No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, friendly staff, room adequate, noisy location
We chose this hotel as convenient for visiting a relative in hospital. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant (separate business) was excellent. The room itself was a little tired and not the cleanest (not filthy, but bits of debris on the carpet in places etc). The weather was very warm and the only opening windows in our ground floor room were French windows which left the room completely insecure, but luckily a large floor standing fan was available. Be aware the hotel is on a busy road, but with the windows closed and fan on all night the traffic noise was less than the fan. Great central location, very pleasant staff but could do with a little TLC in the rooms.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place for budget traveller
no complaints, good room, ok place

Reviewed by
james e

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value would stay again
I holiday in North Devon every year and break up the journey by stopping overnight on the Friday. The lowest rate I could find for the usual road side 'inns' was mid £60s so searched LateRooms for a better deal and found The Corner House, ideally situated, with a deal of a compact double room including breakfast for £45!! Fantastic value, friendly, clean and the food stunning. The room is compact as in the description but has everything you would need for an overnight stay. I will definitely stay next year.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival our reception could have been better. The receptionist came to the desk - but not to talk to us, but to continue a telephone call, another colleague came and continued the call in front of us. We drifted away and waited, so as not to intrude privacy. There was an apology, but not a good first impression.
Our room was a ' compact room', it was on the small side and up at the top of the hotel. We had to get our bags up winding stairs, no lift. The key system was not working properly so we held a card and had to show this to the reception so that they could open our door with a master card. A little inconvenient, but a good keep fit exercise for the reception staff to run up and down each time.
Everything in the room was OK but the mattress was well used, very springy and it dipped in the middle, so not a completely restful night for me.
The food was good at the hotel, we enjoyed the 'sausage and wine' which the hotel specialises in. The breakfast was good too. A character hotel, originally Victorian/Edwardian I would imagine, lots of old features retained.

Reviewed by
P Hancock

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for to crash for a night
Terribly dirty! Even towels are dirty. Don't have proper keys for the room so you have to actually get receptionist to let you into your room every time you leave. There was couple who moved out of there just because of how dirty it was. Needs some refurbishment for sure - they say they going to start some next winter

Reviewed by
Angelina K

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed the break
Staff are very good here especially Andy the Deputy Manager and Mary behind the bar. The Key card entry system was down and all the staff where up and down the stairs opening the guest doors all with a smile all day long. The rooms are quality and beds are comfy. Breakfast you have a big choice and they happily change your order if there is a certain way like something. Can't wait to go back next year

Reviewed by
Frank F

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
A quirky but decent hotel, even having its own wine shop. The staff were great, although when we stayed the door cards weren't working and so we needed to be shown to our room each time. Not their fault, just a computer glitch.
The room was clean and comfortable but surprisingly small. I imagine some are normal size.
We can't comment on the food as it was room-only. I would certainly consider staying again.

Reviewed by
Dominic J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, wifi kept crashing. Would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Dermott S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant
Very pleasant stay. Our room was at the back and was quiet, the road at the front was quite busy

Reviewed by
Ann H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Carpets could do with a clean and walls a lick of paint, but otherwise excellent. Good value and friendly with an attractive bar and dining area and very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mike Bottomley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next