No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Helm Road , Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA
Situated just 100 yards above the centre of the village of Bowness on Windermere the Hydro Hotel offers wonderful panoramic views over the north of Lake Windermere and is close enough to the village for you to explore! Built in 1873 - the Hydro is a wonderful Victorian hotel tastefully modernised to cater for today's discerning visitors and in a building adjacent to the Hydro is our own indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and gymnasium. The Hydro has 78 tastefully decorated bedrooms, all en suite with TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and computer point. The comfortable bar overlooks the lake and has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits all priced competitively. The Hydro also has a large number of public rooms that make it an ideal conference and wedding venue. The southern fells of the lake district are just a short distance away and if you want to try something less strenuous then golf can be booked at Windermere Golf Club (tee times subject to availability) or why not try a cruise on the Hotel's 36 foot yacht on Windermere in the company of the resident skipper.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Short Break
We had a nice, large room with a very large en-suite and views over the lake. We booked in for two nights DB&B which was very good value. Staff were all friendly and helpful; the small spa was enjoyable although we had to turn on the sauna ourselves. Food was simple but of good quality; breakfast was a plentiful buffet. Drinks prices akin to pub prices. We would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Q Fontana

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special treat for a nights break in lakeland.
We had a wonderful nights stay at the Hydro.It was a special treat for us , we just had time for a one night stay.Wonderful staff, and Tracy kindly upgraded us, and we had a gorgeous room with a balcony overlooking the lake.Weather was fantastic too.Thank you Hydro and brilliant staff,we will return.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great old hotel on top of the hill.
Fabulous hotel. Great bedroom. Fabulous breakfast dining room. Breakfast was really good everything tasted just really good.

Reviewed by
roger h

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian Windermere hotel
The hotel offered good accommodation and friendly service in a grand old Victorian hotel, in a location near to the ferry port so giving good access to lake Windermere.

Reviewed by
r wilkinson

From Hertfordshire, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
This hotel is dated if you want luxury or if you don't like climbing stairs do not go.
However, it was value for money, breakfast was plentiful, breakfast staff attentive and receptionist very pleasant, the en suite bathroom clean and bed comfy, room walls are thin though . Plenty of space to park the car and convenient to wander into Bowness. I am guessing that many of the rooms had fab views, ours was ok. Would I stay again probably not as I felt quite enclosed due to rambling nature of rooms and narrow stairways.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
I only booked a single room but got a double at no extra charge.
Restaurant and bar staff were particularly professional and polite.
Lake view from the bedroom window was excellent, using a late booking facility I expected a poor room at the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Allen H

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend chill

Reviewed by
Alan B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired decor but relaxing!
Hotel is a bit tired looking in places, but spotlessly clean. Bedrooms have all you need, comfy beds, tea/coffee etc. bathrooms a bit small but well equipped with towels/toiletries. Pleasant airy dining room, breakfast hot & cold buffet (beautifully cooked & more than enough),staff all pleasant, helpful frequently asking if more tea/coffee wanted, some guests requested poached eggs, this done promptly and with a smile. Plates cleared away promptly( 1 of my pet hates is when they are still there when you are finished your meal!) Pleasantly surprised as was a bit dubious after reading some reviews but would definitely stay here again. Its a short stroll down to the main areas of Bowness- Excellent!

Reviewed by
B Hodgson

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apart from the waste food that had been left in the bin from the previous occupants of the room, it was an excellent stay.

Reviewed by
G Parks

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hydro Hotel review
The hotel looked nice from the outside and is in an good location with nice views over the lake. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The interior of the hotel is very dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. The room furniture needs to go on a bonfire and the carpet was grubby. We only had breakfast in the hotel and thought it was average.

Reviewed by
J Wood

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next