No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is blessed with a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. It is a traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character. Each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and for your entertainment, there are iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. When the sun is shining take advantage of the two walled gardens and listen to the trickle of the water fountain. Or during colder days relax in the peaceful heated conservatory. In keeping with the area's literary history, while away the time reading in the small library or enjoy a drink in the sumptuous lounge. Once rested, take advantage of The Academy's location - visit the boutique shops in Covent Garden, theatres of The West End and the nightlife of Soho, just a 10 minute walk away. The nearest tube station is Goodge Street (3 minute walk) on the Northern Line, or Tottenham Court Road (8 minute walk) on the Central Line. London St Pancras for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy is easily accessable from all major London Airports.
Please note that The Academy is a Grade II listed building, and, as such, does not have an elevator. All rooms are only accessible by stairs.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary
Lovely room , very clean indeed.
Air conditioning was not working yet a large fan got us through the night.
The shower head needs to be larger and the spay was not very powerful.
Yet lovely staff , comfortable bed crisp sheets.
A pleasant garden at the back also as so was our room.
Great stay

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here!
I should have read Trip Advisor first!
All our complaints to the Deputy GM and the GM about this hotel were received as though they had never had such a complaint before; yet reading Trip Advisor it is clear they have been receiving the same complaints for years. What a soul-destroying place this must be for one to work in when ones whole day must be taken up dealing with complaints.
We too walked up several flights of stairs to our room at the top of the hotel, on a very hot day to open the door to our room to be met by a 'fug' of sauna-like temperatures. The air-con didn't work so we were moved to the 'back-up' room. This is room 33 and has been specifically complained about before on this website, and should never be accepted. When we were taken to this room the maintenance staff were there getting it ready, cleaning the air-con and changing the light bulb in the shower room (cubicle). The air-con didn't work here either. Apparently because it was an 'uncharacteristically hot day' at 28 degrees and 74% humidity: we live in Singapore where it is typically 34 degrees and 90+% humidity, but the air-con is always super efficient. Why? Because it is maintained properly.
The internet didn't work. I complained that the two things one expects from a hotel is to get a good night's sleep and to catch up with important business communications. I complained that Premier Inn offer a money back guarantee on both, to which I received the response 'well, that is their USP'.
We got a terrible night's sleep only to be rudely disturbed at 0830 by the maintenance staff knocking the door.
The ablutions are a joke - worse than those at EasyHotel at 26 pounds a night!
I then put my back out falling off the loo seat, which wasn't secured to the floor - I'm not a fat guy.
My daughter stayed in a room in another part of the hotel - her experience was exactly the same.
The UK (I'm British) is appalling at hospitality at the best of times, but this takes the biscuit. It's an embarrassment.
The Academy needs to invest some serious money in a refurbishment: until it does Do not stay there.

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From SINGAPORE, Singapore
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Just a lovely experience from start to finish

Reviewed by
C Guy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The Academy flatters to deceive in my opinion. At nearly £200 per room, we were disappointed with the size, cleanliness and facilities on offer. The air conditioning had broken down on the hottest 2 days of the year and the fan was not up to it as a replacement. The room was far smaller than appeared in the photographs and we were left a little underwhelmend by having to walk up 4 flights of starers because there was no lift.

Reviewed by
Neil F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
I booked this hotel less than 24 hrs before arrival and got a great price.
I liked everything about this hotel. It is close to the center, clean, staff was very helpful.
My only objection was that shower hand was non-detachable.

Reviewed by
Z Miric

From Croatia
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Money?!!
A nice view from outside I paid quiet a lot of money for a room with no actual day light !!! I paid well into the hundreds to also not be able to use the mini fridge unless I was willing to pay for that? Room service is not 24 hours as written down either

Reviewed by
Megan S

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent situation
The Academy is a pleasant comfortable hotel in a fairly quiet street within walking distance of the British Museum. It has lovely gardens for a quiet drink or just to have coffee and read the paper. Room are a good size and spotlessly clean. Unless you are quite agile make sure you don't get a basement room and they are quite dark. En suite was fine with excellent fluffy bath sheets. Breakfast was amazing whether having full English of Continental. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
F Garner

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dark and expensive
Room very dark; obscured windows so no exterior view. Bathroom very awkwardly designed - we are slim but still had to squeeze between bath and wall. No spare electric point for mobile charging - had to unplug iPod dock. Breakfast service slow but friendly.

Reviewed by
A Beaumont

From Barton on Sea, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again and recommend Room 7
We found the Academy to be well located and tastefully decorated, our room (7) although not overly big, (have paid more for smaller), was quite suitable and had all the amenities required. Staff were all pleasant and accommodating. One thing I would recommend them to look into is placing some form of ashtray/bucket facility in the walled garden and front entrance, this would alleviate cigarette littering and make it easier for staff to clean up outside. We can't comment on the quality of food as we were out most of the time but for the room prices charged, would have expected at least the Continental Breakfast to be included. All in all, vouching for room 7, we shall have no hesitation in booking for our future trips to London.

Reviewed by
R Viljoen

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room ideal for 4 people
great room for a family and fantastic location for London. very lovely staff. slightly dated but don't let this put you off. £180 for family of 4 is great value and love the character of the place

Reviewed by
jacob p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next