No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hope Street Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
40 Hope Street , Liverpool, L1 9DA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Historic & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

In the heart of the city’s cultural quarter, Hope Street Hotel is ideally located between Liverpool’s two cathedrals, across the road from the Philharmomic concert hall and surrounded by theatres and restaurants. Built in 1860, in the style of a Venetian palazzo , Hope Street is a privately owned Design Hotel, passionately run with thoughtful service and comfortable, contemporary interiors.

The hotel’s individually designed rooms have real wood floors warmed by under floor heating as well as king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. There are LCD widescreen TVs, DVD and CD players, along with unmetered broadband access in every room. Rain-dance showerheads the size of dinner plates, huge soft towels and mist free mirrors complement timeless bathrooms. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills the city, offering views that include the river, world heritage skyline and cathedrals.

The hotel is now fully air-conditioned.

In 2009 the hotel expanded into space next door creating a striking glass and limestone frontage and a stunning new facade on Hope Street.

In December 2003 Hope Street Hotel opened the doors to The London Carriage Works. Since then, the restaurant has enjoyed rave reviews and critical acclaim. It has been described as ‘Liverpool’s best quality dining’ and voted one of the top ten restaurants outside London in the Harden’s Guide. The insistence of quality with a strong emphasis on the use of local, organic and fresh seasonal produce, has seen the restaurant’s tables become some of the most sought after in the North West.

Alongside the restaurant, there is a convivial space for kicking back and catching up over a pre-dinner drink or relaxing with a night cap.
Picture of Hope Street Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 109 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great experience
Everything was better than we expected and my expectations wer high when I had seen the website.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth S

From Grange Over Sands, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Both our kids were on school trips, so we had a cheeky midweek break. Hotel was lovely, comfortable beds, lovely bathroom, great location. Slightly worn in parts, and no fridge,and not much room for clothes etc BUT breakfast really good, staff friendly, great toiletries and all the things I love in a hotel:slippers, bathrobes, 24 hour room service, free posh water, staff lent me an umbrella. And you can have a bath and look out of the window. I hadn't been to Liverpool for years, had a great time

Reviewed by
Mary M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming boutique hotel.
This is a very clean and comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
It is in a great location for some tourist areas, especially the two cathedrals. Unfortunately all of my main celebrating was done in The Albert Docks area and the city centre. It is about a 20 minute walk which is fine when its dry plus you get great city views. I used a taxi in the evenings which is only £5 either direction and also late at night. The reception staff happily book these taxos for you.
The room was very comfortable, quiet and dark so we slept very well during our stay. The bathroom was fantastic with a powerful monsson shower/wetroom.
Breakfast offered a good range and plenty of egg dishes cooked to order. Also breads pastries fresh fruits, all very good quality.
The hotel is tastefully renovated aesthetics are excellent and it is a pleasure to be here.
I would certainly consider staying here again unless I stayed closer to the city, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Reviewed by
Pam M

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely bar staff lovely food, gorgeous room

Reviewed by
jacqui barker

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel , very clean ,loved the room , staff polite on desk and bar ,! breakfast was great couldn't fault it , will book again .

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

m
all good

Reviewed by
M Adair

From Banbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel. Breakfast was good, staff helpful and room was a good size with nice toiltries, slippers and dressing gown. Very handy for restaurants in the evening

Reviewed by
sheila F

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, amazing views, just a little work needed...
My wife and I spent a very pleasurable evening at this hotel on the 6th June 2014. It had been my wife's birthday earlier in the week and as such, I booked a deluxe king room at quite short notice for a night away. As we are locals, I already knew of this hotel and it's location but had never visited it prior to booking. I arrived at around 13:30 hours and as it stated on the website that check in was from 14:00, I expected a short wait for our room.
This was not to be the case and I was warmly greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very polite and extremely efficient. With in minutes I had been checked in and was on my way to our room (420).
The reception of the hotel is very refined and very chic, think lots of stripped wood and light spaces..
The leather clad lift took me quickly to the 4th floor where the decor continued with a hessian type carpet in the hallway leading to my expensive looking, and also leather clad, room door.
Outside my room, I did notice an electrical socket which had excess paint splashed on it. Really nothing to detract from the experience but noticeable. Upon entering our room, it was amazing! It had a large bedroom with amazing views from the window across the city. The wooden floor really added to the classiness of the room. There was a huge king sized bed with lovely crisp white cotton bedding and a large flat screen TV on the wall opposite. The bathroom was of a fairly large size and had a larger than average bath, a rain drop shower head and a funky basin and pedestal. It was a wet room with no shower screen which again added to the quirkiness of the room. The views were again amazing, looking out at a wide vista of Liverpool and beyond.
Unfortunately, in the bathroom were little things that were noticeable about the finishings. On the wall above the toilet was a grubby hand mark and when the left hand door of the sink pedestal was opened, you could see that the floor was unfinished. There was also a little mould in the grouting around the shower floor.
Only little things and didn't matter much to me, but had to mention to provide an honest review.
On to the good things...
Upon arrival, my wife had a complimentary bar of green and blacks chocolate on the bed with a hand written postcard wishing her happy birthday. I must have mentioned it on booking and the hotel had made note of it. Very impressive.
Also, my wife states that in the bathroom she found a shower cap plus hair bobble which was very useful and much appreciated.
The free dvd and cd library is another nice touch from the hotel.
We did not eat at the hotel, but were offered reservations at The London Carriage Works for the evening. I cannot comment but from what I could see, it was busy and looked very nice.
After returning to the hotel later that evening, the reception staff were again very welcoming and pleasant.
When I eventually fell into bed, I found it to be extremely comfortable and easily fell asleep.
I had a lovely nights sleep and fully enjoyed my stay at the hotel.
The few things that I have picked up on I have also mentioned on a comment card left in my room so I am not just slating the hotel from behind my keyboard. Again, these few things mattered not to me but to other people, they may. They are merely my observations. They did not detract from a wonderful stay at a really nice independently owned hotel. It is a very unique building and I found that this really added to my stay. I was really pleased with the attitude and willingness to help from all the staff I encountered (loaning me a brolly when I went to retrieve my car...) and also the value for money I felt I got. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.
Thank you very much to everyone at the Hope Street Hotel for making our night special.

Reviewed by
C Martin

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, staff a bit indifferent.
Lovely hotel and really impressed with the room - just a standard one but the bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom was lovely. The only downside with the room was that someone else's (big) pants had been left on the shelf in the wardrobe! So it then makes you wonder how well they clean the room. The reception staff weren't over accommodating, but nice enough.

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visited the Hope Street for a family wedding and the experience was excellent; well organised and very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend for those getting married or just visiting Liverpool

Reviewed by
j lockwood

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next