No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Avon Causeway Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Avon Causeway Hotel, Hurn, Dorset , Christchurch, BH23 6AS
Welcome to the Avon Causeway at Hurn, Christchurch.

Trip Advisor certificate of excellence award winner in 2013.

The Avon Causeway Inn is nestled on the edge of the New Forest, 1 mile from Bournemouth Airport and situated 4 miles from Christchurch, 5 miles from Ringwood and only 6 miles from Bournemouth with its magnificent beaches.

We offer excellent food and are a great place to stay, offering accommodation to 4 Star Visit England standards.

(Travelling from Bournemouth Airport? Call us to find out about our great Stay and Park rates).

Please note we are a no smoking establishment

Our lounge bar offers 3 Cask Marque accredited Wadworth ales, and a suitably stocked wines & spirit selection, all of which can be enjoyed with a meal from our newly created home-made menus using fresh, quality ingredients, rounded off with a good expresso or cappuccino.

For that special occasion, the Pullman Carriage is a unique venue for between 20 to 35 guests, for events such as weddings, anniversaries or family gatherings, as well as our renowned Murder Mystery events.
Picture of The Avon Causeway Hotel, Christchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a great stay, would recommend hotel, we will use Avon Causeway hotel again, loved the railway carrige

Reviewed by
tyrone kinch

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms well presented.. We booked a double and a family room. En suites need updating. Lovely breakfast, staff very helpful and pleasant. Halls and stairs need thorough cleaning. Generally a lovely location and property but tired and dated in places. We thiught the double room good value but the family room expensive.

Reviewed by
p woodward

From congleton , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience
Greeted very warmly. Service fast and good. Food very good. Room clean and tidy. TV too small to see clearly from bed. Mattress too hard. Looking forward to staying again after refurbish completed.

Reviewed by
M Cotter

From Pinner, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Break
The hotel was very good especially for families with young children. Our son particularly liked the train where he could eat his breakfast.
The family room was spacious and had plenty of room for all four of us. The room was very clean and well presented. Which was good compared to the somewhat dated reception area when you walk in. I think this could be set up a bit differently and be more inviting especially as you are not aware you have walked into the reception to begin with.
Overall this hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
N Field

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. Clean tidy room. Good facilities

Reviewed by
D THOMAS

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the Pullman carriage was excellent - white tablecloths and a wide selection of food. The room was good value for the price we paid, although the décor could do with updating. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
J Harris

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate accommodation
We had an adequate stay at the Avon Causeway hotel. The staff we encountered both ib the hotel and in the attached pub were pleasant and helpful.
The room was a good size although it looks a little tired, nothing a lick of paint can't fix.
Faciltities were fine except I couldn't find any evidence of Wifi, either paid or unpaid but as the location has a poor internet connection, it may be because of this.
The bed was clean although the mattress a little sunken at the head end. It was lovely to see spare smellies etc and good coffee faciltites with a proper cafetiere in our room.
The full english breakfast was taken aboard the 1930's train carriage situated alongside the hotel (it used to be Hurn Railway Station) which was quirky. The brekfast choice and quality was lovely and the service was good.
We only spent one night here but it was altogether pleasant and good value for money.

Reviewed by
N Sutherland

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Airport stopover
Very good, only complaint noise from dual carriageway. Very convenient for Bournemouth Airport. Little quirky. Brilliant eating breakfast in an old train carriage.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We have stayed here more than once and have not been disappointed. Service and food been great and a perfect location for us to visit family in nearby Poole.

Reviewed by
Careen W

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked this Hotel through Late Rooms and was not disappointed in the with my stay, would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
G Shrubb

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next