No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Swainson Street , Hartlepool, TS24 8AA
Best Western The Grand Hotel, grand by name and grand by nature, is the perfect description of this landmark property in heart of Cleveland. Best Western The Grand Hotel has been an important feature of this north east town for decades and its imposing facade has dominated the local landscape for generations.

Our hotel has received a fresh breath of life through a massive refurbishment. It has now been brought back to its former glory retaining the classic and historical style but with a highly contemporary feel. Unwind in our stylish and comfortable Pearl Bar with its elegant style and modern feel that is suitable for all ages. Housed in the basement is our newly constructed Italia Restaurant where fine Italian cuisine is served to the highest standards.
Picture of BEST WESTERN  Grand Hotel, Hartlepool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Hartkepool
Overall our stay was fine. Just two critiques: The toilet really smelled extremely bad - there must be a problem with it not flushing properly and sewage building up. Also we had to get more milk because the one I our room had gone off.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad decline
The hotel needs a major revamp. The room was large but sterile, incredibly overpriced and a far better breakfast can be obtained at Mcdonald's or Morrisons.
The only saving grace is the new Indian restaurant in the basement.

Reviewed by
D Morris

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel great staff
Stayed one night great room, well priced , drink was well priced as well,
Would stay again if in Hartlypool

Reviewed by
s murray

From Brechin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Last minute booking, very good price and very central. Old and beautiful hotel, even though having work done at the moment. Reminded me of the hotel from the shining, with wide corridors and original features. No air conditioning and room was very hot, only window that opened was bathroom but as it opened fully I didn't feel safe enough to leave it open all night. Breakfast choice was very good, but the buffet part of it a disappointment. This may have been due to building work. Staff were unbelievably helpful, I arrived late at night when restaurant closed. But staff offered me a huge sandwich with salad. Best western you should be very pleased with your staff here. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
S Warren

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for one night x
Perfect location for bars and restaurants. We stayed on a Saturday night. Value for money for sure (£65 I think just for the room) there was a wedding on the evening but this didn't really bother us. Only thing was outside the hotel was really noisy in terms of people leaving pubs late on. Again this wouldn't put us off staying again but it is something to consider. We didn't eat here.

Reviewed by
Cat N

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Very good hotel, never think of staying anywhere else when in the area.
Only slight negative is option of Fruit for breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
James D

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation - good selection of food at reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
P Puckrin

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity about the neighbours
This is a very good old fashioned hotel, ideally located for the railway station, shopping centre and other local amenities.Very good value for money.
The downside of the stay were the couple next door who spent the whole night trying to kill each other. We had to have the Duty manager come up a number of times to quieten things down, only for them start fighting again at 7.00am the next morning.
The good thing was they were only staying 1 night and the Manager did offer us a full meal in the Restaurant on Saturday night foc.
Would not be put off by staying there again.

Reviewed by
F Wright

From Twickenham, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family get together
Excellent location, high quality accommodation very clean and staff great

Reviewed by
Ray Garland

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely but the smell ov something like drains on first floor and smell ov sick on 2nd and 3rd floors.

Reviewed by
Deborah B

From Peterlee , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next