food excellent

Reviewed by
G Cartwright

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with plenty of charm. Staff helpful. Great views. value for money.

Reviewed by
LESLIE S

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely victorian style hotel
Couldn't fault anythign except the weather but thats the lakes fro you. Food was nice had both quanity and quality.

Reviewed by
alan f

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hydro visit
Staff were friendly and helpful and gave good service.
Food was very good with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
D Simpson

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall the accommodation was fine. The hotel is a little bit tired and could do with modernising but it was spotless and the staff were friendly and polite.

Reviewed by
R Chambers

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay at the Hydro.
Food was excellent. Staff mostly foreign were very very friendly and most helpfull. Swimming pool and sauna were lovely.Some negatives about our stay.Drinks in the bar were very over priced. Bedroom carpet was filthy. Double bed was two slngles pushed together. Decor of the hotel was very tired and poor. Probably not book there on our next visit to Windermere.

Reviewed by
PAUL M

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location!
The hotel was ideally positioned for us, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful lake Windermere and even shorter walk to the local shops and eateries. The breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice and certainly tasted good. The room was clean but fairly basic but who is going to spend much time in their room when there is so much to see and do? Will definitely stay at the hotel again hopefully for longer next time.

Reviewed by
t mann

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next