No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
358 Westgate Road , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE4 6NU
The Best Western Ryokan Hotel is a modern and totally refurbished hotel featuring 20 guest rooms and located within walking distance of the bustling city centre of Newcastle. Our modern hotel is located on Westgate Road, one and one-half miles from Newcastle Central Station, one and one-half miles from the bus station on St. James Boulevard and close to Newcastle Airport.

At the Best Western Ryokan Hotel, we are dedicated to providing friendly and professional services at all times, ensuring that on arrival you will receive the warmest of welcomes. During your stay our friendly and attentive staff will be there to accommodate all your needs, ensuring that you relax, unwind and enjoy your stay with us.

All of our rooms have been tastefully decorated to provide a relaxing and comfortable setting, with some rooms having views of St. James Football Ground and the City Centre. We have our own 'Luigikhans' Relaxed Punjabi Cuisine restaurant which is HALAL, where we serve only the finest of foods, and a comfortable bar area where you can enjoy a glass of wine or sip a cocktail.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Service
Despite contacting this hotel prior to our visit, they still failed to provide us with 2 rooms on the same floor. When questioned about the situation, the receptionist failed to give any suitable alternatives, therefore ruining our weekend experience.

Reviewed by
Ella G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory. Booked up two hours before arriving. Comfortable pleasant stay

Reviewed by
M Rollins

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and very helpful and polite staff

Reviewed by
G Inglis

From Scotland
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly & clean. Room a bit small. Excellent Curry.
o

Reviewed by
W M

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend anyone to stay here! Would definitley go back!

Reviewed by
C Haines

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wednesday Night 17th July 2013
The hotel is really pleasant and clean. The surrounding area is a little shabby and there is a sad neglected cemetary opposite, Three tower blocks facing the hotel.
My room was clean and spacious, however even though I was on the top floor (room210) the noise from the kitchen extract fan was not nice, this stopped about 23:35 hours. Starting up again at 06:25 So best avoid this room if you need a good nights sleep. The room its self is really nicely decorated and bed really comfy. The food in the indian restaurant is really good and authentic.
But the breakfast, best avoid the full engish as the turkey rashers and sausage were not very nice. But the other chioce were good. I guess as they are Indian chefs they will not entertain pork.
BUT overall it was very good.

Reviewed by
John Michael K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A walk into town- but get a taxi back
Location meant we wouldn't have wanted to walk back late at night.
Rooms very good,
Reception fine
breakfast service polite but incompetent

Reviewed by
Graham M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Complaints
Staff were friendly & helpful.

Reviewed by
j p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Surprise
This hotel has been updated and the whole experience was delightful. The reception, the rooms and the food in the restaurant were excellent. I will stay again with great pleasure.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next