Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Poole Hotels > Shah of Persia by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shah of Persia by Marstons Inns

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
173 LONGFLEET ROAD , POOLE, BH15 2HS
Once graced by a Persian King - now open to all! The Shah of Persia offers a warm welcome and is ideally located on a bustling crossroads on the main route to and from Poole Town Centre. We offer 14 recently refurbished (February 2011) non-smoking rooms with full en-suite facilities including free WiFi, flatscreen digital TVs and tea and coffee facilites.

The Shah of Persia now also offers a fantastic Two-For-One deal on all Main Courses, Specials and Sunday Lunches in our cosy Pub-Restaurant atmosphere, served until 10pm daily. The busy bar is open until 11pm and serves a wide variety of drinks and boasts a great choice of cask ales! The inn is popular with visitors and locals alike and is situated within a short drive of many attractions, such as the white beaches of Sandbanks, the bustling and ever changing harbour and the rolling Purbeck Hills. We are also within easy access of Buses (two stops outside), two Rail Stations (Poole and Parkstone) and Poole Hospital.
Picture of Shah of Persia by Marstons Inns, POOLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value pub accommodation
We had room 2 which was huge - slightly faded furniture but clean. Next to a busy road junction but double glazing worked well. Very good breakfast.
Only snag is that it is a pub and therefore has no after hours service. We arrived on a late ferry and just got there by 10:30pm when they were shutting up. Apparently if you want to arrive late then you have to tell them and they will give you a code for the back door.

Reviewed by
Timothy K

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
good location not far from town centre and train station and Poole habour

Reviewed by
N Wrigley

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value, clean and comfortable
We were really impressed with the accomodation, it was clean and very comfortable. You couldn't hear the pub at all from the room unless you had the window open. Overall superb value for what we paid. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
Jennifer G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was freinly good location good food and the staff very helpful

Reviewed by
lewis c

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Weekend stay for Poole
Chose this Hotel for weekend visiting relatives, found the staff to be very very helpful, pleasent welcome as we arrived, smooth booking in process, rooms were clean, bed's comfy, pillows well everyone has they're own favourite pillow don't they lol but they were good too, bathroom was clean as well as a nice hot flowing shower, breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to order, well presented and a mix of cereal as well as a cooked full English, even when my daughters car broke down and waiting for a tow truck the staff made us some coffee and toast while we waited,my family will without doubt be staying here again thank you all staff at Shah Of Persia.

Reviewed by
Kevin K

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shah of Persia. Poole. Dorset
The Shah is slightly run down and in need of decorative investment. Shabby but not chic. The staff, on arrival and departure, were both friendly and efficient. The room (1) was of a reasonable size and pretty clean, although we had to ask for bedding for the sofa bed. The shah is situated a short distance from the Quayside area of Poole, a £7 cab ride away. We only stayed one night as we were breaking a journey further west, that was probably long enough! Very good breakfast in the morning. To sum up, very good value for money in a, somewhat basic and a little run down pub. I'd return if I needed to

Reviewed by
Mark D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The stables but more like converted garages
Was very highly disappointed with this accommodation, would definitely not go again, they call it the stables but is more like converted garages

Reviewed by
S Luke

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The bed was very comfortable & linen was clean., but the room [outside rooms] was in a poor state of decoration. the showers tiling had black mould in grout, room had cobwebs, top of toilet cistern had black dirty top.
skirting board in room was dusty & in need of decoration & furniture was not dusted.
all in all the room needed a good clean and paint job.
The room however was warm, water was hot, carpet was a bit dirty though.

Reviewed by
neill saunders

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shah of Persia by Marstons Inns
The staff were brillant also the manager. Value for money was 100 per cent. The only problem with the stay was the beds. The mattresses need updating very lumpy.

Reviewed by
yvonne andre

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely couplr of days. The staff especially Jenny and Mary were so kind and helpful
nothing was too much trouble. This was our 4th stay at The Shah of Persia and hope to return.

Reviewed by
Lynda H

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next