No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Winelodge

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 VICTORIA TERRACE ESPLANADE, LOWESTOFT, NR33 0QG
Winelodge is a modern contemporary hotel offering well appointed, hi-tech and stylish accommodation. Located 50mtrs from the award winning beaches and just 600mtrs from the Town Centre & Train Station all rooms have en-suite facilities, LCD Televisions and complementary high speed internet access for as long as you stay with us, with Suites and Executive rooms offering 42" PLASMA TELEVISIONS. The bar offers a large selection of wines, premium branded largers from around the world, light bites and snacks and the intimate restaurant creates a unique dining experience offering two bar meals for just £7.95 with FREE Wi-Fi connection in the bar/restaurant area. Full English Breakfast Included

Picture of Winelodge, LOWESTOFT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing stay at Winelodge Lowestoft, we will not be staying there again.
Before we start I'm not a moaner and never have been.
Me my wife and the two young children were so looking forward to staying here for 2 nights. The photos on the website were very inviting and the room facilities, but these must have been taken 4 or 5 years ago when the rooms were first refurbished. We stayed in room 10, some of the wooden blinds were broken, the walls were dirty, all the once nice décor was very tired looking. As for the beds they are so hard and uncomfortable and the sofa bed was as bad.
On the positives the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us and the cooked breakfast was lovely. I feel the £90 a night we was charged for this room was unbelievable over priced and we will not be staying there again, £40 per night would still have been too much.
I will be contacting Winelodge for some compensation.

Reviewed by
Shaun M

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Fantastic hotel; perfect location and facilities, would recommend to all!

Reviewed by
Jack G

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended hotel
Outstandingly helpful staff

Reviewed by
D Macdonald

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad room - Not the cleanest
A nice modern room.
I did book the "luxury" or some such superior room. Got the ground floor disabled room. Not sure what to infer from that, but it wasn't particularly "luxury"
The sink looks like it had not been cleaned all week. There were a few coffee stains on the walls, scuff marks etc...
Not bad for the money. Would not have been happy if I'd been paying full price

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small, filthy and not worth the money!
The room was so small you could hardly breathe and had not been cleaned for days even weeks. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, rubbish behind the bed, dust caked on the TV, heater, window sills, blinds (basically everywhere). The light in the shower didn't work and the extractor fan and shower had souch grime on it, it was vile. We asked for a bigger room but we're told there were no rooms available. Considering we had stayed in London in a hotel the night before for the same price I can not believe and management would allow paying guests to stay in that room. We were staying the night before my sisters wedding and couldn't stay with family due to having asthma and being allergic to dust, pet hair etc. Unfortunately the night stay in the wine lodge only made my asthma worse. I strongly advise anyone to book elsewhere

Reviewed by
L Sanford

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh Dear
Staff very friendly and helpful but room and staircase needs a good clean dirty saucer and spoon not washed up though cup was bason outlet plunger missing toilet needs a nack to flush window sills need wiping and carpet looks though not seen a vacuum cleaner for weeks would not return.

Reviewed by
A Dyer

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winelodge review
The location of the Winelodge was perfect, just a short walk to the beach. It's also ideal if you are heading to Latitude festival as only a short drive away.
The room was clean and had all the essentials.

Reviewed by
CAROLINE M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
A very warm welcome on arrival after an 8 hour journey that should of only taken 2 hours max. The most busiest of weekends the latitude festival.
Given our room key by a very polite member of staff. Once we had been advised of free parking out on the street. As carpark next door belonged to hotel opposite. We went up to our room. Very stylish very clean and welcoming. Left our bags and returned downstairs to the dinning area. Very clean and smart looking. Shown to our table. Food order taken very quickly. Food delicious. Staff very chatty polite. Returned to our room. Had a very good night sleep. Welcomed down at breakfast by nice polite member of staff. Very good breakfast menu great choice . Great service.
Really enjoyed 3 nights 3 breakfasts.
Can not wait to return again.
Thank you very much Bethany for making our stay so memorable

Reviewed by
Janine Evans

From Bures, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Sunny winelodge stay
This was a last minute booking because of the sunshine.
We loved our stay, even if a short one. We were well looked after and would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
m thomas

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff but poor quality room
I booked the 'family deluxe suite', supposedly suitable for up to 4 (2 adults / 2 children); and the rooms suitability for a family was pretty awful, on top of some bad preparation and other more general faults in the room. Calling this a 'deluxe suite' is misleading and ultimately wrong.
Stating that the booking consisted of 2 adults and 2 children on late rooms deliberately, one would've thought the sofa bed would've been prepared. This was not the case - we entered to find a damaged sofa bed still packed up and with multiple rips on it. Once it had been awkwardly opened it revealed a heavily stained mattress (mainly with an uncleaned dark yellow circle in the centre that went through to the otherside (you could only hope it was a cup of tea but common sense is sadly telling us all it was probably another yellow liquid that lay on the centre of the bed about 40cm in diameter). Whether for children or adults that sofa bed was not suitable to sleep on (even if you ignored the beautiful yellow stain). Metal work from the structure had clearly become damaged over time, and poked whoever sat/lay on the bed and made the sofa bed slump severely in the middle - I realise that may sound petty - but trust me - it would be an incredibly uncomfortable sleep for anyone on that thing. An attitude of 'we can get away with that' and not taking care in replacing it clearly existed here. I'm sure this would prompt a 'we take every care to look into our customers concerns carefully' line from winelodge....well winelodge management - you should've looked at it sooner and nothing was done because the damaged bed and poorly maintained room was still making you money. There was no sign of customer care at all - still want to send a standardised response? I urge you to take your family of 4 there or another family of 4 from your management. Of course you wouldnt do that - but I think you know you would not be so happy about that room when you take off the management hat and put yourself in the position of a paying customer.
Further problems:
- No sheets / pillows / duvets for the sofa bed were in the room either for us to even make it ourselves - so thank goodness the last receptionist hadn't left yet (she was just finishing her shift so I felt sorry for her after a long day) she stayed a few minutes late to make the sofa bed - in the end it was so uncomfortable it still couldn't be used.
Other problems with the room / hotel:
- Sink became blocked up even from just turning on a cold tap (literally took a few minutes for it to drain) - everything you expect from a 'deluxe suite' right? You cant argue with that winelodge management - a sink that doesn't drain is poor in any uk hotel room - especially one that calls the room deluxe - that's pretty rubbish!
- Dirty bathroom (we were told "the cleaner" had been away that day - but even so - that was poor - sink hadn't been cleaned)
- Lots of general damage (broken window blinds so we were woken up early by sunlight; lots of cracks and broken edges to bathroom counter etc - it wasn't just a tired old room that needed revamping, but it was at a point where things like the broken blinds were affecting visitors stay in the room - very unimpressive care.
This room lacked TLC and care. The two staff members I spoke with were nice enough; but clearly
the quality of the rooms furnishings were not looked after; cleanliness was poor (basic things like a sink not draining would've been spotted by anyone who actually cleaned that sink - and who knows for how long it was like that for beforehand); the booking details were ignored hence the stained and damaged sofa bed not being made up too.
Calling an unclean room with poor quality broken furnishings and a blocked up sink a "deluxe suite" is complete nonsense - don't fall for it. Nice staff but clearly at some level there is bad management.
I forgot to mention - before going with this hotel I had directly called the other nearby winelodge hotel direct in oulton broad - I asked about booking a couple of rooms on 3 separate calls (over 3 days) and was always told - sorry the reception is closed so we cant check availability. I left my number on the first two calls (no one called me back at all) - and on the final call I was advised that it was easier to book with winelodge via laterooms (as they clearly couldn't undertake this simple task themselves by returning either of my calls).
If I'm called to that area of the country for work again (god forbid) - one thing is for sure - I will be avoiding the winelodge chain.

Reviewed by
Tom W

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next