No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Avon Causeway Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Avon Causeway Hotel, Hurn, Dorset , Christchurch, BH23 6AS
The Avon Causeway is a wonderful pub nestled outside of the lovely village of Hurn, on the edge of the New Forest.

We offer 12 modern, clean and comfortable en-suite guest bedrooms with all the essential comforts you'd expect including Freeview television, complimentary toiletries, complimentary guest Wi-Fi and a great home cooked breakfast to set you up for the day.

Situated on the outskirts of Christchurch, only 1.5miles from Bournemouth airport and only 10 minutes drive to Bournemouth centre, pier and lovely beaches, The Avon Causeway offers a great base for both business and leisure guests alike with great value rates and the added bonus of a great pub with bar and seasonal, fresh food available every day for lunch and dinner. We offer secure complimentary parking on-site for up to 2 weeks when you stay the night prior to flying from Bournemouth.

We're perfect for overnight wedding accommodation if you're getting married in the area, being close to Parley manor and Sopley Mill and if you're looking to combine accommodation with a function or special event, The Avon Causeway can deliver on both counts.

Our room rates are per room, per night, inclusive of VAT and breakfast. Please note that Laterooms DO NOT process payment and all charges should be settled on departure directly with The Avon Causeway.

Picture of The Avon Causeway Hotel, Christchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Stay
What a fantastic stay.. Prior to booking in we had a meal in the bar and it was more than plentiful, tasty and clean, crisp and extremely appetising. Service was excellent the staff were more than happy to help and very pleasant. Check in was simple and painless and the room was an utter delight. Tastefully decorated, spacious extremely clean and comfortable with more than enough tea/coffee etc you need. As for breakfast... that is just the best experience as you eat on a renovated train carriage which has been done to such a high standard. Breakfast itself does not disappoint.. Our compliments to the chef... superb. In fact thanks to all the staff. We would recommend the Avon Causeway... cannot fault it.

Reviewed by
tina thornton

From Cradley Heath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Room well equipped, shower very small. Breakfast varied, well presented and cooked perfectly.

Reviewed by
kim t

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comments for the stay at the Avon Causeway Hotel
We enjoyed our stay at your hotel, the staff were very helpful and polite, no problems at all.

Reviewed by
S Murphy

From Quillan, France
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Hotel
Stayed for 4 nights. The room was large, comfortable and kept very clean complete with a large en-suite bathroom. The mattress on the large bed, whilst still comfortable was beginning to show signs of age with the springs being a little 'saggy'. Breakfast in the Pullman carriage was excellent. Staff encountered were all friendly and helpful. In all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Nicholas J

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, very welcoming
The Pullman train where you have breakfast was lovely, something different. Due for a refurbishment soon so want to go back again to see what they do.
Lovely place to stay, great breakfast and staff very nice

Reviewed by
W Stevens

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just on the right side of OK
Slightly tired accommodation, in a very cramped bedroom. Whole hotel smelt dusty.

Reviewed by
Brian Toole

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Hotel in Beautiful Setting
My husband and I stayed for 6 nights as we were exploring the surrounding areas with a view to retire there in a couple of years.
We had visited before, maybe 4 or 5 years ago and had not returned as the hotel was very shabby and rather disappointing; the only reason we booked the Avon Causeway this time was that at £60 per night with breakfast included, it was such good value which could not be matched. Our bed however was very uncomfortable but overall we are pleased that we booked as the food was great (better than I remembered) and the staff were friendly. The hotel was still shabby but we were told it is to undergo major refurbishment later this year - my suggestion would be to get decent beds; 6 nights in an uncomfortable bed is not good!
Opposite the hotel there are fantastic woods and heathland, we had some lovely walks there after breakfast.
We would be interested in going back maybe next year when the update is complete to check it out!

Reviewed by
Julie J

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good Hotel.
I stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. I found the room very clean and spacious. The staff that run the Hotel are all very friendly and helpful and are willing to please. The food is amazing and all good value for money and breakfast on the train carriage is different and very nice indeed. The hotel is undergoing a major refit next month so will be even better after this is completed.

Reviewed by
David Grint

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy for Bournemouth Airport
We travel from the Isle of Wight via Bournemouth Airport. Staying at the Avon Causeway is extremely convenient and takes the stress out of travelling on the ferry prior to or after a flight. It's very close to the airport and the fact that they offer free car parking for up to 2 weeks is an added bonus. Staff there are very pleasant and helpful. Would like to stay longer next time.

Reviewed by
Sandra H

From Totland Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a great stay, would recommend hotel, we will use Avon Causeway hotel again, loved the railway carrige

Reviewed by
tyrone kinch

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next