No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Ripon Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SY
Situated in the heart of Harrogate on the main A61 road to Ripon and adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre's Exhibition Halls and Royal Hall, the elegant, spacious St.George Hotel is ideally situated for an enjoyable break for individuals, couples and families alike. This spacious Edwardian hotel is an ideal retreat for a weekend break. As soon as you arrive at the hotel, you will immediately feel a sense of warmth and relaxation. After a stroll around Harrogate or a visit to one of many local attractions, relax and unwind in the extensive lounge area where you can enjoy afternoon tea or a light snack. Alternatively, why not indulge yourself in the hotel?s leisure club with an indoor heated pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym, weights room and solarium. Beauty treatments are also available to hotel guests at a small charge. As evening approaches, enjoy a drink in the Terrace Bar before a sumptuous meal in the hotel's restaurant, offering an extensive menu and wine list. Limited on site parking is charged at £5 per car per day. Please contact the hotel to reserve a space.
Picture of St George Hotel and Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a little bit shabby but quite spacious and beds were very comfortable. The linen and towels were very clean. The room was warm and there was a spacious ensuite bathroom with plenty of hot water and a bath! The main bonus is the swimming pool which is easily accessible and open until 9 pm.

Reviewed by
J Bates

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St George Hotel and Spa
It looks as though it needs a lot of money spending on it, worn carpets, flaking paint, Food was awefull

Reviewed by
A Tilney

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor service
The room was a bit dated, but OK. I was asked if I wanted to book breakfast when I arrived, which I did. At seven I went to the bar and ordered some food with a side order and a beer. No draught beer available so I ordered a Guinness. A can of Guinness was served for £4.05!!!!! As for the food I waited over an hour and then they served the side order, when I asked where was the main course I was asked if I still wanted it? I complained to the manager, who didn't apologise, he just said the kitchen was busy. I walked to the Wetherspoons over the road and had a meal. I also went there for breakfast. The hotel still wanted to charge me for breakfast even after I told them I was cancelling after the poor service the evening before. finally sorted the bill and left......I won't be going back.

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect spa break
Room and spa perfect enjoyed stay will go again

Reviewed by
k bennett

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
we enjoyed our stay the hotel staff were very helpful. its a nice hotel but looking a bit tired,needs a revamp. but will still go back,good value for the money.

Reviewed by
maureen sandow

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and dirty
This hotel has had its day and really needs a refurbishment. The room wasn't clean. Behind the bed was disgusting. The TV only showed certain channels with BBC1 and 2 missing. Luckily it was a short notice stay for one night only. Not very nice.

Reviewed by
John S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad at all
Was fairly put off by the amount of negative comments about this Hotel and had started to regret booking it. However there was very little wrong at all my single room was a decent size with a modern bathroom and decor. Yes, the corridor carpets and wallpaper where pretty tired and a littl scruffy in places but who sits in a corridor all day!
Staff where polite and friendly and when I asked for directions I was given a map and had my route drawn out on it. I found the parking system good too and to have an allocated space all day and night for £5 was a bargain considering location.
No problems at all and would stay again.

Reviewed by
R Lax

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night leisure stay
The hotel is in a good location, but one of the reasons for booking was because we had read in the hotel details that there was parking at the rear of the hotel. When we checked in we told that all parking was reserved and we would have to move our car. The nearest free street parking was a ten minute walk away. Not ideal with luggage.
Our room was drab and the bathroom had a lot of black mould on the ceiling area. All the upstairs area that we saw was in need of refurbishment. It could be a beautiful hotel but not worth £110.00 late booking fee that we paid. We both felt disappointed.

Reviewed by
m Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay
Room was nice and close to entrance, shower pressure could have been better but everything else was good.

Reviewed by
Christian E

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay but 2 major disapointment
Lovely location right on the main road not noisy bit over priced for the room we stayed in especially as breakfast wasnt included in the price. This should be reconsidered. Also when booking charge extra fircar parking yet its only very small and seams to be on a first come first served basis. There was a wedding in during my stay so this couldnt be helped. Also there was no night porter a couple were waiting 45mins to get into the hotel we eventually got in but not to have a night porter manning a hotel this size is a disapointment. Overall good stay friendly staff nice hotel would come back again if breakfast was included n not charged extra.

Reviewed by
Kim Panther

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next