Reviews - Shah of Persia by Marstons Inns



Price From 148.91 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (38)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • s robinson

  • September 2015

great pub top food

Really great place to stay bus stops outside and close to two towns top food 2 for 1 meals and 20% for guests, only let down by a bit dated decor and furniture, and some road noise, needs good double glazing

  • M ahmad

  • April 2015

Value for money

It's ok but not good as compared to other hotels in poole on same price.

  • Dean R

  • March 2015

Good value, good service, kept it simple

Rooms were better than we expected, although we did have a double bed to share instead of a twin but once some ground rules were set in place, there was no awkwardness.

Would book again

  • Pat W

  • February 2015

Short stay

Good location for what we needed, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, food average and hotel needs refurb.

We had one of the external rooms and it was noisy with the traffic on the main road. If we needed to stay again we would have one of the internal rooms.

  • Gordon C

  • February 2015


Room a dated but ok.

However this is reflected in the price. We stayed for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good and really very well priced. This is an ideal hotel for a couple of days stay. I will certainly be going back. Great value for money. Thank you Shah of Persia.

I have already recommended to friends

  • janet B

  • January 2015

worth another stay

straightforward check in, helpful friendly staff and good service.

good menu choice. would stay again, only downside was, the room was quite small and we had the window open all night (-2 outside)as room felt so hot and airless. Would try another room next time as worth staying again


  • November 2014



  • J Chapman

  • November 2014

Overnight Stay, Convienient but not luxurious

Hotel was clean and tidy, the arrival service was good .The Evening meal was very good.

As we were taking an early ferry to France the manager offered us Sandwiches and drink to be left outside our room for the morning. NOTHING was there the next morning at 6.30 when we left foe France.

  • Marek D

  • October 2014

Road Noise

On a whole the Inn was fair and the room (6) was acceptable, however, the noise of the traffic which went on all night was not acceptable.

the outside windows do not close properly so the double glazing did not serve its purpose. the blouse of one of the waitresses at breakfast was stained - not a good impression to clients.

  • kristin a

  • October 2014

Worst hotel we've stayed in

We returned to the US with bedbugs, courtesy of the Shah of Persia.

The room we were first put in was impossible. Small, dark, with a window that opened to a dark shaft that vented all the greasy kitchen odors. Room was dirty and depressing. I requested a change, and we were moved to a room that was marginally better but also dirty. Our friends stayed in another room that was equally dirty, and in their bathroom they found a large turd in the toilet which wouldn't flush down. This hotel should be closed down until somebody cleans it up.