You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

3

Swainson Street, Hartlepool, TS24 8AA

Price From 127.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Burrows

  • September 2016

Faded grandeur.No fault of the hotel but very noisy at times from outside.

Bar very loud with live music to quite late hour. Could do with upgrading in places - eg the lift. Would be improved with air conditioning in rooms. Staff very pleasant.

  • Heather T

  • May 2016

BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

lovely hotel have stayed there several times, good location.

  • sarah jones

  • November 2015

BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

I didn't try no food so can't comment on it sorry but the hotel was lovely and so was the staff.

  • C Oldroyd

  • October 2015

On arrival we didn't have the 2 rooms just 1 but the staff put us in a suite immediately so the problem was dealt with with no fuss.

Otherwise everything was fine

  • Liz S

  • March 2015

cheap and cheerful

Wonderful building.

Faded glory. Rooms refurbished well but shower pathetic. No bath in room. Continental breakfast great, wide choice of items. Disappointing cooked breakfast. Location ideal for centre and football ground. Consequently more prone to noise from late night revellers, especially Friday night (though, apparently, it was pay day!).

Altogether, I would recommend it.

  • Neil S

  • March 2015

Great value

Room clean and well furnished.

Staff polite and helpful. Excellent, well presented breakfast. We would recommend The Grand and would certainly stay again.

  • K McQueenie

  • February 2015

Nice Enough

1st room was substandard, I spoke to reception and was swiftly upgraded.

Even in the new room it was a struggle to get a good shower. It literally took 20 mins of running the water to get a decent heat and when the heat was acceptable the pressure was non existent. Speaking to other guests this was the same story throughout the hotel.

  • S Harris

  • September 2014

Glad to get a late booking, but wouldn't choose to go there if there were other options

I got the room as a very late booking and was glad to get somewhere to bed down for the night.

But there were issues that left me a little irritated. Firstly, I think all hotels should provide free parking for residents and the Grand Hotel does. However, due to a function in the hotel I struggled to get a spot and it was very narrow, leaving exiting the car very difficult. The check-in was pleasantly straight forward, friendly and quick. The room was a little stark but looked quite clean. There was a layer of dust over the clock and telephone on the bedside table and I couldn't resist writing "dust" with my finger tip on the clock. My major issues were more fundamental though. Firstly, the room was noisy. The occupant of the room next door was talking on his phone and the sound carried through the walls loud enough for me to get to sympathise with Carol about her problematic children. The other problem was the lack of hot water in the basin. That is pretty poor. There was enough to have a warm shower (very low pressure) but none at all in the basin. I got there late in the evening and all these points are perfectly survivable for a single night, but don't make you want to rush back. I mentioned the cold water to the receptionist when I checked out. I wasn't asked if my stay had been OK but I thought I'd mention it any way.