No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cross Arms Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Cross Arms Hotel, Barrington Street, , South Shields, NE33 1AN
Enjoy a relaxing stay in the comfort of our pub/hotel overlooking the market square. There is no hotel newer or closer to the town centre we are literally 1 minutes walk away from the new 24 hour Asda, retail shops, restaurants, bars and docks, and fifteen minutes from the parks and beaches. We offer double en-suite, double, twin and single room options which are clean and modern. They consist of a vanity unit, sink and mirror, WI FI, DVD player, TV, welcome tray and fresh towels. Shared bathroom facilities are a very short walk along the corridor and include toilet, basin and power-shower. Selfserve continental breakfast is available in the commuual kitchen. This facility is available 24 hours and offers table and chairs for dining. The kitchen is stocked with a choice of cereals, bread, milk, fruit juice, butter, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and condiments. Cooking appliances available are fan oven, hob, microwave and fridge for storage. The bar can be used as a lounge after 12pm and the new 24 Asda next door makes for great convenience. The transport links via train, ferry bus are great and are all within 5 minutes walk. And now, refurbished in July 2012 we also offer a Large open-plan 3 Bedroom apartment with 2 Double bedrooms and a Family room consisting of a Double bed and 2 Singles. Tasteful decor runs throught including large Lounge with table and chairs, 42" TV & Internet connection as well as free WI FI running throughout. This is a Self catering apartment with fully fitted Kitchen consisting of Fan Oven, Hob, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave, Washing machine and Breakfast bar. There are 2 bathrooms, the first has a large corner bath, toilet & basin with loft apartment look and the second is an imaculate shower room fully mosaic tiled with second toilet & basin. The apartment is situated on the top floor of the building and has view overloking South Shields Market Square. All guests are welcome including families, tourists and contractors so we'll see you soon!
Picture of Cross Arms Hotel, South Shields at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay, would come back with no hesitation
I thought it was great here; central location 2 mins walk from the metro and easy to find.
The rooms have have been recently decorated and are very clean and comfy. Having use of a communal kitchen was handy, even if I only used it to make tea and toast.
I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Matthew C

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap n cheerful
Was very basic, but that's all I needed. Could do with being freshened up though, especially towels and bed linen. Ideally located as close to everything I needed. The live music was impressive too. But only problem was somebody trying my door handle several times in the night did wake me up. Whether this was a guest getting wrong room, or just a local wandering up stairs to the rooms I don't know? I would recommend to friends for ideal location.

Reviewed by
C Howes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable
Basic but comfortable accomadation for the priced paid!
This hotel/pub has live music and this goes on quite late but it enhanced my stay as I like this sort of thing! The real ale was very well kept and tasted very nice. Close to metro station ,buses and shops

Reviewed by
Jim G

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just a very poor accomadation... noisy...and strong smoke smell in the room
The bed side lamp could not even reach the power point........
If your not first up in the morning very little breakfast.....
The room was over the public bar and there was karaoke for two nights till one am.....
Never ever again......

Reviewed by
tim c

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle on a Saturday night !
Found the hotel easily, off-road parking no problem, staff welcoming and room OK for what I needed. HOWEVER...How lucky am I to pick the one hotel which had been granted an extended music licence with full- blown Karaoki entertainment ?
I did stay awake for some time, just to see if anyone of the customers could actually sing in tune but was sorely disappointed!!
About 23:15,I got dressed again and went down stairs and made enquiries as to what time it was all going to finish ,only for a lady whom I presume was the senior person on duty, to express surprise that I was not aware of their arrangements.DOH !!! silly me. No compensation was offered...or even an apology. I was reduced to walking the streets for an hour or so .Finally returned and fell asleep about 02:00, managing to get in a couple of hours before my journey of 340 miles back to West Sussex with Clients on board.
Not something I would want to repeat again soon as I had a really scary hard time keeping my eyes open on the motorways home.

Reviewed by
Pete Blake

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
Decent value for money basic and clean. Pub downstairs is quite noisy but this didn't really bother me.

Reviewed by
Lee P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic but OK
Everything seemed clean and everything was there but it was very basic, with no frills and nothing remotely plush. Pub below was very noisey (juke box) but it did all stop at 11pm. Forgot to ask for wi-fi details so don't know if that worked or not. I was only there for one night, so going down to the kitchen and making my own breakfast felt a little strange, but I can see how that might work for people who stay longer and want to prepare something to eat in the evening too. At £30 I wasn't expecting anything great and there were no surprises there.

Reviewed by
Yvonne F

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place as always !!!
stayed for the night for a night out in south shields stayed here loads of times as it is round the corner from town and is great value for money and it has just been done out so even better with great staff lovely clean room over the moon as usual see you next month !!!!!!

Reviewed by
tony small

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible Customer Service

Reviewed by
Steven L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

did not get any sleep
the street lights lit up the room all night. the heating on the whole accommodation area was on full and was like a sauna. so we got zero sleep.
the self service kitchen is a novel idea, and was good and stocked
there was a wifi connection but the broadband was down.

Reviewed by
L turbitt

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next