Hydro Hotel

3

Helm Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA

Price From 229.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (121)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Emma W

  • April 2015

Poor checking in experience

Overall we had a nice stay- the hotel is well positioned in Bowness with lake views, the room was clean and the breakfast was good.

Our first impressions and checking in experience was poor. Despite booking a standard double room we were told there were none available on arrival, and if we wanted a double room we would need to pay an additional £40 for a lake view double. A twin was available, which we were shown but it wasn't great, especially for a much looked forward to weekend away so we were shown the upgraded double. I asked the reception why a double hadn't been reserved for us as per our booking but wasn't given any kind of explanation or apology and was told I would need to pay the additional or take the twin. Luckily another guest arrived at the reception to complain at the same time - they'd booked a twin and were told only doubles were available so weren't happy with their room- we arranged to swap with each other. Customer service was lacking. We were also told on our booking confirmation that the pool etc was closed for works - but when we arrived it was available but we hadn't brought swim wear.

  • BERNARD H

  • April 2015

Hydro Hotel

Simply Lovely

  • Thomas McGrotty

  • April 2015

Late booking

Staff were very friendly & helpful, both dinner & breakfast were of a very high standard, very tasty, looked and tasted very good.

  • Greg W

  • March 2015

Nicer on inside than out

Hotel was a little tired in appearance.

Inside was a good space. Room also a little tired, but comfortable and very clean. Only disappointment was the pool/sauna area was not working which is one of reasons why I had chosen this accommodation. I also thought with how quiet the hotel was that a nice Windermere facing room could have been provided instead of looking over the closed pool area. Food was excellent and service was also very good. Summary - good value for money, good service, no working pool at time of my stay (March 2015), would rate the hotel at 8.5/10 and would consider staying again.

  • Derek O

  • March 2015

It was OK

Old property in need of some work Leisure facilities not available Not many people staying during the week so it felt a little strange i.e.

having breakfast alone in a 100+ dining room

Need to look at the housekeeping service as the room needed properly attending to i.e.

making the bed properly

The dining room staff were great

  • margaret a

  • February 2015

My husband and I had a very enjoyable evening to celebrate our anniversary.

Even though the weather outside was wet and very wintery as middle January but our room was so cosy and warm lovely and warm which was a very pleasant surprise. The room we had was very spacious with sitting areas which had a tv this then led to a lovely clean double bed which was very comfy. From the bedroom you had a large balcony and the views over Windermere were superb even in the rain. Yes the carpet is getting a bit tired but you look past that.

  • T Mills

  • January 2015

a lovely old spa hotel with lots to offer especially a fantastic bathroom with our room

recommended

  • Stephen C

  • November 2014

Lovely Hotel in fantastic position, overlooking Lake Windemere

We loved this Hotel, as it has loads of character .

The staff were very good, especially in the restaurant, . The lady in charge of the restaurant was ultra efficient, and I wish all hotels had someone like her in charge. The food was excellent. Our room was large with wonderfull views over the lake. The bathroom was superb, with large bath and shower room, and had twin sinks.

The only negative about this hotel, is that it could do with a lick of paint here and there, but overall it was of high standard. We had full use of the indoor swimming pool and sauna.

  • G Cartwright

  • November 2014

Superb 2 day stay, food excellent

  • LESLIE S

  • November 2014

Hotel with plenty of charm. Staff helpful. Great views. value for money.