No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Avon Causeway Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Avon Causeway Hotel, Hurn, Dorset , Christchurch, BH23 6AS
The Avon Causeway is a wonderful pub nestled outside of the lovely village of Hurn, on the edge of the New Forest.

We offer 12 modern, clean and comfortable en-suite guest bedrooms with all the essential comforts you'd expect including Freeview television, complimentary toiletries, complimentary guest Wi-Fi and a great home cooked breakfast to set you up for the day.

Situated on the outskirts of Christchurch, only 1.5miles from Bournemouth airport and only 10 minutes drive to Bournemouth centre, pier and lovely beaches, The Avon Causeway offers a great base for both business and leisure guests alike with great value rates and the added bonus of a great pub with bar and seasonal, fresh food available every day for lunch and dinner. We offer secure complimentary parking on-site for up to 2 weeks when you stay the night prior to flying from Bournemouth.

We're perfect for overnight wedding accommodation if you're getting married in the area, being close to Parley manor and Sopley Mill and if you're looking to combine accommodation with a function or special event, The Avon Causeway can deliver on both counts.

Our room rates are per room, per night, inclusive of VAT and breakfast. Please note that Laterooms DO NOT process payment and all charges should be settled on departure directly with The Avon Causeway.

Picture of The Avon Causeway Hotel, Christchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
This is a fantastic place and terrific value for money. The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this to anyone staying in this area.

Reviewed by
sue f

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Avon Causeway Hotel
Excellent time was had by us both.

Reviewed by
Stepanie L

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A taste of Railway history
We stayed for just one night, visiting and helping an elderly relative in Highcliffe. We booked this hotel because it seemed to be very good value, we had no idea that it was linked to a bygone railway halt. It was steeped in history and very sympathetically converted into a hotel. Plenty of memorabilia and information, with the railway platform running alongside the hotel with the Pullman carriage there available for private parties, and I was led to believe that breakfast was served there during the summer months, but cannot vouch for this. The staff throughout were very friendly and helpful, locals welcomed in the bar and dogs permitted in the bar. Our meal took rather a long time to arrive, but staff came to the table to explain that the order had somehow not reached the kitchen, but they were sure it would be with us soon and that our drinks would not be charged for. The meals were good when they came, fish and chips and a crab linguine. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean, good quality bedding and mattress. The bathroom with shower over was fairly spacious and spotlessly clean, we slept well and breakfast the next morning was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel, for a truly unique experience and well as a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Anthea Gray

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value stay
Recently refurbished, very nice atmosphere, helpful staff, great food. Good location and good value for money

Reviewed by
Careen W

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice B and B
Stayed one night on business will stay again. Nice touches in room above the price band.

Reviewed by
Richard Paviour-Coward

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Stay
What a fantastic stay.. Prior to booking in we had a meal in the bar and it was more than plentiful, tasty and clean, crisp and extremely appetising. Service was excellent the staff were more than happy to help and very pleasant. Check in was simple and painless and the room was an utter delight. Tastefully decorated, spacious extremely clean and comfortable with more than enough tea/coffee etc you need. As for breakfast... that is just the best experience as you eat on a renovated train carriage which has been done to such a high standard. Breakfast itself does not disappoint.. Our compliments to the chef... superb. In fact thanks to all the staff. We would recommend the Avon Causeway... cannot fault it.

Reviewed by
tina thornton

From Cradley Heath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Room well equipped, shower very small. Breakfast varied, well presented and cooked perfectly.

Reviewed by
kim t

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comments for the stay at the Avon Causeway Hotel
We enjoyed our stay at your hotel, the staff were very helpful and polite, no problems at all.

Reviewed by
S Murphy

From Quillan, France
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Hotel
Stayed for 4 nights. The room was large, comfortable and kept very clean complete with a large en-suite bathroom. The mattress on the large bed, whilst still comfortable was beginning to show signs of age with the springs being a little 'saggy'. Breakfast in the Pullman carriage was excellent. Staff encountered were all friendly and helpful. In all a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Nicholas J

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, very welcoming
The Pullman train where you have breakfast was lovely, something different. Due for a refurbishment soon so want to go back again to see what they do.
Lovely place to stay, great breakfast and staff very nice

Reviewed by
W Stevens

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next