Reviews - Hydro Hotel


Helm Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA

Price From 133.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Hazel Willmott

  • October 2015

Wonderful position but cannot possibly recommend this hotel

Very disappointed in this hotel.

The room was so pokey and our friends had a really scruffy room next door. There was no hot water in the shower at 22.00

The swimming pool was a dash across the forecourt and the water was cold. Sauna good and the tiny jacuzzi OK

Worst of all was the food and service in the dining room. The quality of the evening meal was abysmal with cheap prawns and sauce out of a jar; all cheap and downmarket choices. Awful white wine recommended by waiter; service completely lacking at breakfast; no fresh fruit at breakfast at all. Very disappointing and it is no good having a 1 1/2 million pound refit of reception rooms when the rest of the hotel is so poor. Sorry but there it is. The Lake District was really busy but we wondered why there were so few folk in the dining room!!!

  • J Cousins

  • September 2015

Stay was ok but

Hotel in lovely position.

On booking in was told needed to pay up front, not sure why, paid cash. Handed key in next day and said to receptionist "is that everything" as she didn't say much and she said yes. Just got in car and had a call to say that we had not paid, said we had paid cash yesterday (same girl) and she said oh yes, and that she would sort it out. Later that day we had a call from another girl to say we had not paid, advised her of previous conversation only to be told the till had not been wrong when cashed up. She said would look into it. Heard nothing so rang back later to be told yes she had spoken to other girl and yes we had paid. My mistake was not getting a receipt for the payment. Worried that we might be chased later for non payment we called next morning and spoke to second girl who called us. She did give us a copy of the receipt confirming payment. It caused quite a lot of stress to us on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend. We are honest people and this was upsetting.

We did also mention a leak in the bathroom when the shower was turned on, water poured out of the join in the shower glass

  • Mike D

  • August 2015


Picked this hotel because of the location and the spa.

We had a good weekend but the hotel wasn't the best. I could imagine it being great in its day about 30 years ago. The room reminded me of a B & B in Blackpool that you'd pay £20 a night for. The Jacuzzi wasn't working either while we were there which only left the pool and sauna. The hotel had four coach loads of Japanese tourists there while we were there which I don't have a problem with as they were very polite and quiet. If your thinking of using the gym you have a selection of one treadmill a bike and a mat to do some abs on . Would I stay there again - possibly yes because of the location & the views!

  • andrew c

  • August 2015


changed rooms three times this as never been luxury 145.00 for a disgusting room very poor old cracked bathroom floors .mould.rotten windows will let you view yourself and no refund a extra charge of 20.00 the staff did try to help

avoid no luxury here

  • Daniel C

  • August 2015

Really nice

We only stayed for the one night, but it was a really pleasant experience and the staff were incredibly friendly.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • James h

  • July 2015

Windermere hydro

We have been to this hotel before at a wedding thought iit was perfectly situated in Windermere so we booked as guests to visit the staff were very friendly and obliging on arrival we were upgraded to the honey moon suite which we thought brilliant as it was are wedding anniversary when we got to the very clean and the view was spectacular looking over the lake and village are evening meal was very good even my wife finished and enjoyed it which is unusual for her the breakfast again was nice sat in a pleasant room

The only down side of the whole place was the the building was tired there were cracked everywhere due to the age off the place

In need of a complete renovation through out and upgrade the decor the old furniture looked right for the place but would go back for the views again

  • D Talbot

  • June 2015

Clean and functional

Room was clean and functional but dated, the TV was small and I am sure I booked a double bed but got a twin however on checking the receipt It did say Twin so can't fault the hotel here.

But the view was non existent out the window. However the front of the hotel was nice to sit in and talk. Overall as old hotel dated rooms and needs upgrading however free wifi throughout and needs A information leaflet in each room about the hotel facilities only found the swimming pool on the last day.

  • Emma W

  • April 2015

Poor checking in experience

Overall we had a nice stay- the hotel is well positioned in Bowness with lake views, the room was clean and the breakfast was good.

Our first impressions and checking in experience was poor. Despite booking a standard double room we were told there were none available on arrival, and if we wanted a double room we would need to pay an additional £40 for a lake view double. A twin was available, which we were shown but it wasn't great, especially for a much looked forward to weekend away so we were shown the upgraded double. I asked the reception why a double hadn't been reserved for us as per our booking but wasn't given any kind of explanation or apology and was told I would need to pay the additional or take the twin. Luckily another guest arrived at the reception to complain at the same time - they'd booked a twin and were told only doubles were available so weren't happy with their room- we arranged to swap with each other. Customer service was lacking. We were also told on our booking confirmation that the pool etc was closed for works - but when we arrived it was available but we hadn't brought swim wear.


  • April 2015

Hydro Hotel

Simply Lovely

  • Thomas McGrotty

  • April 2015

Late booking

Staff were very friendly & helpful, both dinner & breakfast were of a very high standard, very tasty, looked and tasted very good.