No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alder House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Towngate Road, Healey Lane, Batley , Wakefield, WF17 7HR
A warm welcome awaits you here at the privately owned Alder House Hotel. Set in 2.5 acres of beautiful tree lined gardens, known as Batley's “Pride of Batleyt”. Our friendly staff and wonderful surroundings make The Alder House your ideal venue for Weddings & Events, Conferences and Accommodation. The Alder House Hotel prides itself on excellent accommodation at sensible prices. The 20 bedrooms are stylishly decorated and are all en-suite. The standard rooms have Remote Control TV, Radio, Direct Dial Telephones and Tea & Coffee making facilities. In addition the executive rooms also have Trouser Press and Hair Dryers. For a special occasion the Nightingale Suite with its four poster bed offers the height of luxury to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are just a short drive from Leeds 5 Miles, Wakefield 5 Miles, Huddersfield 5 Miles, Halifax 5 miles, and Bradford 5 Miles, Dewesbury 1 mile, Brighouse 2 Miles, and only minutes away from the Motorways M62 & M1. We also offer ample parking.
Picture of Alder House Hotel, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel but very dated and in need of refurb

Reviewed by
Tony Hart

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Clean and tidy room with a very comfortable bed. Very good value.

Reviewed by
J Hoskins

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. However the room was in a very poor condition. Paper hanging off walls, cobwebs, toilet seat held on with one bolt, sheets not ironed, no valance on bed which is ok !!, but bed base badly stained. No remote control for television, or bed lamps. Only 1 channel, but aerial had to hang out of the window. Other guests rooms in group were ok.
I think some rooms have been renovated, but clearly not No 15. I think tired is fine, but not clean!!!
We did mention it at check-out, but no reduction was offered. Downstairs was fine.
Sorry about negative feedback, but hopefully things will improve

Reviewed by
Kathleen S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you like a noisy room stay in room 10
I stayed in room 10, which was above the kitchen and was noisy from 5.30 every morning until 11 at night (noise from the extractor fan and staff). The room was also next to a fire door with a loud bang every time the door was opened (this was great especially between 1 and 2 in the morning when a group of of people staying at the hotel decided it would be great to open the fire door 20 times, moving between rooms). I stayed for 4 nights and did not have a proper nights sleep. I would recommend that the management spend a night in the room from hell.

Reviewed by
Gareth Evans

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed,
After checking in and on my second pint at the bar, I asked what time the restaurant opened and was told it wasn't because the chef had been taken ill that day. My colleague and I where advised to go down the road to an Italian by the hotel manager. On arrival at the Italian we found that closed too, the manager then sent us to the Indian restaurant which was also closed!
The hotel description states the hotel is set two and a half acres of grounds, on arrival I discovered that the grounds had now been built on.

Reviewed by
John J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, service excellent. would stay again.

Reviewed by
william hawksbee

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adler house
The room at the Alder house was so appalling I nearly went and slept inside my car. I'm really not sure as to how a three star rating could be awarded.
Peter Langdown

Reviewed by
peter langdown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

do not stay here
Bed filthy and stained, sheets dirty, bathroom atrocious, tiles loose on floor stuck to feet when walked on, no towels, toilet seat (don`t ask) only recommendation was the friendly courteous night staff called John who could not do enough for us during our 1 night stay.We were in area for family funeral and did not have energy to find somewhere else . He was the only positive to make this stay bearable. Never again!

Reviewed by
aileen muir

From paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff where very friendly and helpful. Rooms where tidy but not complete. Missing kettle, tea/coffee things and broken toilet seat that meant you flew off the toilet as soon as you sat on it. Shower was a drip. Outdated rooms and mould by one bed. TV aerial was an indoor one that hung outside the window. so no tv channels at all. Base of divans were very grimey and the rooms smelt musty. Booked 3 rooms but our friends room had been let out!! So she was sent to the furthest end of the hotel in the noisy room. Without the friendly staff...this stay would of really upset me. P.S. I had a very bad asthma attack in the night due to the musty smell, mould on the wall and wafer thin pillow :( Making for a very bad nights 'sleep'.

Reviewed by
M D

From Swansea, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed before, thought we give it another go...
We stayed last new years eve and were satisfied with the place, just about. It had running water and a bed, but it just felt poorly maintained and the chap in reception may have been a little drunk. So as it was the cheapest place to stay (even at twice the last stays price) i reluctantly booked. I was disappointed to hear the afternoon before we were travelling that the room we had booked was given to someone else. Literally the afternoon before. Fortunately we were able to book somewhere else at short notice. I am glad too, as it was a much better stay.

Reviewed by
Louis B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next