No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Churchill Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
65 Bootham, York, YO30 7DQ
A luxurious, privately owned hotel situated in it's own grounds in York city centre.

The Churchill Hotel is a superbly converted Georgian residence retaining many of it's original features and characteristics yet we have been sympathetically extended and lavishly refurbished to provide the comforts and facilities demanded by the discerning traveller.

We offer our guests extremely comfortable, stylish bedrooms, all of which have modern en-suite facilities.

Our Piano Bar and restaurant combine the historic with the contemporary and are relaxing areas in which to enjoy a pre dinner drink then a superb meal from our locally sourced menu.

At the heart of the building is the atrium with it's stunning, original, cantilever staircase, and equally amazing bookcase. Here you can put your feet up with a good book or keep in touch on the hidden computers provided for your use.

We also provide disabled access, facilities & a suitably equipped bedroom. We have lift access to 24 of our 32 bedrooms. You can make use of complementary Wifi access. All bedrooms are no smoking. There is car parking on site at a cost of £10.00 per car per night.

Picture of The Churchill Hotel  , York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed small and uncomfy, pillows flatter than a pancake. Bathroom very small toilet and toilet paper got wet when you have a shower. You bang your arm every time you clean your teeth or try to use sink. If you are above average size I am only small you would not be able to use the bathroom. The staff were very polite and very friendly. And hotel very clean .

Reviewed by
V Ford

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a fantastic city
We've stated in York before but this hotel is the best yet. The room was described as Executive and was, providing for a comfortable night's sleep - yes air conditioning would be an added bonus but still slept well. Flash en-suite with a great multi-jet shower went down well. The room was a little small and that may put some off but didn't spoil our short (and very sweet) break. The staff were fantastic and the breakfast was one of the best we've had! Great stay.

Reviewed by
David B

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was given a warm welcome on arrival.

Reviewed by
Belinda P

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely hotel.
The Churchill was ideal for my girlfriend and I for a short break this April.
We stayed in an Executive room for 2 nights, and the room was lovely - especially the bathroom, which has amazingly high quality facilities. The walk in shower in particular, was extremely spacious and relaxing.
The Hotel is located in a lovely area which is about 10 minutes walk away from York centre, has it's own secure car park & a lovely smoking shelter, should you be a smoker.
The service provided by the staff was both friendly & helpful; information was provided on all available services. Top notch, would definitely stay again should we return to York!

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel

Reviewed by
Gino Maccio

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellant value for money
Our favourite place to stay in York, the Churchill never lets us down!! You could easily pay 4 times as much elsewhere for a worse quality hotel.Great food,great rooms and brilliant customer service.Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
lee pearce

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The york trip!
Very good customer service with minimum fuss, come and go as you please and an excellent smoking area. Rooms are clean and modern with awesome showers and heating control. Will definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
lewis w

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
we stayed for one night, it has a nice bar and dining area, but our room for £75 was tiny and it had a heater fan built in the ceiling going on all night and we couldnt sleep, food was great and service very good, but the pokey room let it down and the heater noise all night, Would stay some where else in york next time.

Reviewed by
e lawrence

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel, first class room and first class service. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the staff did everything that they could to make are stay memorable.We treated as if we were the only people in the Hotel and all our needs were met. Request's were met from the person on reception to the room attendant. Lovely friendly/relaxed atmosphere from every department. Would love to stay again and recommend to family and friends. Thank you.

Reviewed by
julie peel

From blackpool, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2