In association with

Partner logo
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Healey House Hotel (formerly Alder House)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Towngate Road, Healey Lane, Batley , Wakefield, WF17 7HR
A warm welcome awaits you here at the privately owned Alder House Hotel. Set in 2.5 acres of beautiful tree lined gardens, known as Batley's “Pride of Batley”. Our friendly staff and wonderful surroundings make The Alder House your ideal venue for Weddings & Events, Conferences and Accommodation.

The Alder House Hotel prides itself on excellent accommodation at sensible prices. The 20 bedrooms are stylishly decorated and are all en-suite. The standard rooms have Remote Control TV, Radio, Direct Dial Telephones and Tea & Coffee making facilities.

In addition the executive rooms also have Trouser Press and Hair Dryers. For a special occasion the Nightingale Suite with its four poster bed offers the height of luxury to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We are just a short drive from Leeds 5 Miles, Wakefield 5 Miles, Huddersfield 5 Miles, Halifax 5 miles, and Bradford 5 Miles, Dewesbury 1 mile, Brighouse 2 Miles, and only minutes away from the Motorways M62 & M1. We also offer ample parking.
Picture of Healey House Hotel (formerly Alder House), Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
A lot Better than expected

Reviewed by
dave d

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming.
Friendly and welcoming staff. Clean room with good facilities (tea and coffee, TV etc).

Reviewed by
D Owen

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly
The welcome was warm and friendly and welcoming. Great find for the money as they made me feel very welcome and the room was bigger than I was expecting for £30 a night it was a pleasant surprise. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Michelle c

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alder House Hotel
Very pleased with the room , dinning room , bar and reception . Food was lovely and very hot . All fresh . Overall very pleased with everything . Apart from a touch of paint here or there , the hotel was clean and tidy .

Reviewed by
P Gray

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra night
We decided to stay an extra night as our visit was to see our Daughter & Son Inlaw. We were charged £67:50for Sunday night. The room it self lacked clothing storage plus the towels they provided was for one as it was one bath & one hand towel

Reviewed by
Colin Walton

From OXFORD, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very disappointed at times with my stay, this was due to several reasons. On arrival I was told they had no booking for me, this was rectified by the outstanding receptionist who I can't speak highly enough of. The room was tired with old furniture and the bed not properly made. There was no running water for bath or shower and the tv had no aerial or signal feed. The food was outstanding throughout and rates amongst some of the best meals I have ever had. I can't sp highly enough of the staff who go further than any hotel staff I have ever met. This made the stay better than it should of been!! Once again food and staff outstanding hotel disappointing.

Reviewed by
C williams

From Barker Barracks, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and Room Reveiw.
The hotel was nice enough but possibly needs updating. The room was small but comfortable and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Evan Bradley

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waste of Time Effort and Money
We was looking forward to this weekend away, the pictures shown on here blew us away. Silly me forgot to read the reviews. From the outside looked very nice and the staff was helpful. It all fell apart when we walked into our room. Smells, cold, black marks on wall, toilet seat was loose, shower door fell off, furniture was old and dirty. Even the tv only worked on 1 channel because of no signal. We spent the best part of 15mins in the room and ended up walking out and leaving the key behind. Rang laterooms up to see if we could claim our money back and they said no. Dont waste your money. We felt so uncomfortable In there and we will never return.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly Smokey Room
Room had obviously been previously occupied by a smoking guest, and it stunk! although there are signs stating it is a non-smoking hotel.
We asked to be moved but was told that the Hotel was full and no other rooms were available. This was obviously a lie as there were only two cars in the car park and we only saw two other guests.
I am actually an ex smoker of only 8 weeks but never smoked in my own house for over 15 years so the smell was very noticeable and offensive, this was a definite lowering of standards.
Staff were lovely, very polite and appearing helpful but obviously under instructions to fob guests off with lies rather than action a complaint.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming staff but the shower trickled out and was Luke warm. The tv areal was dodgy so the television kept going on and off, the kettle had no off switch you had to watch it like a hawk, wall paper was peeling off, the plug socket wasn't fitted to the wall properly, bathroom light did not work. If I payed full price instead of getting it on offer I would of been fuming. Great food and staff though

Reviewed by
T Tatham

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next