No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Helm Road , Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA
Situated just 100 yards above the centre of the village of Bowness on Windermere the Hydro Hotel offers wonderful panoramic views over the north of Lake Windermere and is close enough to the village for you to explore! Built in 1873 - the Hydro is a wonderful Victorian hotel tastefully modernised to cater for today's discerning visitors and in a building adjacent to the Hydro is our own indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and gymnasium. The Hydro has 78 tastefully decorated bedrooms, all en suite with TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and computer point. The comfortable bar overlooks the lake and has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits all priced competitively. The Hydro also has a large number of public rooms that make it an ideal conference and wedding venue. The southern fells of the lake district are just a short distance away and if you want to try something less strenuous then golf can be booked at Windermere Golf Club (tee times subject to availability) or why not try a cruise on the Hotel's 36 foot yacht on Windermere in the company of the resident skipper.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired decor but relaxing!
Hotel is a bit tired looking in places, but spotlessly clean. Bedrooms have all you need, comfy beds, tea/coffee etc. bathrooms a bit small but well equipped with towels/toiletries. Pleasant airy dining room, breakfast hot & cold buffet (beautifully cooked & more than enough),staff all pleasant, helpful frequently asking if more tea/coffee wanted, some guests requested poached eggs, this done promptly and with a smile. Plates cleared away promptly( 1 of my pet hates is when they are still there when you are finished your meal!) Pleasantly surprised as was a bit dubious after reading some reviews but would definitely stay here again. Its a short stroll down to the main areas of Bowness- Excellent!

Reviewed by
B Hodgson

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apart from the waste food that had been left in the bin from the previous occupants of the room, it was an excellent stay.

Reviewed by
G Parks

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hydro Hotel review
The hotel looked nice from the outside and is in an good location with nice views over the lake. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The interior of the hotel is very dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. The room furniture needs to go on a bonfire and the carpet was grubby. We only had breakfast in the hotel and thought it was average.

Reviewed by
J Wood

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Excellent value, room had a fabulous view of Lake Windermere. Dated but pleasant interior within the hotel with original Victorian fittings and style. The room was spacious and clean with a dated interior, perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
Frances B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a little dated and tired and the room above was very creaky. On the whole though I enjoyed my stay and the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
andrew D

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely views over Lake, Hotel spotlessly clean and staff wonderful
Welcome was warm and genuine, bedroom was large with wonderful dual aspect of lake view, breakfast is buffet style, food was very tasty and fresh, good variety to choose from, waiting staff very quick with hot drinks and happy to assist, would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
D Watson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Our second stop in this hotel and although I wouldn't like to think I had paid full price for this hotel the £75 through Laterooms.com was excellent value.

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What once was grand is now old and tired (and a bit tatty in places).
This large hotel is up a steep hill, a little way away from the town centre. The entrance is straight oposite a council estate. You can tell that this was once a splendid place but it has become very tired and dated. The carpets in the halls and on the stairs are threadbare in places and the seams are stuck together with Duck tape. The room was rather small and the bed very uncomfortable with springs that groaned at every move. The en-suite was minute. I really mean it when I say that we saw loads of fatter people in the town that simply would not have been able to squeeze past the wash basin to get to the toilet. The TV was a very old 14" model (not flat screen) with a remote control that did not work. The worst thing was that the room was very hot and there was no fan. The room faced onto the back of the building and was immediately above what appeared to be the staff smoking venue. At midnight, there was a group of eastern Europeans directly under the window, loudly discussing the world. Very difficult to sleep. Would we go there again? No! and at £110.00 it was more expensive than the much better hotel that we stayed at the night before in Ambleside.

Reviewed by
ken hawley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tries hard - but not quite
Tired room - bed lumpy - pillows cumfy. No biscuits with tea/coffee facilities. TV ancient but worked - OK. View from window fabulous. WIFI very unreliable in public rooms where i was told it was only available there - when i got back to room the WIFI was excellent. The Pool was excellent - changing rooms could do with make-over and needs at least soap for handwashing and shower. Breakfast OK. Waiting staff for breakfast - excellent. Receptionist could do with some customer service training.

Reviewed by
Janette B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel needs some talc but very good value for money my Wife and I have staid in worse 4 star rated hotels, the food was excellent as was the service and the Staff were very friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
G Muir

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next