No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Helm Road , Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA
Situated just 100 yards above the centre of the village of Bowness on Windermere the Hydro Hotel offers wonderful panoramic views over the north of Lake Windermere and is close enough to the village for you to explore! Built in 1873 - the Hydro is a wonderful Victorian hotel tastefully modernised to cater for today's discerning visitors and in a building adjacent to the Hydro is our own indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and gymnasium. The Hydro has 78 tastefully decorated bedrooms, all en suite with TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and computer point. The comfortable bar overlooks the lake and has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits all priced competitively. The Hydro also has a large number of public rooms that make it an ideal conference and wedding venue. The southern fells of the lake district are just a short distance away and if you want to try something less strenuous then golf can be booked at Windermere Golf Club (tee times subject to availability) or why not try a cruise on the Hotel's 36 foot yacht on Windermere in the company of the resident skipper.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location!
The hotel was ideally positioned for us, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful lake Windermere and even shorter walk to the local shops and eateries. The breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice and certainly tasted good. The room was clean but fairly basic but who is going to spend much time in their room when there is so much to see and do? Will definitely stay at the hotel again hopefully for longer next time.

Reviewed by
t mann

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekday break
Good hotel seeking to improve. Helpful interested and efficient staff.

Reviewed by
w beattie

From Dumbarton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and peaceful
I would recommend this hotel. We had a very pleasant two day stay. Hotel was clean, food was decent and all staff were polite and attentive..

Reviewed by
p black

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotlessly clean, great position, fab service, but a little run down.
This Victorian Hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of Bowness on Windermere and has easy parking and spectacular views from my room.
The room was huge and very comfortable. The tv was tiny and has basic freeview. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. Infact despite the general tlc needed on decor the place was immaculate - very tidy and thoroughly cleaned. Yes there is peeling paint and a cracked tile here and there - but it's a Victorian family run hotel with character not a chain hotel.
The room was very comfy and the service was fantastic. The food was really nice and the waiting staff were very attentive.
After a long day in the hills the jacuzzi and pol were lovely. Again spotless and well monitored by the hotel. Yes it was out of the main building - but this means no meeting fat, hairy blokes in their swim shorts in the elevator as has happened before in other hotels.
For the price and location I was happy with the hotel. Clean and good service, easy parking and decent food. I like a hotel with character and have stayed at other, more expensive hydro hotels and found them similarly needing TLC.
There is no wifi - something that they need to fix as we ended up in the local pub to check emails when we'd rather have sat by the open fire in the welcoming bar area.
All in all I did like my stay here. A great base for walking in the hills and room 6 has a great big bath for relaxing in and has great views up the lake.

Reviewed by
caroline m

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience

Reviewed by
Silvia V

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake Distrct Visit
First room offered was totally unacceptable but was then given a lovely room. Only had breakfast in the hotel and the food is excellent and staff very attentive. Enjoyed my stay there.

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay very relaxing service can't fault food excellent room very spacious andvery clean I would recommend your hotel to all our friends and family

Reviewed by
e innes

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bargain brake
Hydro is a lovely big victorian hotel , some may say its tired & dated, I think it's full of character & charm, it is what it is an old building.
If your looking for a nice relaxing stay at the lakes you can't go wrong.

Reviewed by
b revill

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we enjoyed our holiday very much . the hotel exceeded our expectations the food was excellent and the portions generous

Reviewed by
c webber

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very large and comfortable room, good food, nice spa
Great location for touring South Lake District. Enormous room with three beds and view over Windermere. Slightly dated, especially bathroom, but perfectly adequate, and spotless. Good food (self-service breakfast, we also had one dinner there, there is a vast choice of other places to eat in Bowness). The Hydro is an interesting place (older than most other Bowness buildings). Good cask beer in bar. Spa very nice, slightly awkward access (in another building).

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next