No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hope Street Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
40 Hope Street , Liverpool, L1 9DA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Historic & Romantic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

In the heart of the city’s cultural quarter, Hope Street Hotel is ideally located between Liverpool’s two cathedrals, across the road from the Philharmomic concert hall and surrounded by theatres and restaurants. Built in 1860, in the style of a Venetian palazzo , Hope Street is a privately owned Design Hotel, passionately run with thoughtful service and comfortable, contemporary interiors.

The hotel’s individually designed rooms have real wood floors warmed by under floor heating as well as king sized beds draped in Egyptian cotton. There are LCD widescreen TVs, DVD and CD players, along with unmetered broadband access in every room. Rain-dance showerheads the size of dinner plates, huge soft towels and mist free mirrors complement timeless bathrooms. Picture windows and skylights capture some of the stunning architecture that fills the city, offering views that include the river, world heritage skyline and cathedrals.

The hotel is now fully air-conditioned.

In 2009 the hotel expanded into space next door creating a striking glass and limestone frontage and a stunning new facade on Hope Street.

In December 2003 Hope Street Hotel opened the doors to The London Carriage Works. Since then, the restaurant has enjoyed rave reviews and critical acclaim. It has been described as ‘Liverpool’s best quality dining’ and voted one of the top ten restaurants outside London in the Harden’s Guide. The insistence of quality with a strong emphasis on the use of local, organic and fresh seasonal produce, has seen the restaurant’s tables become some of the most sought after in the North West.

Alongside the restaurant, there is a convivial space for kicking back and catching up over a pre-dinner drink or relaxing with a night cap.
Picture of Hope Street Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay with my student daughter.
Reception staff good but confusion with bill. Breakfast staff mediocre. Not very welcoming or customer focused until asked. Room very comfortable but not very soundproofed.

Reviewed by
Sharon Cashman

From Ampthill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Style over substance
This is a beautiful hotel with great staff. Not a bad thing to say about the way the hotel looks or the staff who work there. However, there a few niggles with the room itself.
Firstly, there is a shelf at the side of the bath which makes it very difficult to get into the shower & practically impossible to get out when it's wet. I'm 5' 7" and fit & healthy but I had to sit on the shelf & turn round to get out which in itself isn't easy as the shower screen doesn't move. Anybody smaller or less able would probably not be able to bathe at all & in fact both my friend & I only risked the shower on one occasion during our stay which is a shame as the bathroom is lovely to look at.
Then there is the lighting in the bedroom which is incredibly dim. There is no option to have the lights brighter so it is very difficult to do hair & make up. Even if the lights were brighter the only mirror in the bedroom is a full length one half hidden behind a floor lamp. There is a space above the desk/dressing table so why not put a mirror & a bright wall light there?
Finally, a very minor point & I'm nitpicking now. There is no soap dish (or anywhere to put soap) in the bathroom so it means you have to have wet soap on the unit surrounding the sink or leave it in the sink itself. Not ideal & a bit messy.
Other than that the room is very well equipped, flat screen TV, wardrobe with proper hangers, bathrobes & slippers, variety of hot drinks with the option to have fresh milk brought up, iron & ironing board & a domestic hairdryer (very rare in a hotel).
Unfortunately the difficulty in getting in & out of the shower & dim lighting in the room have clouded my judgement somewhat & I would probably try a different hotel in the same price range next time, preferably somewhere that has considered the needs of their female guests.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff beautiful hotel !
Loved this hotel! Excellent choice, staff so friendly and helpful! Food to die for and rooms lovely !

Reviewed by
S oliver

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel itself was lovely,and the staff were all very friendly and happy to help.
However,there were workmen drilling the road outside our room from about 7am,and therefore the stay was not as restful as it could have been and we did not get as much sleep as we had hoped.

Reviewed by
Daniel Ford

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very comfortable and nicely furnished. Staff helpful and polite. Had a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
S Coyne

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food problem
as above only had room service, food looked good but 9 pound plus service fof a chicken sandwich would have been nice to have some chicken in it ,also tasted strange.

Reviewed by
p healy

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

b

Reviewed by
Laura W

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice room
A nice spontaneous treat, I have really enjoyed visiting Hope Street Hotel, I was out in town with Friends and got a really good deal, I have been before to a wedding and stayed over. You can tell its been going a while and a little bit of attention is needed to some of the paint work in the bathroom but other than that, clean with great facilities, nice staff and great cocktails, will be staying again soon x

Reviewed by
L Murphy

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, luxurious room. I'll be bak.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Good location for walking into the city centre. Very nice modern hotel. Nice looking inside and our room was spacious and very comfortable. The bar was fab too .

Reviewed by
C Gannon

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next