Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
39 Buckingham Palace Road , London, SW1W 0PS
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace.
Serene comfort and traditional hospitality directly opposite Buckingham Palace: the four-star Rubens at the Palace is a firm favourite with both business and leisure travellers, where guests are assured a warm welcome and a variety of specially designed room types including the Royal Wing and rooms for single female guests. The Palace Lounge and Cavalry bar are popular haunts for guests and locals alike, the panoramic views from the lounge sometimes affording a glimpse of passing pageantry from The Royal Mews, the working stables responsible for transporting the Queen and the Royal Family.

Rubens has a fine range of dining options, from our deluxe full English buffet breakfast with all the trimmings that we have become famous for, to The Old Masters Carvery with its succulent menu and daily roasts. Not forgetting the Library Restaurant, serving award-winning English and international cuisine or BBar, our South-African themed bar and restaurant – you are truly spoilt for choice when dining with Rubens.

We are just a few minutes’ walk from London Victoria Train and Tube Stations and the Royal Parks, the Rubens provides superb access to the whole of London. For guests that are driving, 24 hour parking facilities are available at the nearby NCP. The hotel is very proud to be rated as one of the highest four star London hotels by the AA.
Picture of Rubens at the Palace - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
A fantastic experience, we were made to feel very special,went to the ritz much prefered the ruben at the palace. Great experience, friendly staff, great cocktails.couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
Donna M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
Reasonable location. Had a room on the fourth floor near to the lift mechanism that ran all night - rather like sleeping in a tube station. Also had had a blue light illuminating teh lavatory whicj I couldnt find a switch to turn off - very curious. Not an idea meeting area for informal business appointments. Wifi in room didnt connect either.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay!
Our room was beautifully decorated with everything you could wish for, very clean too!
Breakfast was exceptional with lots of choice and great service.
staff extremely friendly and helpful...already booking again to return in September!

Reviewed by
Emily L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend.
Booked an executive room but on arrival we were upgraded to a royal suite! Fabulous - helped to make the weekend extra special.

Reviewed by
K Logan

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very good, couldn't of done enough for us. It was our first wedding anniversary, I let them know prior to the date and they left us a card and chocolates with happy anniversary on. Decor is very old (not dated) within the room, style is aristocratic which is fine but for £230 a night it just didn't live up to expectations. The entrance is very grand and all communal areas are 5*, just the room which unfortunately was a let down. Quite small, mirrors on walls to make the room seem bigger only go so far. Can't fault the bed great nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Daniel Crann

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London break
This Hotel has to one of the best London Hotels I've stayed in the staff made you feel very special.

Reviewed by
M Baron

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights stay at the Rubens
Before booking I looked at the reviews and most seem to emphasise how good the staff were having stayed there I can only say the staff exceeded my expectations. They were friendly, only too willing to help with anything, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is situated in the centre of London and great for seeing all the sites of interest. The hotel was comfortable and well presented. The room was a good size for the centre of London and had every facility including air con which you cannot always get in London hotels. There was no need to eat out there was a good choice of food available. Would not hesitate to stay there again

Reviewed by
A Scholes

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well maintained hotel with courteous staff throughout. Nothing too much for them. Will certainly make a return visit.

Reviewed by
A WALKER

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bedroom was extremely small & since I had booked well in advance i ws disappointed.

Reviewed by
ANN SCALES

From lymm cheshire, England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Very central. Close to Victoria station. Room quite small but comfortable. Afternoon tea looked good but a little pricey. Staff excellent.

Reviewed by
N Croxton

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next