No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice and friendly hotel
We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and understanding of the needs of a couple with a three year old. The garden and conservatory are nice places to relax. As a piece of advice when booking: if you find stairs difficult for any reason, be sure to say this, as it's an older building and there are no lifts. Our room was at the top of several flights of stairs.

Reviewed by
C Duckworth

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not somewhere I would recommend.
The hotel did warn there was no lift but the 8 flights of stairs to the room were a surprise. However, I need to lose some weight so no big deal there. However the room was straight out of the 1970s. Shower room was pretty grubby and the room itself not great. How they got 4 stars I will never know but although the location makes this somewhere attractive the actual decor and standard of room wouldnt get 3 stars from me. Shame really.

Reviewed by
Martin Brown

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel, steep stairs!
Great staff, and classically stylish rooms. WiFi rather erratic at least in the topmost room, and the stairs can be a challenge, although the staff will assist with suitcases.

Reviewed by
Carolyn Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice area but disappointed with hotel
First impressions were great - lovely boutique feel to the reception and staff were friendly. Lots of stairs to climb but we didn't mind this too much. We had booked a studio but we had to change to 2 doubles next to each other - we had been told in advance so that was ok. The room I shared with my 7 year old was fine - really comfy and adequate for what we needed and what I expected. However my husbands room whom he shared with my son was not great - the toilet was loose and did not flush properly, no cold water and he didn't feel that the shower was clean. He did mention this in the morning and the staff were sympathetic and apologised. However for a quick trip to London it suited our needs just fine and the area felt safe and quiet when walking back with children in the evening. Not sure if we would stay again - depends on room allocation! Overall friendly staff , comfy beds, breakfast not great but we often find this in hotels anyway.

Reviewed by
N Henderson

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice breakfast, pleasant staff, good value for money, clean.

Reviewed by
C Watson

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small buy cosy
On first entering the room I was very surprised at how small it was, and it did feel a bit claustrophobic. However, once I settled in, it was actually quite cosy and homely.

Reviewed by
Alexandra P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for peace and quiet

Reviewed by
Paul T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel in Bermondsey
I had booked for afternoon tea on a Travelzoo deal and decided separately to stay the night at the hotel. Impression and welcome was excellent on arrival. The general look of the hotel was rather disappointing, terrible carpets slightly tired look. The room was clean and although the air conditioning was broken the portable are conditioner was working well.
Tea was very disappointing. We had booked 3 months earlier and had specifically requested a table in the garden. Th garden was full and we could not eat there. We eat in a conservatory area which was tired looking and opposite a well frequented toilet. One of the glasses of prosecco was off (two different bottles I guess) and when I asked for another this was off as well. The sandwiches had been made a lot earlier, even though we were having tea at 3PM, and were very dry . The filling was not very appetizing. Scones were delicious. Altogether a poor experience and as a result we decided not to have breakfast in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Metcalfe

From Hindhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
I found the room to be very comfortable. Air conditioning was excellent and given it was very humid that was a huge plus for me. It's also very well situated for all the excellent Theatres and Restaurants of London.

Reviewed by
G Boyce

From GLASGOW, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel in a fantastic location.
This hotel represents very good value for money and has much more character and a sense of elegance that is missing from your regular chain hotels. The location is top-notch and my single room was a very comfortable size. If you do get cabin fever than there is also a well kept outdoor area and a conservatory that you can make use of, it's certainly all very homely.
My only problem was that the room was warm and stuffy due to the air-con being broken. This does seem to be a common theme with a few London hotels but I hope that the management can fix this before my next visit.

Reviewed by
L Hodgson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next