No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Waverley Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Princes Street , Edinburgh, EH2 2BY
The Old Waverley is a landmark building located in the heart of Edinburgh's vibrant city centre. The Hotel is centrally located on the famous Princes Street, overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott monument and with views across to Edinburgh Castle.

Of all the hotels in Edinburgh, the Old Waverley is one of the best located, with the Waverley train station, Edinburgh bus terminal and the sightseeing tours departure point just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Some of Edinburgh's finest shops are situated on Princes Street, such as Jenners. All the major attractions - Theatres, Museums, Art Galleries and Edinburgh Castle - are within easy distance

The hotel offers excellent value for money and the highest standards of customer service. Many of the en-suite bedrooms offer spectacular views of Edinburgh Castle. Both Cranstons Restaurant and the Abbotsford Lounge Bar are light and airy with superb views over Princes Street Gardens and of Edinburgh Castle. Both offer excellent cuisine and service.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise (or charge if using maestro card) the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.

THE OLD WAVERLEY HOTEL IS COMPLETELY NON SMOKING.
Picture of Old Waverley Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 268 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, if a little dated here and there
For £65/night for a double room right on Princes St, this is pretty decent value. The room was compact but fine, and though the club night nearby provided quite audible accompaniment until midnight, I was perfectly happy. The basics are all covered well - a comfy bed, lots of sockets, surprisingly spacious bathroom, all the hotel bits and pieces you need, with a solid breakfast. It doesn't feel like a modern hotel, and the carpets in the common areas could do with a spruce up, but in all the important aspects it's a great little hotel.

Reviewed by
S Gray

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Stay
Everything was adequate, very comfortable bed and friendly staff. Only slight complaint i have is for a hotel of this standing there was no complimentary toothbrush available on request at the front desk.

Reviewed by
Stephen Connolly

From Uphall, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley
Our one night stay followed a recommendation from a family member , we were very disappointed . We paid up grade room to a suite , which consisted of king size and single bed , ( a family room ) unfortunately there are building works on going till after 6pm , followed by disco noise till approx 3 and building starting again at 8am . Very disappointed . We did complain and upgrade money was refunded , but we would not stay again . Most of staff very attentive and pleasant , it's a shame staff could not have been honest about building when asked on the first evening we may have stayed elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Alison L

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
I stayed for one night with my partner and it was lovely. Would absolutely stay here again.

Reviewed by
L Combe

From Bo'ness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old waverley stay
Very pleasant hotel ideally situated for Edinburgh city centre

Reviewed by
Alan Charles

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Waverley Hotel
Christmas break.

Reviewed by
jamie S

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 616
Great hotel, central position, close to station and attractions. Room 616 is on the sixth floor, accessed by the lift, which at busy times can result in a longish wait. Room 616 is a great room, compact with ample facilities. It does have two 'porthole' windows, which at the time, the opening light did not close properly on both of them. Sadly, this resulted in the wind howling causing sleep disturbance, it also meant that despite both being double glazed every noise from the street could be heard quite clearly. The ill fitting window above the bed also caused a draught of air to chill the room and the bed occupant, along with moving the curtain pelmet. The window above the table also let a cold draught into the room. Despite mentioning the problem twice to reception, the response each time was 'I'll mention it to maintenance', up to leaving nothing had been done to rectify the situation, and no recompense was mentioned.

Reviewed by
R H

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhappy stay at The Old Waverley Princes Street Edinburgh.
In short don't stay there. My wife and I the misfortune to stay at this hotel for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Prior to my booking I phoned and requested a room on a lower floor as I was on crutches.
However my request was ignored as we were allocated a room on the 5th floor ( the hotel has 6).
The room was very small even for 2 people, the bathroom for example was so small that when you opened the door to get in there was approx. only 2 feet between the bath and the sink. This was not suitable for someone on crutches. The bedroom window was quite high up and you could not see much out of it, just daylight, in fact it was very much like being in a basement. The room was in badly need for a makeover the carpets were matted in places. We also had the misfortune of ordering food at the bar one evening ie, sandwiches and chips, these arrived 55 minutes later and the chips were cold. Anyway I feel it my duty to pass on our unpleasant stay to all who read this so you can make an informed decision not to stay there ever !!.

Reviewed by
Alex H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but warm
Small room on the back - would have been great if the workmen had not started at 8am and kept on until 8pm to be replaced by music until midnight. Also, no way to regulate the heat - room far too warm and all we could do was open windows to noise.

Reviewed by
Jenny G

From FALKIRK, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We were thoroughly disappointed with every aspect of the hotel. We were greeted by a cold and unfriendly lady, the room was very small and bore no resemblance to the photographs at all and had a view over a building site but only after we prised the frosted glass window open. The buffet breakfast, which they had the gall to charge nearly £10 for, was as disappointing as the rest of the hotel. All of the staff were a miserable and unfriendly lot, they looked less happy to be there than we did. We tried to phone for room service but no one answered the phone and we gave up after four attempts. A sack full of gold would not temp me back to this dour place.

Reviewed by
Stewart Andrew

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next